We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Les Borjs de la Kasbah to your Saves list
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
3 nights for price of 2
Ranked #58 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

In a beautiful city this really is an amazing hotel. It is located within the walled city and is within walking distance of the souks, and the main sights. The staff is exceptionally helpful and the excursions organised by the hotel are well worth it as the guides are knowledgeable and friendly. There are no great restaurants nearby, but this is not a problem as the dinners in the hotel restaurant are great - there is a nice selection of Moroccan dishes and wines, and the set menu changes every day. Also, do not miss the hammam - a truly rejuvenating experience. All in all, a fantastic riad, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    60
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
186
45
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very comfortable place to stay, feels like a new hotel, but has all the style of a traditional riad. Hotel itself is very beautifully designed. Everything in the guest room is new and well maintained. Staff puts flower petals on your bed and sink every day :) most staff spoke English well, and were very helpful! They called a shuttle for me back to the airport, among many other things. You can eat meals here if you dont feel comfortable out in the medina.

downpoints: no wifi in room, had to go to lounge/patio/internet room to get it, which was inconvenient late at night when planning what to do the next day. maybe the wifi signal doesnt travel well through the thick riad walls?

Also the riad is located in the far south of the medina, so it was a bit of a trek up the Rue de la Kasbah to get to the main square Jemaa Al-Fna, and the narrow Rue de la Kasbah tends to be clogged with mopeds/scooters spewing foul exhaust that you constantly have to watch out for. I suppose it is typical of the crowded medina area though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Borjs is a wonderful gem, retaining all the traditional features that you would expect from a classic Moroccan Riad, while containing all the comforts that western life expects, including great bathrooms, wonderful beds and airconditioning.
Situated centrally in the Kasbah, close to the Royal Palace and within easy walking distance of all the main sites, it also offers wonderful tranquility from the buzzle outside. In fact - you would not know that there is an outside world once inside.
What really completes the Borjs is the people there. The staff will be some of the gentlest and most helpful people that you will ever met, always greating you with a smile, while taking great pride in who they are and happy to assist in all ways with kindness and humour.

The Borjs and its people will without a doubt be one of your most endearing memories of Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great place lovely room we had a suite on the first floor which was beautiful, lovely huge 4 poster bed seperate bathroom with a shower and bath. Pool area was lovely, we didnt go in the pool as it was in the shade so not warm enough, due to the time of year but the sun beds were in the sun for a couple of hours. Food was lovely we are there 1 night and breakfast was good. The only complaint which is why I gice an overall 3 was the hotel allowed a film crew to stay and they should have closed the hotel to other guests because they took over everywhere, even the restaurant, not allowing the other guests of the hotel to eat in the main area we were all sat in the side areas so could not see the traditional musicians and they even told them to turn down their singing and instruments so they could talk!! There was a seperate conference room they could have made them use if thats what they wanted to do! They were constantly talking loudly, mobiles ringing all the time and generally noisy, which is not what we went to the Riad for, in fact the riad actually stated in its brochure that this sort of behaviour was not acceptable. It is a place to get away from work and mobiles so we were very disapointed. We would not have expected the hotel to turn away this big business but they should have insisted they hire the whole riad. One morning they were shouting and mobiles ringing at 5.30am !!! Just ignorant and a complete lack of care for other people. A great shame as the day before they arrived it was a perfect oasis of tranquility.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyeman, Owner at Les Borjs de la Kasbah, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Whilst greatly appreciating this reviewer’s generous comments about Les Borjs, we can well understand his or her disappointment, indeed irritation, on finding that the hotel’s atmosphere of peace and relaxation was disrupted on a couple of occasions by a group of young film makers. However, contrary to the reviewer’s assumption, we at the hotel also shared the annoyance expressed having been completely unaware that the booking in question involved a group. Several individual bookings were made for this party (of 12) but we were not informed in advance that they were connected. For the record, our policy where groups are concerned is that where they exceed half of the hotel’s capacity of 32 they will be advised that they must take over the entire hotel, this precisely to avoid the type of disruption complained of. However, even for groups of 10 or 12, we would usually expect them to dine in the function room, separate from the restaurant. In the light of this problem (a first at Les Borjs) we have reviewed our Duty Management rota and instructions to staff in a desire to ensure that incidents of this type do not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Chef Hosain assisted by Maryam shared their spotlessly clean hotel kitchen with us for a morning. The class was partly hands-on, partly demo, with recipes & detailed instruction (in English) being provided. We made Chicken Pastilla, 7-Vegetable Couscous & Cornes de Gazelle (dainty almond pastries) & were shown the finer points of making mint tea. A lot of the weighing & preparing of ingredients had been done in advance for us AND we didn't have to wash up - just eat the delicious meal we'd cooked!
We booked on the internet before we left the UK & at the same time chose which of the 3 menus on offer we'd like to cook.The cost was 400Drh each (half payable in advance) the rest after we'd eaten the meal which was beautifully served to us at a table beside the swimming pool.
We weren't staying at the hotel but it looked very attractive with several lovely courtyards. All the staff we met were exceptionally friendly & smiling, & spoke good English.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It's in good area which has many features you'd get in a hotel but with the charm of a riad.

