We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel in a Beautiful City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Save Saved
You added Les Borjs de la Kasbah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE NIGHT OFFERS
Ranked #47 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
South Coast, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel in a Beautiful City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We are a group of 40-something women who have just returned from a 4 day trip to Marrakech (March 2013)' One had a birthday the day we arrived and another during the stay.

We picked Les Borjs de la Kasbah after reading extensive reviews on Tripadvisor of various Riads available and couldn't fault it. Before arriving there was some email correspondence which was always answered within 24 hours, efficiently and courteously. The hotel arranged for a taxi to collect us from the airport. Not a long trip but the taxi can drop you directly outside the hotel which makes life a lot easier!! It worked out at 15 euros per room, so 7.50e each which seemed comparable to the prices at the airport and a lot more efficient.

The hotel is beautiful as you can see from the photos already posted. We were in room 206 - a double with really nice bathroom, sitting area, tv (never switched on but I believe they have all the cable channels!!) fridge etc. There is an enclosed terrace outside 205 and 206 with sliding windows overlooking the breakfast area and a small table and chairs outside the room. perfect for sitting and having a drink (or a cigarette!!!)The whole roof of the breakfast area slides back 'a la Wimbledon' which is lovely!!

The courtyards are beautifully kept with a library area (book exchange) tv room, comfy area with couches and cushions. This is also the best place to get a strong wi-fi signal. The pool area is perfect. Heated pool that is a decent enough size to swim in, lots of sunbeds and umbrellas. No stress, no grabbing of sunbeds - just peace and quiet :-)

The staff could not do enough to help. Always smiling and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The birthday girls received 'Happy Birthday' cards and their names spelled out in flowers on their beds!!! The rooms were kept immaculately as were all areas of the hotel.

Breakfast was a real treat. Lots of choice; eggs cooked to order, wonderful pastries, moroccan breads, fresh fruit, cereals, cheeses etc. I don't think anyone could fault the choice. We also ate there one evening, and again the food was fabulous and exceptionally good value.

All in all the hotel was a joy to stay at and I would certainly go back there again.

Boring bits but may be useful!!! Rooms have a safe deposit box with a key. Hairdryers are in the bathrooms, quite powerful but no styling nozzles if you need one!! No kettles in room (we took a travel kettle which was perfect for early cups of tea on the terrace - how terribly British!!). Brilliant showers and constant hot water and pressure. Towels and bathrobes provided. Didn't have any problems with mozzies or flies. Easy straightforward walk to the main square (about 15-20 minutes saunter). 2 minutes to the Tombs. Bombarded by every stall-keeper and shop owner you pass. A smile and some patience goes a long way :-). We did get fed up with people trying to show us the way to places (and expecting payment) so had to be quite firm in our 'No's' !! Money changing is easy. We tended to use the exchange at the Government Department store with the big stone lions outside on the way to the square. The rates didnt vary enough for us to need to hunt around. This shop is expensive but hassle-free, so a good place to look at the sort of things you might want to haggle for in the souks!!

A beautiful city that requires a lot of walking but is worth every step. I think 4 days is enough for Marrakech - if I had been staying longer I would have wanted to visit the mountains or the coast. Places we enjoyed: tombs, Jardin Majorelle, Tanneries, Dyers Souk, Spice Souk (jewish quarter), Maison de la Photographie, sunset over the square on a rooftop terrace. Dinner on the roof at Cafe Kasbah. The beautiful architecture and just ambling around getting constantly lost!!

