We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissatisfied” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ifoulki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ifoulki to your Saves list
Riad Ifoulki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11,Derb Mqqadem route Arset loghzail, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
buenos aires
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Dissatisfied”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Good service but the rooms are very basic I didn't have a heater, bed is terrible and the entrance to the hotel is quite scary .
The owner and the staff are very nice and helpful , but that's about it...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    13
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
43
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Peter, Simon and the staff were excellent hosts and made our holiday. Marrakech itself however, is a place where 2 or 3 days would have been sufficient from our own personal point of view, to experience the souks, the Medina and the culture. The local authority really needs to curtail the madness of the lunatics racing through the narrow market lanes making browsing and shopping a nightmare, you were either in danger of being run over or gassed by the petrol fumes, I believe this problem is actually under review. Our reason for giving an average rating for sleep quality is due to the fact that we were awoken every morning at 5.30 by the Muezzin calling people to prayer, a tad early for us retired folk. Overall a very educating experience though.

Room Tip: From what we could see all the rooms were fairly well situated but I'm sure Peter or his son Sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Peter's riad is peaceful, beautiful, and welcoming! I really enjoyed your stay and could have stayed for a good few more days and nights. After spending time in the busy Marrakech it was the perfect haven to return to. Food and service were excellent and the team goes out of their way to make guests feel pampered and welcome. Thank you Peter and team!
Ninon

Room Tip: King's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

we were 6 travelling Marocco and was fetched from station in Marakesh and delivered to this door in the old city and what a treat when walked into this tranquil oasis , me and Ninon stayed in the old harem with our own lounge and balcony - what a treat, wonderful service, a gracious host and wonderful food, i can not wait to take my husband for a amazing experience. Manja
Durbanville South Africa

Room Tip: the old harem i think they call it the serial room? the room in small courtyard closest to the kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

located in the heart of the oldtown in the middle of handicraft men you will find this oasis of 1001 night! 10 minutes walk to the main place Jemaa el Fna (absolute secure walk, even at night).
Quiet and wonderful roof terrasse. Wonderful "old" and authentic Riad (hotel)!
The staff is extremely helpful..
Nice food and great view at the breaktfast on the roof.
No fit for families with kids (too quiet/calm).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

I recently returned from a one-week stay at this riad. It is a pretty, well maintained and peaceful guesthouse. The food there was also delicious, compliments to the chef! The staff are generally very helpful and friendly. However, we had a strange experience. One day we returned to find a kitchen knife in our room. After asking the manager how it got there, we were told the maid had taken it from another room and left it in our room. We were more inclined to think that someone had tried to pick the lock of our safe, given the fact that it was lying beside the safe and the rooms are always left open (no keys). Remember also you are in the middle of the slum of Marrakesh, where people are desperately poor. Anyway, though we were concerned, we decided not to let it ruin our holiday. The next day we returned to our room to find orange peel in our bed (and the pips were spat out on our nightstand). We were pretty freaked out by this and on the verge of leaving. We stayed the last night though, after insisting on getting the key to our room so we could lock it - even when we were in it!! On the day of our departure, I noticed my (expensive) eye make-up had been used. Obviously the maid was helping herself to my things. Maybe even trying on my clothes...?! We talked to some other guests at the airport and they told us they had returned early to their room one morning to find the maid relaxing on the bed, eating and on the phone. Very professional! So that explains the knife story, she was probably peeling her fruit. If we had know that it was the maid when it happened, we wouldn't have felt so threatened. But we just didn't know. What gets me is people complain that the wages are so low in Morocco, but judging by the quality of work performed, adequate enough! Needless to say, we won't be returning to this riad, nor to Marrakesh as it is, like I said, a slum.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We had previously arranged with the hotel to be picked up at the airport ( 15 euros) and my wife and I were met by an English speaking driver who welcomed us. It was dark on arrival and we drove through the maze of streets before stopping after about 20 minutes down a long alley which led to the entrance to the Riad. The alley was old and gave no indication of the jewel that lay behind the doors at the end of it.

We entered into a cool exotic courtyard luxuriant with large plants and trees, coloured lanterns swung from some giving the interior a mysterious air. The manager that night, Mustapha, greeted us warmly and we were invited to sit in an alcove and given mint tea when the general manager, Mahi, came over to greet us. We already felt at home but he too welcomed us and emphasised that that the Riad was our home during our stay and nothing was too much trouble for us.

He showed us around and talked about the history of the Riad which had formerly been a stately home and was rich in history. Our room was huge with a four poster bed decorated with stars and antiques throughout. The bathroom could have housed 5 or 6 wives but one is quite enough for any man I think. It had an efficient heater as it was cool in the evening and soon warmed up. Although we hadn't booked dinner, even though it was late, dinner was arranged for us and we joined other guests in the comfortable and informal dining room where we met the owner Peter who is Danish.

Peter's approach to life reflects how the Riad is run. He is a gracious host , knowledgeable and charming who has the ability to switch languages at will so that the international atmosphere of the dining room becomes a meeting place of friends and not strangers. We enjoyed the excellent food accompanied by a decent bottle of wine whilst Peter gave as an overview of a city that he clearly loves.

Rising late the next day we took breakfast on the terrace enjoying the views., a flawless blue sky and a sun that was shedding warmth into the day. A view of the Koutoubia Mosque with the sun gleaming on its golden balls sets the scene for the day. Breakfast was simple but ample and the waiters were friendly. We planned the day. My wife later also had Hamman massage in the Riad and said that her skin had never felt so good after it.

Marrakech is not for everyone although those with a spirit of adventure will find much to delight them, as we did. Be prepared to get lost in the maze of Souks but we felt safe even out late and there are plenty of people around to help you if you get lost. It is a city to return and to discover more. If browsing interests you then the endless artifacts will hold your attention and there is much history to focus on. Art is everywhere and some is inspirational. Entertainment ? Just go to the main square in the evening and stroll around sampling traditional music, food and the snake charmers.

Then return to the Riad Ifoulki. It's thick walls create an oasis of calm and each room has its own charm. We felt completely at home within. Before dinner I would sit and play the guitar for my own amusement but before long others would join me . Staff would share their own music with me or ask me to play something. That is like being in your own home. We joined up with some German guests and shared outings enjoying their good humoured company. It is that kind of place.

We also ate out to compare the dinner and we were hugely disappointed with our choice, the Hotel Marrakchi, situated in the square. Good views, low lighting but our food was simply awful and the service indifferent.

If you want a hotel with hard edges, a reception that has little real time for you, formularic rooms, boring architecture and indifferent food then I am sure that the Riad Ifoulki is not for you.

But if you want a sense of delight , a chance to appreciate what life might have been like 300 years ago yet still enjoy modern conveniences, the ability to be in the middle of the old town within minutes, authentic food beautifully cooked, friendly and caring staff and to start your own adventure in Marrakech this is the place to do it - just relax, keep your mind open and be prepared to learn.

The key is will we return ? The answer is Yes.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ifoulki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ifoulki

Address: 11,Derb Mqqadem route Arset loghzail, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#171 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Ifoulki 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Ifoulki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ifoulki Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ifoulki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.