We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissatisfied” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ifoulki

Save Saved
You added Riad Ifoulki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Ifoulki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11,Derb Mqqadem route Arset loghzail, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
buenos aires
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dissatisfied”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Good service but the rooms are very basic I didn't have a heater, bed is terrible and the entrance to the hotel is quite scary .
The owner and the staff are very nice and helpful , but that's about it...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    13
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
42
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Peter, Simon and the staff were excellent hosts and made our holiday. Marrakech itself however, is a place where 2 or 3 days would have been sufficient from our own personal point of view, to experience the souks, the Medina and the culture. The local authority really needs to curtail the madness of the lunatics racing through the narrow market lanes making browsing and shopping a nightmare, you were either in danger of being run over or gassed by the petrol fumes, I believe this problem is actually under review. Our reason for giving an average rating for sleep quality is due to the fact that we were awoken every morning at 5.30 by the Muezzin calling people to prayer, a tad early for us retired folk. Overall a very educating experience though.

Room Tip: From what we could see all the rooms were fairly well situated but I'm sure Peter or his son Sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Peter's riad is peaceful, beautiful, and welcoming! I really enjoyed your stay and could have stayed for a good few more days and nights. After spending time in the busy Marrakech it was the perfect haven to return to. Food and service were excellent and the team goes out of their way to make guests feel pampered and welcome. Thank you Peter and team!
Ninon

Room Tip: King's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

we were 6 travelling Marocco and was fetched from station in Marakesh and delivered to this door in the old city and what a treat when walked into this tranquil oasis , me and Ninon stayed in the old harem with our own lounge and balcony - what a treat, wonderful service, a gracious host and wonderful food, i can not wait to take my husband for a amazing experience. Manja
Durbanville South Africa

Room Tip: the old harem i think they call it the serial room? the room in small courtyard closest to the kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

located in the heart of the oldtown in the middle of handicraft men you will find this oasis of 1001 night! 10 minutes walk to the main place Jemaa el Fna (absolute secure walk, even at night).
Quiet and wonderful roof terrasse. Wonderful "old" and authentic Riad (hotel)!
The staff is extremely helpful..
Nice food and great view at the breaktfast on the roof.
No fit for families with kids (too quiet/calm).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Directly located in the heart of the souks in the middle of handicraft men you will find this oasis with a lot of flowers, trees and birds on the roof terrasse and in the parlour. Each corner has an aura of 1001 night and the senses can rest while having breakfast with a panoramic view or using the hamam.
Even the room makes you feel you live in another time.
The staff is extremely helpful so is the owner.
You can reach the UNESCO heritages all by feet like the Coran School or the Jemaa el Fna.
If you are staying more than one night, do not miss the "Narwama" in Koutubia Street (within walking distance).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

I recently returned from a one-week stay at this riad. It is a pretty, well maintained and peaceful guesthouse. The food there was also delicious, compliments to the chef! The staff are generally very helpful and friendly. However, we had a strange experience. One day we returned to find a kitchen knife in our room. After asking the manager how it got there, we were told the maid had taken it from another room and left it in our room. We were more inclined to think that someone had tried to pick the lock of our safe, given the fact that it was lying beside the safe and the rooms are always left open (no keys). Remember also you are in the middle of the slum of Marrakesh, where people are desperately poor. Anyway, though we were concerned, we decided not to let it ruin our holiday. The next day we returned to our room to find orange peel in our bed (and the pips were spat out on our nightstand). We were pretty freaked out by this and on the verge of leaving. We stayed the last night though, after insisting on getting the key to our room so we could lock it - even when we were in it!! On the day of our departure, I noticed my (expensive) eye make-up had been used. Obviously the maid was helping herself to my things. Maybe even trying on my clothes...?! We talked to some other guests at the airport and they told us they had returned early to their room one morning to find the maid relaxing on the bed, eating and on the phone. Very professional! So that explains the knife story, she was probably peeling her fruit. If we had know that it was the maid when it happened, we wouldn't have felt so threatened. But we just didn't know. What gets me is people complain that the wages are so low in Morocco, but judging by the quality of work performed, adequate enough! Needless to say, we won't be returning to this riad, nor to Marrakesh as it is, like I said, a slum.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Ifoulki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ifoulki

Address: 11,Derb Mqqadem route Arset loghzail, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#72 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#168 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Ifoulki 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Riad Ifoulki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ifoulki Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ifoulki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.