Room Tip: 206 is a really comfortable spacious double :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    55
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
179
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at Les Borjs de la Kasbah with my sister and 2 female friends for 3 nights from 28th June 2012. It really is a lovely place. The rooms are huge, beautifully decorated and wonderfully clean. The pool area is fabulous - a real oasis in the heart of the Kasbah. Lunch by the poolside was great and after the first day the staff set 'our' table for us right by the poolside. The staff are very friendly and were only too happy to help out with ordering taxi's and recommending places to visit. Breakfast was plentiful and the dinning room in a lovely setting. I didn't try the spa but my sister and friends all had a massage and said it was very good. Marrakech is an amazing city - vibrant and lively and full of contrasts. The hotel is not in the best of areas but please don't let this put you off - I'll definitely return to this wonderful place - one of the best places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from yet another relaxing stay at Les Borjs. It's like being home from home for me, after coming here many times since January 2011, so I can vouch for the other reviews in excellence. I am over 65 and travel to different countries every 2 months, mostly combining business with leisure. On one occasion I hadn't booked ahead so swiftly and Les Borjs was full, so I stayed at the newly revamped famous landmark 4* Design Hotel in Gueliz 4* La Renaissance ( #236 of 437 Hotels in Marrakech). Much more expensive, soulless, and certainly not the kind of personal service I had got used too staying in the 4* Les Borj de la Kasbah (#76 of 437 Hotels in Marrakech). I soon learnt to book ahead.

The difference between this family owned boutique hotel in the Kasbah, and a swanky corporate like La Renaissance, is the love and detail that dwells within at Les Borjs. Tom, Jihane ( the lady in the office ) Sofia the attentive maid, and Hassna in the Spa rooms are just examples of care toward me, pampering and devotion to the craft of service. Nothing is too much. Sometimes I would work in Casablanca for 10 days, topping and tailing work with a 4 day Les Borjs relaxation stay either side, which proved invaluable, as did being able to leave small bits of shopping and luggage behind, saving me lugging it all the way to Casa and back. This is high personal service. Incidentally, I don't speak french and on more than one occasion Reception organised train tickets for me or written details down on paper for me to hand into the ticket office. I tried this at La Renaissance Reception and got blank looks. Nothing is too much trouble at Les Borjs.

A recent addition to Les Borjs, is updated cable TV, prior to this visit BBC World on a loop was the only English option, while now you can get all UK terrestrial Channels,( plus European networks ) great if you plan a long visit and want a night in. I'm not really a 'pool person', but the laid back serenity of the open air pool, is exactly what is required somedays, reading a book and for me a plus - an almost child free zone. Only seen one child on all my 10 visits to Les Borjs, larger 'family' hotels inevitably have a more vibrant pool area, which I am inclined to avoid.

I aways book half board upfront, not just for it's outstanding value but simply because I have never had a bad meal in 10 visits. Not one. Stylish, beautifully presented, clean wholesome Moroccan/French/ with an Asian fusion dinner menu. Restaurants in London charge more than double for less. Service is exemplary and the breakfast buffet is a feast of invention, difficult to know where to start, the choice is huge but I always go for the homemade yogurt first, with the good coffee and the sweetest, freshest orange juice to follow, then I start eating as the stomach takes me. You won't fail to be impressed by Naoual & Fatima in the Restaurant & Bar, long term employees and always welcoming, made my stay as a single person, not feel out of place with the couples at table, and never made to feel "alone' in a restaurant. As I said FAULTLESS, and my moroccan home from home. See you again this year Les Borjs!

