We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome, authentic and very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Les Borjs de la Kasbah to your Saves list
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Year in Marrakech
Ranked #58 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
solihull, gb
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great welcome, authentic and very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

There are already lots of great reviews of this hotel, and we can endorse them all. But before we even arrived, we were very taken with the website which reads like a guide book of Marrakech, constantly updated by the owners who have devoted their careers to specialist tour operation. They realise the importance of a great welcome, and some of the staff who deliver it have been part of the ‘family’ since the outset. The hotel itself is created from 7 riads, re-constructed by local craftsmen with the added luxury of a pool (unique in this part of the medina). From the central courtyard, bordered by the public areas of bar, restaurant, lounge etc, there are passages to the bedrooms around a further 4 courtyards. It feels very exclusive and calm. The decor has been sourced locally, personally by the owner and is extremely tasteful; every room is different, and it’s all spotless. It's really lovely to return to a room that's been freshened up with rose petals, always in a different design, at the end of a hot day exploring. The whole place oozes 'care'. The food has been praised by others already, so I can only echo what’s been said. You must try the hammam and massage too but don’t expect to do anything much with your day afterwards!

Outside the riad, one is transported back in time - the medina is noisy, colourful, vibrant. The kasbah area is the posh end, and the historical palaces are nearby. The central square, Jemaa el Fna is about 10 minutes’ scary walk away, but only scary the first time as you soon realise that the other road users are actually very skilful. We were there around the time of Eid - an important family festival which requires the slaughter of a ram in each home, so for the first few days every second truck and moped (!) was carrying some poor unsuspecting creature. Very biblical. 

It is worth taking a guide round the souks - it is so easy to get sucked into shops and feel pressurisedI to buying spices, wooden objects, carpets, etc etc when you may have no idea of the quality. We just realised this at home, using the  "35 spice mix" for a chicken dish, to find it quite thin. The Ras el Hanout from Waitrose/Tesco, same thing but with fresher spices,  would have been much better. Of course we sniffed a very fragrant sample in the souk, but were sold a ready packed version! This is the only negative comment, however, and has nothing to do with the hotel.

Our thanks go to Tom, Fatima, Nora, Ilham, Mounia, Nawal, Miriam and the others. We have a very happy memory of our stay with you.

Room Tip: Room 303 is the 'honeymoon' suite, overlooking the pool on one side. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    59
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
54
183
44
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in October. The hotel itself is very beautiful, the pool area good-sized, and the staff friendly and helpful (special mention to the receptionists here). The location is also perfect - close enough to the centre of the Medina to walk in the day and for evening dinner, but far enough away to be quiet. There were however for my taste a few negatives. It may have been the time of year but the hotel's public areas such as the bar, dining area and pool area seemed to lack atmosphere. I can't say what would improve this - maybe it was down to us guests to provide some buzz!? Because it was quiet there weren't always staff ready to serve when you needed them. Our room on the ground floor was a little small and the two twin beds had been pushed together to make a double. This would have been okay but they had to be pushed to a side wall and there was no room at the bottom of the bed - so whoever was on the wall-side had to clamber over the other person if they needed the loo in the night. All-in-all however I would have no qualms about staying here again. My one tip though is to try the street restaurants in the main square for food in the evenings - great food, good price, and a great buzz.

Room Tip: Avoid room 102 if you want a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyeman, Owner at Les Borjs de la Kasbah, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Just a few words in response to this generally positive review from an apparently widely travelled and experienced reviewer. I am not keen to address the issue of the reportedly missing 'buzz' at our hotel because appreciation of 'atmosphere' is largely a subjective matter. I would add, however, that 'buzz' at a small, intimate hotel such as Les Borjs is something that most of our visitors are happy to eschew, for reasons I think our website makes clear. Indeed, tranquillity and a certain exclusivity in terms of ambience are the very qualities that most of our visitors seem to appreciate the most. Of more concern to me personally are the comments about the room (102) occupied by this reviewer. Five of our 18 rooms are indeed very small, and are described as such, three of them being designed specifically for single occupancy. The two other 'Small Rooms' have a double bed and 2 single beds (in the case of 102), respectively, but neither is advertised as being entirely suitable for couples - indeed, 102 is usually occupied by two friends sharing or by two children. Yes, the rooms are indeed small (10-12 sq ms) but are priced accordingly. For couples we recommend our Standard Double rooms, or indeed Premium rooms which are, typically, about twice the size. I suspect that this reviewer took 102 because no other more suitable room was available; if so, I would have preferred it had she pointed this out to the TA audience. That said, this reviewer also says 'she would have no qualms' about staying at Les Borjs again, an observation we are very happy to note as it would seem to put her two less positive comments into proper perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We only stayed two days in this 'little oasis' but the service, food and location were perfect.
It was a birthday treat and when we returned to the room, a message Joyeux Anniversaire (Happy Birthday) had been spelt out in rose petals on the bed. The receptionist, Nora, deserves a special mention. She was absolutely charming and nothing was too much bother for her. The restaurant staff (names unfortunately not remembered) were also wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