Sadly, my room was very small - however, it was adequate for my needs. The bathroom was made more than just functional thanks to a sink unit made from a beautiful piece of marble. Water pressure and temperature were perfect - unusual for riads, in my experience. The courtyard was pretty and the swimming pool and bar made it have a boutique hotel feel - most riads will not have these facilities. My room also had a mini bar and breakfast cold be brought to the room.

The place had really friendly staff, all of whom spoke good levels of English. They were a good example of how decent staff can make a good place great.

Breakfast was fine, not amazing but good for the price. I ate once at the restaurant - decent, if limited, menu options. However, the food was delicious - have the chocolate dessert - it is staggeringly good and you are on holiday..

I can see why many people, especially those new to Marrakech would love the place. An orange tree grows by the pool - those in the room on the first floor could probably reach out and pick them off the tree. The courtyard is airy and surrounded by lounges, ideal for chilling out.

My room was able to pick up the wifi in the communal area - to me, wifi is as important in hotels as water and electricity, so hopefully this will be hotel-wide soon.

The location is fine - about 15 mins to the centre, but there is a kiosk just outside selling water and snacks if you need some essentials. One slight disappointment was to be told that there was a car park when i was emailing the hotel before my trip, only to find that this meant the street. It's a tiny narrow street and leaving it there is a risk due to the commotion you get in every Marrakech street. I was told by one of the locals that he would deliberately damage my car because I was parking it outside the hotel, rather than at the end of the street where there was one of the hundreds of parking attendants you see in the town. I don't know if the car was damaged because it had so many dints and scratches anyway (the guy from Avis said to me 'everywhere' when we looked round the car for scratches and dints when I picked it up).

There is a noticeboard in the hotel which shows it under construction five years ago. To see the pile of rubble and a donkey where there is now a swimming pool and sun loungers shows what an achievement this place is. People who have had the vision to make places like this have transformed Marrakech and restored many riads to their former glory.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyeman, Owner at Les Borjs de la Kasbah, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We appreciate the comments of this reviewer who effectively sums up what we are trying to achieve by saying that ‘Les Borjs’ has: “many features you get in a hotel but with the charm of a riad”. That said, of course, ‘Les Borjs’ is indeed a hotel proper (4 star) with many more services than the typical riad, most of which, after all, are just guest houses, however elegant. This reviewer occupied one of our Single rooms, the dimensions of which are clearly indicated on our website. The rooms are indeed small but are priced accordingly. As to street parking, we are sorry and disappointed that this reviewer got the impression that ‘Les Borjs’ has private parking because, as with most similar places in the medina, it doesn’t. (The street, by the way, is by no means “tiny and narrow” as it’s one of the few in the Kasbah that is large enough for taxis and carriages - one reason we acquired the property). I suspect that there was a (language) misunderstanding here with our reservations manager. I cannot comment on what the reviewer claims to have been told by one of the locals about parking but would recommend that anyone with a car should, for security reasons, use one of the official car parks, the nearest of which is just outside the Kasbah, some 500 yards away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

13th October to 17th October 2012
The first of three hotels we stayed at during our holiday in Morocco, Les Borjs de Kasbah is located just inside of the city wall in the south of Marrakech. This unimposing Hotel is like a pomegranate sold on one of the local fruit stalls, nothing special to look at from the outside but open it up and take a peep inside and it’s full of little jewels. The staff were helpful, welcoming and considerate but without being intrusive and our generously sized bedroom had plenty of storage space, free safe, was very clean and tidy and a couple of richly coloured local carpets added to the welcoming warmth of the room which was topped off with bath robes and the largest fluffy bath towels.
Fresh pancakes and eggs cooked to order, any which way, made a for a classic start to the day setting us up for a stroll along Rue de La Kasbah to the sights and sounds of Jemaa el fna. After more than a spot of shopping in the souks, snake charmers and the maelstrom of the streets it’s worth getting back to Les Borjs de Kasbah early to spend a couple of hours around the pools relaxing in the sanctuary of the riad.
Marrakech is brimming with places to eat so we only had one evening meal at the hotel and although this didn’t quite match the timbre of the rest of our stay I’ve no hesitation in recommending Les Borjs de Kasbah as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007) combining all the character of a traditional riad with the modern comforts and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Adjoining two borjs (defensive towers), the hotel stands at the southern edge of the walled city, close to the royal palace, a 15-20 min walk through the kasbah from the Place Jemaa. There are 18 rooms, 3 lounges, a bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. In a separate, secluded part of the complex there is also a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the kasbah), with poolside bar, and a spa with traditional hammam, massage rooms and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Borjs de la Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.