Room Tip: for wifi in your room, ask in advance for a room overlooking the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in Les Borjs de la Kasbah for a week and loved it. The staff were lovely, particularly on reception, the rooms, and all other areas, were really well decorated and very well kept. Breakfast was good and, when we chose not to go out in the evening, the standard of evening meals was also very good. There was about a 15 minute walk to the main square in the old town but apart from having to stay aware of the numerous mopeds it was fine. Staying there was very relaxed and friendly and when we left we were even waved off at the door by the owner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I can but only agree with all the other reviews given here. This place is wonderful, and without fault, the staff do their utmost to make you feel welcome and happy - from the welcome mint tea (delicious) and moroccan biscuits on arrival, to the amazing breakfasts each morning (yes, the avocado smoothie really is as good as Rosemary described), and the lovely - well priced - Moroccan dinner, which we had one evening.
Not forgetting the lovely salad lunch in the main courtyard we had on our last day.
The rooms are individually designed, with each and all opening out onto beautiful courtyards.
The pool and Spa/Hamman area is tranquil - pool is heated too!
Special mention to Darek, who actually went out of his way to buy us a Supratours coach ticket, as we mentioned one day that we had to go across to the station in the new town to buy it to go to Essaouira after our time in Marrakech - he just said leave it to me, and we only found out afterwards that he actually went to get it personally - and he asked for no commission either - just the face value.
He also organised a great daytrip for the two of us and another solo traveller in the hotel's minibus up to the Ourika Valley to see the waterfalls at Setti Fatma. The driver was a great tour guide, giving lots of tips and stopping at the places we wanted to go to.
You sensed that this level of service is the norm here.
There is nothing not to love here (unless your idea of a good holiday is to stay in your room on t'internet and you find that the hotel wifi doesn't extend to the rooms - which would not be my idea of a holiday, but I guess it is for some people?) As it happens there is a free to use PC in one of the rooms off the main courtyard, for essential net and email use - more than good enough for us.
One tip, don't take any notice of scroungers outside and on the walk up to the tourist areas (and everywhere else in Marrakech too) - they will try to tell you that the road ahead is "closed". its a ploy to ask you for money when they have you all alone, or to direct you subltly to their mate's spice/slipper/etc shop- even the ones who engage you with that old classic: "I am a university lecturer and i was lucky to meet your lovely Queen when i was at a reception held by our crown prince". the whole idea is to get you somewhere a little quiet before requesting in sinister tones for some money to buy milk for "my newly born twins, who's mother cannot lactate". As anyone who's been to Marrakech before will attest, It's virtually impossible not to fall for someone's story at some time. the best insurance is just not to have a 100dirham note as your smallest change - just make sure you have a few 5 dirham coins in your pocket to quickly hand over and scarper quickly - and put it down to experience, and enjoy laughing about it when you tell the tale later (as i am doing now!)
Would I stay here again? Yes, Yes, Yes

Room Tip: Would not expect a bad room here, fro what we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a beautiful tranquil haven situated in the heart of the Marrakesh old town, right next to the Royal Palace. The rooms are spacious and cool, with excellent en suite bathrooms. Wonderful selection at breakfast, heated swimming pool, fabulous service. There's nothing not to love about this place. Go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in late Feb. Hotel and room were immaculate. Staff very helpful kind and friendly. Breakfast was good, a bit disorganised but in a laid back kind of way. Pool and patio areas gave space and peace.... I imagine the pool must come as a welcome cooling off place in the hotter weather.

Marrakech was a bit of culture shock for us. The hotel is in a cobbled street full of workshops and shops for the locals, it is slightly off the beaten track yet still inside the city walls. It took a bit of getting used to, but once you know your way round the kasbah area and up towards Jemma n Fnaa square is great for exploring by foot. But a taxi can stop outside the hotel as well if you feel too tired to walk to one of the sights. So all in all the location is fine.

It is a 5 min walk to the Saadian tombs and the nearby mosque. There is a nice rooftop cafe there..the Kasbah cafe..which we can recommend.. For one evening meal we went to Pepe Nero which was excellent..... and we enjoyed the meal and belly dancing show at Le Salama restaurant (near Jemma n Fnaa..be there by 9pm for a nice 15 min show).

Thanks to all the staff at les Borjs...and for our anniversary surprise... much appreciated.

Room Tip: We stayed in 303... really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007) combining all the character of a traditional riad with the modern comforts and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Adjoining two borjs (defensive towers), the hotel stands at the southern edge of the walled city, close to the royal palace, a 15-20 min walk through the kasbah from the Place Jemaa. There are 18 rooms, 3 lounges, a bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. In a separate, secluded part of the complex there is also a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the kasbah), with poolside bar, and a spa with traditional hammam, massage rooms and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Borjs de la Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.