We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Save Saved
You added Les Borjs de la Kasbah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE NIGHT OFFERS
Ranked #46 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

For SPA in Marrakech, we had the best experience at this spa, ask for Hasnah, she is an amazing masseuse, great spa and very quiet. The ryad is the old Kasbah behind the royal palace so very safe, the architecture is traditional, service supper good.

Room Tip: back court yard by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    60
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
177
35
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

A real gem giving peace and tranquility which is what we were looking for in our holiday. After a couple of days we were moved to a suite which was superb - the attention to detail and the petals left on the bed each day were amazing.The staff were all very efficient but also had time to stop and talk. The pool area and rooms around the courtyard were a pleasant contrast from the hustle and bustle in the medina. Tom and Francoise made us very welcome and again found time to stop and talk - very hands on. The only thing which would have been better would have been to have the evening meal in the larger dining area - I assume this is used more later in the season. Carole & Alex Smith Solihull

Room Tip: The suite we had was both spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom and shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a lovely large room which was clean and comfortable. I was expecting a fireplace but in fact the reversible air conditioning unit was very effective in keeping the room warm enough on the chilly January nights. Breakfasts were very good and we enjoyed the one dinner we had in the hotel, although the restaurant room is long and narrow and a bit cramped.
Location is a good compromise, being in the Medina and so within walking distance of most of the sights but in a reasonably quiet road.
A few little niggles: we had quite a wait - at least 20 minutes - for our welcome drink. Maid service was a bit erratic: on the third day our plate of fruit disappeared from our room along with our spare bar of soap. And we didn't get much guidance about where to go and what to expect in Marrakesh which we understand other riads offer. The staff were very friendly and willing to please, but overall there didn't seem to be anyone actually managing the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyeman, Owner at Les Borjs de la Kasbah, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Whilst glad to hear that this reviewer appreciated the hotel and the room allocated, I feel it necessary to redress the balance as regards her comments on service. This is an aspect of the hotel on which we pride ourselves and the 5 star rating for it from previous visitors speaks for itself. Apart from the reference to the delay in receiving the welcome drink (an unexpected little bonus, for most) and the removal of the fruit bowl on the third day (perhaps because the fruit had been largely consumed already or had not been and was getting past its best), it is unclear where service standards fell below par. Our dining room is indeed small (it has capacity for about 18 covers) but for most of the year we mainly use the adjoining restaurant patio, with space heaters when necessary, which is covered by a sliding roof. I do not understand why it is suggested that guidance about Marrakech, excursions etc can be difficult to obtain ("guidance that one can get at most riads" being a sweeping assertion I would question) because this is an essential part of the job of our Receptionists who are local and knowledgeable and delightful!. I wonder whether this reviewer actually asked the right people for information because, had she done so, I have no doubt at all that she would have received every assistance. As to the 'personal touch' reference in the headline, I would simply refer the reviewer to other comments about this aspect of Les Borjs de la Kasbah. I rest my case!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

It's very difficult to improve on previous accolades, which say it all. Les Borjs de la Kasbah is an exquisite bijou offering a unique experience of peace and tranquillity, in contrast to the hectic world outside its walls! It has been beautifully extended and restored to perfection, with attention to every detail of Moroccan character and charm. From the moment we arrived, we were looked after by a wonderful team, who made every endeavour to ensure our comfort and happiness. Nothing was too much trouble. The Riad itself offers so much at excellent value, from the room facilities to the pool area and hammam (a "must") at the Spa. It is well placed for all the main attractions by foot and a joy to return to after the hustle and bustle! Our huge thanks to Francoise, Mike, Tom and everyone at Les Borjs for having made our recent stay so very special.
Chris and Kit Slade, Cheltenham.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Before booking this delight of a "Borges" the only complaint I had read were that the bedrooms were dark. However, after a day touring this amazing city it becomes obvious that the subdued light of the bedroom also equals a refreshingly cool bedroom. This is only one of the fascinating architectural details known only to locals and of course the owners of Les Borges on how to build in a hot climate. Although not in the heart of town, the walk to the market is manageable when not in the midday sun. Otherwise a short taxi ride is easily organised by very helpful receptionists. This beautiful grand old house, and it really does feel like someone's home, is not to be missed.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for ground floor for those with disability or families with prams as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. helier
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was treated like a king in the hands of angels. With short notice, I was booked in, pampered and l made to feel like I really mattered by every member of staff. Marrakech isn't Marrakech without a hamman, and a hamman isn't a hamman unless it's at Les Borjs de la Kasbah.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

What a superb place and very professionally run. The staff are very attentive and very welcoming.
Much attention is paid to detail from petal arrangements on the bed linens, fruit baskets in the room and Moroccan art decor.
Although, we visited in December and the nights were chilly, the bedrooms were very cozy and both the restaurant and lounge area were at a comfortable temperature.
I looked forward to breakfast : homemade omelets and pancakes made to order, cheese and meat platter, fresh fruit, fresh orange juice and yoghurts.
We did not get the chance to relax in the pool area but the water was beautifully warm and the patio was very inviting with climbing potted plants and well appointed sun loungers.
All in all a very polished Riad, with outstanding staff who are more than happy to advise on day trips, things to do in the area and will make any stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated differently and all very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007) combining all the character of a traditional riad with the modern comforts and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Adjoining two borjs (defensive towers), the hotel stands at the southern edge of the walled city, close to the royal palace, a 15-20 min walk through the kasbah from the Place Jemaa. There are 18 rooms, 3 lounges, a bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. In a separate, secluded part of the complex there is also a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the kasbah), with poolside bar, and a spa with traditional hammam, massage rooms and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Borjs de la Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.