We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional townhouse, lovely courtyard and roof terrace, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa El Arsa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa El Arsa to your Saves list
Villa El Arsa
18 Derb El Arsa | Kennaria, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traditional townhouse, lovely courtyard and roof terrace, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Close to the main square, about 7 minutes walk down small streets and lanes. Guesthouse is on 3 levels - (1) courtyard, kitchen and sitting areas and pool, (2) 4 double rooms, (3) roof terrace. Courtyard is peaceful, nice plants and a small plunge pool which we enjoyed although it felt a bit strange to be in bikinis so close to kitchen and sitting areas. Rooms are simply but nicely furnished in a tranditional style, bathroom/shower good. Roof has both covered and open areas, plenty of space to sit around. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Good simple breakfast and option to take water, beer, soda from the fridge and settle up on departure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
72
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

To be escorted to your riyad and told that we could ring if we ever got lost was a really reassuring start to the most brilliant stay. Five minutes walk to the mad square, but total tranquility and peace on returning in the evening. We had dinner one night, absolutely delicious, and breakfast on the roof terrace, which although described as 'continental' was more than that. The staff could not have been kinder and the riyad itself is all that one could want, roof terrace with loungers, books, masses of hot water, cotton sheets, and a really friendly atmosphere. They organised a mini trek into the Atlas for us, which was a highlight. We have stayed in a few riyads, and can say this was the best. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Don't try and find this place without help as it's so tucked away - but only minutes from the hussle and bussle of the main square so an amazing location that you can just pop back to for an afternoon nap! My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights here and it was by far the best riad we stayed in for the whole trip. We arrived quite early in the morning and our room was still being cleaned so we were treated to mint tea on the terrace, the perfect welcome to Marrakech. The room was spacious, spotless and comfortable and the heater in the room came in handy in the evenings as it was quite cold (we were there in February). The staff (Brahim and Houssine) were so helpful and cooked us wonderful varied breakfasts. The common relaxing areas were beautiful and well stocked with books and games and a much-welcomed fire was lit in the evenings. There was also a lovely area to relax on the roof terrace in the evenings with an outdoor fire. A true gem.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed 6 nights in Marrakech and had a wonderful time. We had initially booked Dar Tah Tah, but because the toilet was broken in our room we got transferred to Riad Villa El Arsa, without any problems or extra cost. We also stayed one night in Dar Tah Tah, after coming back from the west coast at the end of our trip. Both places are beautiful. We felt home instantly. We were welcomed with a mint tea and baklava by Brahim. All the staff is very nice and helpful. Both places are located centrally in the souks. Breakfast was served on the terrace and included a variety of bread, croissants, pan au chocolat, pancakes, jams and fresh orange juice. Because both riads only have 4-5 rooms, socialising with the other guests is easy. Brahim gave us loads of tips for sightseeing and eating. We also booked a one day trip to the Atlas mountains through Brahim. It was a highlight of our holiday and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

If I was to write an article on 'The Hidden Gems of Marrakech' this would certainly be near the top of my list. Within spitting distance of the hustle and bustle of one of the most historical and eye catching cities in that part of the world and hidden behind thick walls is Riad Villa El Arsa. This stylish and peaceful riad has been beautifully and stylishly decorated and traditionally furnished. We opted to dine in the riad for one of our six nights there and Simo and Fatima, who are always on hand fo offer help, guidance and delicious breakfasts, presented us with a wonderful meal on a lamplit, rose strewn table. Both these members of staff are unobtrusive but always seemed to be available to advise us - Marrakech can be a confusing place on your fist visit! I can't recommend El Arsa highly enough and have already booked our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We booked this riad on the basis on the many positive feedback from other visitors and we were not disappointed! We were advised to book Room One, which was ensuite and had a fireplace within the room with a gorgeous colourful painted ceiling, The riad was cool and very well hidden amongst the maze of small alleys which covered the heart of old Marrakech but we felt safe and well looked after throughout our stay. Breakfast is usually served downstairs in the enclosed courtyard (which had a lovely plunge pool) but on certain days we had the whole of the roof terrace to ourselves for breakfast! The staff were helpful and very friendly - we were rather unwell on our last day there but we were allowed to stay on in our room until it was time for us to leave to catch our flight that afternoon, which was greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London at the moment
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

This is one of those times where you don't want to let everyone in on what you enjoyed so you can keep it secret and have it all to yourself, but in the spirit of good business, I have to tell one and all about this place.

I have just come back from a 5 day break in Marrakech and the Riad was the main highlight of my trip.

Right from the time I got there, to the time that I left, it was almost as if you were staying with family

My transfers were organised by the Riad, and so was breakfast, and dinner on a couple of occasions. The staff were friendly, beautiful people, who made sure we were looked after at all times.

The owner was very accommodating, even offering to help out with money issues, when my ATM cards wouldn't work.

Staying here during Ramadan also meant that we were able to observe some of the cultural practices.

Our room was lovely, with air conditioning, and a lovely bathroom with great water pressure.

The Riad was close to town, though I did get lost, but not to worry, as one phone call and I was found by the staff.

If I HAD to complain about something, it would be that the stairs aren't all the same size, or that I had trouble unlocking the door, but seriously........

Definite value for money, even after settling the bill and leaving a tip.

So now I have let my big mouth go, and the cat has been let out of the bag. Makes Marrakech one of my favourite places to stay now.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa El Arsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa El Arsa

Address: 18 Derb El Arsa | Kennaria, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Medina of Marrakech, with easy access, 5 minutes’ walk to Jemaa el Fna and other mythical places of Marrakech.Villa El Arsa is an oasis in the midst of excitement and wares of magical red town.Fabrice et Noel welcome you in this bed and breakfast with four rooms,accommodating up to 10 people (2 double bedrooms, one with fireplace and 2 triple rooms, bathrooms tadelakt).We will accompany you in your first visit to the Medina and we can present you the main palaces or places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa El Arsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa El Arsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.