We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Les Borjs de la Kasbah to your Saves list
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
3 nights for price of 2
Ranked #58 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We could not fault this Riad, from the moment we arrived we were looked after. Upon our arrival at 20.30 we were given tea and Moroccan cookies, we didn't want to venture the streets at this time to eat, the staff suggested we share a dish as the cookies had filled us, they served us in the comfortable lounge, the food was delicious and then showed us our room.
This hotel has been expertly designed, the rooms had everything you need in a bedroom, good lighting, ample storage space and the bathroom had light coming though the ceiling roof.
We found that after wondering the crazy city of Marrakech this was a perfect retreat, the swimming pool was also very welcoming after a morning of hustle and bustle.
The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and nothing was too much trouble for the staff serving. Every member of staff had a smile and was willing to help at all times, if returning to Marrakech I certainly would return here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    60
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
185
45
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

the very best customer service is always so unobtrusive that it is almost imperceptible. so it is with this most wonderful of Riad's.

The hotel itself is wonderful, relaxing, great rooms, both public and private, really wonderful food and a stunning Haman, but it is the quality and care of the staff that marks this out as a world class hotel.

Everybody works together to deliver really exceptional customer service, everyone always has a smile on their face and after the bustle and noise of Marrakech it truly is an oasis of calm.

i have stayed in many of the Worlds very best hotels, but none of them have better service than this one.

if you going to Marrakech, do not book anywhere else stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful 9 nights in Les Borjs. It makes you feel as if you were visiting friend's house in Marrakech. Location is great and safe. The place is designed and maintained with a lot of care. Comfortable beds in clean rooms add on the interesting, traditional style architecture. Staff are there for you and you experience Moroccan hospitality first hand. Ask for anything you need help with i.e. transfers, excursions prices.....
It allows you to step in and out of the 21st century at will.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a great place to return to after a busy day sightseeing in the craziness that is Marrakech! Our room was clean and an adequate size. There was a table and chairs just outside the door to relax in. The riad and rooms have some lovely architectural details that remind you that you are in Morocco (unlike some nondescript hotel rooms). Like most riads in Morocco, it has lovely courtyards. The pool was a great way to escape the hot Moroccan sun and seemed clean. The breakfasts were satisfying and we also had dinner one night at the hotel and it was quite good. Moreover, the staff were all friendly and professional.

The riad is about a twenty minute walk from Jemaa el fna square and all the attractions and restaurants that we wanted to go to. We never had to use a taxi while there so its location is convenient if you are okay with short walks.

We did have some slight issues with parking our rental car. At first, someone on the street tried to convince us that we could not drive down the street the riad was on (not true) but we continued. The area the riad recommended was full but we found another place close to the hotel. It is a bit of a challenge driving and parking on the narrow streets but worth it to stay within the walled city.

I would definitely recommend staying here while in Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Brabant, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This small, personal hotel offers every possibility for a perfect experience in Marrakech: cooking classes, spa treatments, restaurant and extremely helpful and friendly staff. The Riad is truly an oasis in the medina. With welcoming areas to sit, read and relax, the hotel is a great contrast to the rest of Marrakech. The staff of the hotel were exceptionally kind and helpful. I have no hesitations about recommending Le Borjs de la Kasbah.

Room Tip: We had a room close to the main courtyard which allowed us to access the wifi from our room.The cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at Les Borjs de la Kasbah in April 2013. It is an oasis of peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Beautiful courtyard with fountain, library, IT facilities and lovely comfortable sofa area which is great for relaxing with a good book after a hectic day sight seeing. Room was delightful - large with a seating area , TV and a huge well appointed bathroom. Also had a heater which made the room comfortable on chilly evenings. Buffet breakfast in the atrium was delightful - lots of choice and freshly cooked eggs and pancakes. We ate in the restaurant each evening - traditional Moroccan cuisine or Moroccan with a French twist -all delicious and good value. Had a excellent hamman and a massage in the spa. Staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Les Borjs is an easy 15-20 minute walk from the main square. Definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was our first visit to Marrakesh and hopefully will not be our last. The experience enhanced by the welcome to the lovely Riad set within the walls of the city.
We were collected from the airport by Abdul and whisked back to the Medina in 15 minutes where we were welcomed by Mohammed with a welcome glass of fresh fruit juice. After being shown round the Riad we were taken to our room (303). The room has a dual aspect looking out in to a courtyard on one side and the pool on the other. The bathroom had both a shower and bath and the basin and towels were decorated with rose petals – these were replaced daily. The bed was also covered in petals and each day a different design was left. Despite the fact that the bed was 2 large single mattresses pushed together with a double sheet over, it was still very comfortable and no one disappeared down the gap!
On the first full day we took a walk around the city with a personal guide (Camil) – this was a wonderful way to see some of the sights and understand what we were looking at, as our guide was very knowledgeable about the various historical sites he took us to. One note of caution – he did take us to a shop where it was almost expected we had to buy and to pay in cash – while the spices we bought I have enjoyed using it was not clear if we could have had a better deal elsewhere. This did leave us without any cash as we walked through the medina but I think my partner was secretly pleased I could not buy everything I saw. We did eventually have to go to a cash point and at this point it was useful to have the guide as he pointed out that some cash points are not as safe as others!
Another day we took a drive out to the Atlas mountains – the only problem was that I had not taken any walking shoes and my sandals were woefully inadequate for the trek up the mountain so we had to stay at the bottom – not a bad thing as we sampled the local tea and watched the local life in the village. There were plenty of hawkers trying to sell you anything even though we had no cash. On the way up we had stopped at a Berbers house and were shown around and even offered to have some to the bread that had been freshly made We had also stopped at a local cooperative where the ladies of the village sat and cracked the nuts of the argen tree to make the oil that is used in many different ways. On the way back we stopped at a pottery where there were thousands of pots of all shapes and sizes and colours.
On the last day we took a horse drawn carriage ride around the city – what an experience in the Marrakesh traffic! We went to see the gardens that Yves St Laurent restored – defiantly worth a visit. The driver dropped us at the door and waited for us to return. He then took us on a tour of the city, very nice to see it from a different angle.
Breakfast & Dinner in the hotel is in an open air courtyard with a room to one side (just in case of rain) however we discovered that this courtyard did have a roof that was slid over – just as well as one night the heavens opened and a spectacular thunderstorm hit Marrakesh. The food was lovely and a good selection of local and European dishes were on offer. It was my birthday on one night and after dinner a cake had been arranged and all the kitchen staff came out and sang to me! Another night there was some local entertainment, music and dancing – the belly dancer was mesmerising to all! There was also a girl who was henna tattooing during dinner.

Room Tip: Room 303 overlooked the outdoor heated pool and had the sweetest smelling orange tree out side the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007) combining all the character of a traditional riad with the modern comforts and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Adjoining two borjs (defensive towers), the hotel stands at the southern edge of the walled city, close to the royal palace, a 15-20 min walk through the kasbah from the Place Jemaa. There are 18 rooms, 3 lounges, a bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. In a separate, secluded part of the complex there is also a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the kasbah), with poolside bar, and a spa with traditional hammam, massage rooms and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Borjs de la Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.