We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Borjs de la Kasbah - oasis of charm in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Save Saved
You added Les Borjs de la Kasbah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
St- Petersburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Les Borjs de la Kasbah - oasis of charm in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this charming small hotel and were very happy there. Set back from the street with the pretty garden inside the whole place feels like an oasis. Beautiful orange trees, flowers and small fontain in the middle put you in a different place from the Marrakesh streets outside. After a hard and hot day in Medina you can dip yourself in the swimming pool or relax in hammam with massage and spa. Everything is made here with love -- from style rooms and comfortable bathrooms till soft sofas in the garden where we sat looking through our photos of the day. The food in the retaurant is exellent ; breackfast and a la carte .You can try not only delicious Moroccan food - lamb tadjin is very good - but european as well. Every time,returning to hotel from our excursions we felt as if we were coming home so pleasant was our staying here. I can highly recommend this peaceful hotel de charme for those who understand how important is the right choise of the oasis in Africa.

Room Tip: There are 18 rooms only, we stayed in the room 304- second floor -- very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    55
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
179
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Fantastic service in a truly lovely hotel - recommended highly. Really nothing to complain about at all. Have stayed in many different places and now know this is without a doubt This is the best place to stay in Marrakech! Can't wait to go back there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a real find. It combines Moroccan authenticity with every modern comfort. We’ve stayed here three times now and would gladly come back. The unassuming entrance belies the elegant courtyards, the feeling of quiet and space, where you can relax under orange trees and escape the hustle and noise of the city. It’s located within the walled city and the transfer from the airport takes only 15 minutes. The staff made us welcome at once and were attentive throughout our stay. We found the dining experience very good, not too expensive and the menu changes each day. You won’t get your full English here, but with home-made breads and yoghurt, and pancakes and eggs cooked to order, you won’t go hungry at breakfast. The rooms are spacious and attractively furnished, and the beds extremely comfortable. We loved the fact that the owners only employed a Marrakech architect and local craftsmen to build this hotel, handcrafting all the lovely decoration using traditional methods. This riad is a jewel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just returned from 5 days in this Riad and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The bedroom was beautifully furnished in typical Moroccan style and very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious with a good choice, as were the evening meals. The staff could not have been more helpful and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Do not expect some European marble palace deposited out of context in the middle of the Kasbah, instead you will find an imaginative blend of Moroccan architecture and French elegance entirely in sympathy with its surroundings.
The cuisine too provides an excellent choice of both local and European dishes.
This riad was formerly several different dwellings so each bedroom is unique . Ours was beautiful overlooking an inner courtyard typical of Moroccan buildings. It had all the usual extras that people seem to expect these days! I would have been perfectly happy without them but my wife disagrees. Ah well!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Eight of us just spent 3 nights at the Borjs to celebrate a 50th Birthday. The staff could not have been more helpful from booking through to the time of our stay. They put on a party for us for the 50th along with singers, a belly dancer and a fantastic cake. All the staff were courteous, funny and helpful.

We had a premium room which had everything we needed even british TV channels if required. The bathroom was fine with an adequate shower and toiletries along with lovely towels.

We all ate in the large part of the dining room which had 3 patio heaters in. We were never cold in that part of the dining nor the breakfast room. Cant see how previous reviewer sat around breakfast buffet as this was laid in the corner of the smaller dining room. We were not cold in the bar area which had heaters on the wall.

We enjoyed the food although there is not a lot of choice. 2 choices for each course. The tagines were excellent. The food for the party was not as good as the other nights. We felt there was adequate choice for breakfast with fresh juice, fruit, cereals, yoghurts, bread, croissants etc and you could have pancakes as well as cooked eggs. Make sure you ask for the egg choices as they dont ask you. We were asked on the first morning but not again.