So many good things have been said about this lovely property. We had two rooms for our family of 4. We were in a tower with just our rooms and the manager's residence. It was quiet, the furnishings of high quality, with a lovely outlook of a courtyard, complete with flowers and fountain. The service is what set this apart from many of the places we have stayed around the world - it was impeccable. Nothing was too much trouble. Tailored meals for our picky young children - no problem. Breakfast in the wee hours of the morning before an early departure - no problem. Laundry done same day - no problem (and no extra charge). Spa services with short notice - no problem. Need a purchased shipped overseas - no problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What an amazing hotel - I literally don't have a single negative thing to say about the hotel!

There is a lot of hustle and bustle in the roads around the riad but once you walk through the door, it's like you've entered a little oasis of calm! The receptionist showed us to a beautiful courtyard and offered us mint tea and pastries whilst our luggage was taken to our room.

Apart from the riad being beautiful, clean, calm etc.etc., the one thing that stood out for me were the staff. Without exception they were so incredibly happy, helpful and kind - nothing was too much trouble. I would go so far as to say that the service we received there was the best I've ever had anywhere.

We ate in the restaurant a few times and the food was really tasty and breakfast was incredibly and I'm only sad that my stomach couldn't manage all the food I actually wanted to eat.

I would highly recommend this riad - you will not be disappointed. We didn't want to come home!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hi, Spent some time here, wish it was longer, as this is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. We were meet with a warm welcome with mint tea ans Moroccan pastry's which we enjoyed in the centre of the riad. The riads centre was set with the traditional water fountain and rose beds, just setting there was so peaceful you don,t here anything of the hussel and bussel that's going on just outside. The rooms are just fantastic. They are set out in the traditional Moroccan style with a bit more luxury thrown in for good measure. The pool area was very clean and was set with sun beds and tables. There was also a great pool side snack bar. The restaurant was set out in a court yard style. The food was lovely with a good range of French & Moroccan dishes. The was alot to chose from at breakfast as well, in fact the best choice we have seen in all the places we have stayed at. We meet the owners during our stay, they were just lovely warm friendly people who were dedicated to ensure your stay with them was memorable. In fact all the staff were great and very helpful. This place is a must, i would encourage everyone just to pop on a plane to Marrakesh and stay here as its a great place to relax and recharge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for four nights recently at Les Borjs and I can safely say it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. There was a problem with our booking (caused by our agent, not the hotel) but they went over and above to sort this, upgrading us to a suite and giving us a free night - none of wehich they had to do. Our room/suite was beautiful, the hotel is peaceful and secluded, tucked in a street away from the madness of the medina. During our stay all of the staff we encountered were very helpful and so friendly, we used the spa, enjoyed the cookery class, ate dinner here one night and lazed by the pool and the same team worked tirelssly to make our stay comfortable and enjpyable. I cannot praise this hotel highly enough and would reccomend to anyone who is planning to visit this amazing city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007) combining all the character of a traditional riad with the modern comforts and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Adjoining two borjs (defensive towers), the hotel stands at the southern edge of the walled city, close to the royal palace, a 15-20 min walk through the kasbah from the Place Jemaa. There are 18 rooms, 3 lounges, a bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. In a separate, secluded part of the complex there is also a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the kasbah), with poolside bar, and a spa with traditional hammam, massage rooms and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, T4B, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Borjs de la Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.