We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location - but lacked atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Les Borjs de la Kasbah to your Saves list
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
3 nights for price of 2
Ranked #58 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location - but lacked atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in October. The hotel itself is very beautiful, the pool area good-sized, and the staff friendly and helpful (special mention to the receptionists here). The location is also perfect - close enough to the centre of the Medina to walk in the day and for evening dinner, but far enough away to be quiet. There were however for my taste a few negatives. It may have been the time of year but the hotel's public areas such as the bar, dining area and pool area seemed to lack atmosphere. I can't say what would improve this - maybe it was down to us guests to provide some buzz!? Because it was quiet there weren't always staff ready to serve when you needed them. Our room on the ground floor was a little small and the two twin beds had been pushed together to make a double. This would have been okay but they had to be pushed to a side wall and there was no room at the bottom of the bed - so whoever was on the wall-side had to clamber over the other person if they needed the loo in the night. All-in-all however I would have no qualms about staying here again. My one tip though is to try the street restaurants in the main square for food in the evenings - great food, good price, and a great buzz.

Room Tip: Avoid room 102 if you want a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyeman, Owner at Les Borjs de la Kasbah, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Just a few words in response to this generally positive review from an apparently widely travelled and experienced reviewer. I am not keen to address the issue of the reportedly missing 'buzz' at our hotel because appreciation of 'atmosphere' is largely a subjective matter. I would add, however, that 'buzz' at a small, intimate hotel such as Les Borjs is something that most of our visitors are happy to eschew, for reasons I think our website makes clear. Indeed, tranquillity and a certain exclusivity in terms of ambience are the very qualities that most of our visitors seem to appreciate the most. Of more concern to me personally are the comments about the room (102) occupied by this reviewer. Five of our 18 rooms are indeed very small, and are described as such, three of them being designed specifically for single occupancy. The two other 'Small Rooms' have a double bed and 2 single beds (in the case of 102), respectively, but neither is advertised as being entirely suitable for couples - indeed, 102 is usually occupied by two friends sharing or by two children. Yes, the rooms are indeed small (10-12 sq ms) but are priced accordingly. For couples we recommend our Standard Double rooms, or indeed Premium rooms which are, typically, about twice the size. I suspect that this reviewer took 102 because no other more suitable room was available; if so, I would have preferred it had she pointed this out to the TA audience. That said, this reviewer also says 'she would have no qualms' about staying at Les Borjs again, an observation we are very happy to note as it would seem to put her two less positive comments into proper perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    60
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
185
45
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We only stayed two days in this 'little oasis' but the service, food and location were perfect.
It was a birthday treat and when we returned to the room, a message Joyeux Anniversaire (Happy Birthday) had been spelt out in rose petals on the bed. The receptionist, Nora, deserves a special mention. She was absolutely charming and nothing was too much bother for her. The restaurant staff (names unfortunately not remembered) were also wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

So many good things have been said about this lovely property. We had two rooms for our family of 4. We were in a tower with just our rooms and the manager's residence. It was quiet, the furnishings of high quality, with a lovely outlook of a courtyard, complete with flowers and fountain. The service is what set this apart from many of the places we have stayed around the world - it was impeccable. Nothing was too much trouble. Tailored meals for our picky young children - no problem. Breakfast in the wee hours of the morning before an early departure - no problem. Laundry done same day - no problem (and no extra charge). Spa services with short notice - no problem. Need a purchased shipped overseas - no problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What an amazing hotel - I literally don't have a single negative thing to say about the hotel!

There is a lot of hustle and bustle in the roads around the riad but once you walk through the door, it's like you've entered a little oasis of calm! The receptionist showed us to a beautiful courtyard and offered us mint tea and pastries whilst our luggage was taken to our room.

Apart from the riad being beautiful, clean, calm etc.etc., the one thing that stood out for me were the staff. Without exception they were so incredibly happy, helpful and kind - nothing was too much trouble. I would go so far as to say that the service we received there was the best I've ever had anywhere.

We ate in the restaurant a few times and the food was really tasty and breakfast was incredibly and I'm only sad that my stomach couldn't manage all the food I actually wanted to eat.

I would highly recommend this riad - you will not be disappointed. We didn't want to come home!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hi, Spent some time here, wish it was longer, as this is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. We were meet with a warm welcome with mint tea ans Moroccan pastry's which we enjoyed in the centre of the riad. The riads centre was set with the traditional water fountain and rose beds, just setting there was so peaceful you don,t here anything of the hussel and bussel that's going on just outside. The rooms are just fantastic. They are set out in the traditional Moroccan style with a bit more luxury thrown in for good measure. The pool area was very clean and was set with sun beds and tables. There was also a great pool side snack bar. The restaurant was set out in a court yard style. The food was lovely with a good range of French & Moroccan dishes. The was alot to chose from at breakfast as well, in fact the best choice we have seen in all the places we have stayed at. We meet the owners during our stay, they were just lovely warm friendly people who were dedicated to ensure your stay with them was memorable. In fact all the staff were great and very helpful. This place is a must, i would encourage everyone just to pop on a plane to Marrakesh and stay here as its a great place to relax and recharge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for four nights recently at Les Borjs and I can safely say it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. There was a problem with our booking (caused by our agent, not the hotel) but they went over and above to sort this, upgrading us to a suite and giving us a free night - none of wehich they had to do. Our room/suite was beautiful, the hotel is peaceful and secluded, tucked in a street away from the madness of the medina. During our stay all of the staff we encountered were very helpful and so friendly, we used the spa, enjoyed the cookery class, ate dinner here one night and lazed by the pool and the same team worked tirelssly to make our stay comfortable and enjpyable. I cannot praise this hotel highly enough and would reccomend to anyone who is planning to visit this amazing city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The photo's match reality: well maintained & attractive. The staff are absolutely delightful: attentive without being intrusive, responsive, charming & helpful. The pool is quite small, but clean & a Godsend in the heat, the bar is good & well staffed. The rooms are clean, well equipped & attractive. The only possible criticism is that due to the architecture with the doors fitted to the outside of the wall mine wasn't very sound proof, but it is traditional and picturesque. Position: a good distance from the centre which means it is quiet. Food: Very good.

I hope mamon enjoys the roses :)

Ruth

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007) combining all the character of a traditional riad with the modern comforts and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Adjoining two borjs (defensive towers), the hotel stands at the southern edge of the walled city, close to the royal palace, a 15-20 min walk through the kasbah from the Place Jemaa. There are 18 rooms, 3 lounges, a bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. In a separate, secluded part of the complex there is also a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the kasbah), with poolside bar, and a spa with traditional hammam, massage rooms and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Borjs de la Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.