The transfer was very quick at 15 minutes from the airport although we were unaware that you are charged 400 (£28 ish) dirhams to back to the airport. Only the pick up is included in the room rate. It is cheaper to get a taxi which is around 80/100 I believe. It was a 15 minute easy walk to the Souks and main square. We would not hesitate to recommend the Borjs. It was nice to be in a small hotel where all the staff knew you rather than in one of the large impersonal hotels located on the outskirts of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Four of us stayed here for a 5-night break. The rooms were very clean and offered good facilities although two of our party thought the beds were too firm...personally I didn't mind the firm bed so this is just a matter of personal preference. All of the reception staff were really excellent ...very friendly and helpful. The waiting staff were friendly and tried very hard but sometimes just didn't quite get it right. We had breakfast in the hotel each day and it was OK, not brilliant but certainly adequate. We also dined in the restaurant on two evenings - on the first occasion the food was very good indeed, on the second occasion a couple of us were less than impressed.

We all agreed on one thing....the dining room need sorting out! There is a massive central "self service buffet area" which is used for breakfast. It works well for breakfast but why is is left there on a permanent basis? It simply gets in the way at dinner as it isn't used at all and simply spoils the ambience as the diners all end up with tables circling the buffet bar like an old wild west wagon train under attack from red indians! It also got quite cold in the dining room and bar area as there doesn't seem to be any proper heating system.The dining room could be so much more inviting with just a little effort and we know from discussions with several other guests that they thoroughly agreed with us. I suspect that for most of the year dining is in the beautiful courtyard but in November it was far too cold for this.

So, in summary, we would return to Les Borjs de la Kasbah but we wouldn't eat there in the evening unless it was warm enough to do so in the courtyard or the dining room was re-designed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyeman, Owner at Les Borjs de la Kasbah, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
One of the major benefits of any review system is the opportunity it provides for a hotelier to identify a problem that might have been missed had it not been reported. Reviews also highlight positives, of course, as this one does in a couple of respects and we are grateful for that. What is frustrating, however, is to be told that some aspect of service is below par without the supporting detail to make clear the specific nature of the problem. Here we are told that: “staff were excellent, friendly and tried hard” and yet: “they sometimes didn’t get it right”. It would have been more helpful to be told what, specifically, the reviewer was referring to. Similarly: “breakfast was OK, not brilliant but certainly adequate”. What, may I ask, does that actually mean? Other comments frustrating to a hotelier are those which, though presented very publicly as incontrovertible fact, are simply incorrect, due perhaps to a misunderstanding or the failure of the reviewers to express themselves clearly. This review complains about unsatisfactory aspects of the dining arrangements, notably, the lack of heating. However, it is plain wrong to state that there is no heating in the dining room or bar areas – there is, of course, in the form of aircon units (two of them) in each room. Had these heating units not been in operation on the night in question (which would have been extraordinary because they are regularly maintained and operate automatically) then the situation would have been resolved instantly simply by bringing it to the attention of staff (although in all probability they would have been aware of any such problem even before the start of service). I can state categorically that the heating in both bar and dining room works perfectly. For nine months or more of the year meals are taken by diners in the restaurant patio (with the sliding roof open or closed and with patio heaters provided as necessary). From mid November to mid February, however, most people take their meals in the small dining room which has a capacity of some twenty covers. It is here that a buffet breakfast is laid out at this time of year; for the rest of the year it is served in the much larger restaurant patio. There were a few days in November when, exceptionally, the buffet was set up in the patio, as an experiment, as we like to move it around from time to time, and left in place for a few days. This view appears to be confirmed by the January 30th review which says: “We all ate in the large part of the dining room (the open patio) which had 3 patio heaters. We were never cold (there) nor in the breakfast room. Can’t see how previous reviewer ‘sat around breakfast buffet’ as this was out laid in the corner of the smaller dining room. We were not cold in the bar area which had heaters on the wall.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007) combining all the character of a traditional riad with the modern comforts and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Adjoining two borjs (defensive towers), the hotel stands at the southern edge of the walled city, close to the royal palace, a 15-20 min walk through the kasbah from the Place Jemaa. There are 18 rooms, 3 lounges, a bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. In a separate, secluded part of the complex there is also a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the kasbah), with poolside bar, and a spa with traditional hammam, massage rooms and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Borjs de la Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.