We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Save Saved
You added Les Borjs de la Kasbah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE NIGHT OFFERS
Ranked #47 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Calne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights in this lovely Riad and I heartily recommend it. Our room was large, clean and had a huge comfy bed and very spaceous bathroom. The pool area is a really nice addition and the staff are so friendly and welcoming. Both my partner and I have travelled pretty extensively and I can honestly say that we were charmed and delighted by both Les Borjs de la Kasbah and by Marrakech itself and would recommend the location and this Riad for a romantic long weekend of winter sun and relaxation.

Room Tip: We had a superior double overlooking the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    60
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
177
36
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I visited Borjs de la Kasbah for 3 nights to celebrate her birthday after making a last minute booking with Expedia. The reviews here on Tripadvisor helped me to choose and I have to say I was in no way disappointed by this excellent and charming small hotel.

We arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the Airport (for a price of 15 euros) and we were taken right to the door of the hotel which is in the Kasbah area of the Medina (the old town). The outside is very unimpressive but once you step through the doors off the noisy street you enter an oasis of charm and calm. We were greeted by friendly staff who invited us to have some mint tea in the courtyard whilst we waited for our room to be prepared. The courtyard is beautiful and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

We were then shown around the hotel and then taken to our room. We had booked a suite and arrived at room 202 which has a private balcony which overlooks the outdoor restaurant area. The room itself was excellent. Sofa, chairs, satellite TV, minibar then up a level to the bed and a great en-suite with bath and shower. There were flower petals on the bed and spread around the bathroom. There was a bowl of fruit and complimentary water. The room was very clean and very comfortable. Very quiet at night and complete with heating which is useful as it can get a little chilly at night in January (even though daytime temperatures were 28C).

The hotel has a lovely heated outdoor pool and a spa (which sadly we did not get around to using so cannot comment).

The hotel also has beautiful outdoor areas in Moroccan style. There is an internet area and you can pick up wifi in most of downstairs area including the restaurant - but not in the rooms.

There is also a bar, which you often will not get in a Riad - so an added bonus.

Breakfast was great, with a choice of fruits, cereals, bread, homemade yoghurt. You could also have eggs, omelettes etc and a selection of Morrocan pancakes cooked to order.

We did eat in the restaurant twice. Even though the food was very good I would say that this was the weakest aspect of the hotel as it was not up to the standard that the website had led us to believe. However, the service was good and the environment was lovely.

From the hotel you can walk to the Jemaa el Fna square within about 10 minutes. This is a very safe walk (as long as you don't get run over by a moped). If you are feeling adventurous you can also get there via the maze of small passageways of the Kasbah by just entering the passage directly opposite the hotel. So the position of the hotel is ideal - you are in a quiet corner of the Medina but within an easy reach of all the action.

The staff were always very helpful throughout. Always available to answer any questions. All spoke good English.

If I ever go back to Marrakech I would definitely go straight back to the Borjs del le Kasbah as I do not believe you could do much better.

Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 202 is one of the few suites - a very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I went to this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate my 50th birthday and was not disappointed. We stayed in a suite which was lovely, spacious and very luxurious. There was a bowl of fruits in the room on arrival. I slept very well even though the hotel is in the Kasbah area as there was no noise at all coming from outside. The hotel is very tastefully designed which made me feel very relaxed after spending a day walking around the Medina. The staff very very nice and very attentive to our needs. I would definitely return to this hotel if I ever go back to Marrakech.

Room Tip: Room 202 is a very nice suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St- Petersburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this charming small hotel and were very happy there. Set back from the street with the pretty garden inside the whole place feels like an oasis. Beautiful orange trees, flowers and small fontain in the middle put you in a different place from the Marrakesh streets outside. After a hard and hot day in Medina you can dip yourself in the swimming pool or relax in hammam with massage and spa. Everything is made here with love -- from style rooms and comfortable bathrooms till soft sofas in the garden where we sat looking through our photos of the day. The food in the retaurant is exellent ; breackfast and a la carte .You can try not only delicious Moroccan food - lamb tadjin is very good - but european as well. Every time,returning to hotel from our excursions we felt as if we were coming home so pleasant was our staying here. I can highly recommend this peaceful hotel de charme for those who understand how important is the right choise of the oasis in Africa.

Room Tip: There are 18 rooms only, we stayed in the room 304- second floor -- very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Fantastic service in a truly lovely hotel - recommended highly. Really nothing to complain about at all. Have stayed in many different places and now know this is without a doubt This is the best place to stay in Marrakech! Can't wait to go back there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a real find. It combines Moroccan authenticity with every modern comfort. We’ve stayed here three times now and would gladly come back. The unassuming entrance belies the elegant courtyards, the feeling of quiet and space, where you can relax under orange trees and escape the hustle and noise of the city. It’s located within the walled city and the transfer from the airport takes only 15 minutes. The staff made us welcome at once and were attentive throughout our stay. We found the dining experience very good, not too expensive and the menu changes each day. You won’t get your full English here, but with home-made breads and yoghurt, and pancakes and eggs cooked to order, you won’t go hungry at breakfast. The rooms are spacious and attractively furnished, and the beds extremely comfortable. We loved the fact that the owners only employed a Marrakech architect and local craftsmen to build this hotel, handcrafting all the lovely decoration using traditional methods. This riad is a jewel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just returned from 5 days in this Riad and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The bedroom was beautifully furnished in typical Moroccan style and very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious with a good choice, as were the evening meals. The staff could not have been more helpful and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007) combining all the character of a traditional riad with the modern comforts and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Adjoining two borjs (defensive towers), the hotel stands at the southern edge of the walled city, close to the royal palace, a 15-20 min walk through the kasbah from the Place Jemaa. There are 18 rooms, 3 lounges, a bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. In a separate, secluded part of the complex there is also a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the kasbah), with poolside bar, and a spa with traditional hammam, massage rooms and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Borjs de la Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.