We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Villa El Arsa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Villa El Arsa to your Saves list
Riad Villa El Arsa
18 Derb El Arsa | Kennaria, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, England
2 reviews
“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

The Riad villa el arsa is absolutely amazing! It is hard to believe that behind the wooden door in the medina lies such a beautiful property.

The central courtyard with plunge pool is absolutely beautiful, particularly at night if you ask the staff to provide a meal - table covered with rose petals, candles around the room, Moroccan music.

The rooms are beautiful, very Moroccan, but with western ideas of luxury, such as en suites and air conditioning. The roof terrace is a lovely setting for breakfast and sunbathing, although the stone staircase down is a bit of a challenge after a couple of bottles of house wine!

However, the crowning glory of the Riad is the staff. Simo, the manager, is perfect - always available, kind, attentive, full of good advice, and will always help beyond the call of duty, particularly when Easyjet lost a case and he went the next day to get it for us, and when I left my sunglasses in my room on the last day and he came to the airport to deliver them to me!

The position of the Riad is perfect - within 5 minutes' walk of the central square, through tiny alleys giving a true and exciting picture of everyday Moroccan life. As five women on our own, we felt unthreatened, and that the Moroccan people were genuinely friendly and helpful.

We all hope we will be able to return to Morocco and stay in the Riad Villa el Arsa again.

  • Liked — Setting and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fiveladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

A friend and I stayed for four nights in May 2008. We had a room with three single beds which was really lovely. The roof terrace is spacious and a great place to watch the sun go down over a beer. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location just a short walk from the square.

  • Liked — Roof terrace, location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

I am writing on behalf of our group that had the GREATEST time in Marrakesh and the nicest hospitality in Riad Villa El Arsa.

We would like to compliment the Riad team (special thanks to Simo and Fatima) who were really supportive and showed that they know how to treat customers with organisation, punctuality and kindness.

The place is simply beatiful, well decorated, clean, bright, cosy and pleasant. With a great view from the Roof terrace to the Medina.

Me and my friends are recommending the Riad to our friends, as well as telling them that besides staying there, having dinner in the Riad for at least one night. Simply unmissable. Brilliant FOOD, great service and the best atmosphere!

Our other friends that joined for the dinner completely regreted staying somewhere else.

Truly and honestly reccomend this one as a great place to stay!

Staying there played a big part on making this trip unforgettable to all of us!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BornBRA_MadeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

My friend and I went to Marrakech for the first time and wanted to stay somewhere where we would feel safe. This is the perfect place for first time travelers to Morocco and after you have stayed here, you will want to return. The location is perfect - within walking distance of Djemaa el Fna. The riad has a charming cozy feel, as if you're staying with family. The rooms are roomy and clean. The staff is unbelievable helpful, friendly and caring. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a good value and excellent service. Simo is a gem and went out of his way to make our stay perfect. Will definitely return to El Arsa!

  • Liked — excellent service
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dragonjamilati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

After much research and some price constraint my friend and I decided to book El-Arsa after reading the great tripadvisor ranking. I was in Marrakech 9 years ago and I have to say, prices have changed quite a bit. El-Arsa charges 80 euros a night. Although it is comfortable, I am not sure this is the best deal for your money. Breakfast was purely continental, coffee, juice, sliced baguette, bread and butter and another type of carbohydrate crepe slices, or a pain au chocolat. The interior was nice but not spectacular. What the riad did have going for it was a great location, minutes from Jemma el Fnaa, and some very hospitable staff. I didn't get the chance to look at other Riads, but maybe this is what 80 euros gets you now a days. All of the rooms are off of a central courtyard which echoes. If you want to sleep in, bring ear plugs. During the night it is very quiet. The highlight was probably sitting on the roof when the sun finally came out on our third day there.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visionlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Gérant at Riad Villa El Arsa, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Google Translation
Merci pour votre avis... juste quelques mots pour vous informer du changement de propriétaires de Riad Villa El Arsa depuis janvier 2012... nous avons changé beaucoup de choses pour le confort et l'accueil de nos hotes... et nous vous remercions de prendre en considération les commentaires depuis cette date plutôt que de forts anciens...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

Booked through Haystack, we found this Riad to be just lovely with a beautiful aesthetic and the staff very helpful and speaking good english. We started off with 3 nights booked and ended up staying 5 nights with a trip to the desert in between which they admirably organized for us and allowed us to leave our suitcases in storage. They were also very flexible about serving breakfast at an earlier time when we had to leave on a couple of trips before 9am. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The only thing we objected to was when we came to pay the bill, we had to pay a 6% surcharge on top of the bill if we wanted to pay with a credit card.- the only time we encountered this the 2.5 months we were travelling.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank RozAirlieBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast, US
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

The hotel is beautifully decorated and maintained. The staff were extremely friendly and spoke English. They were able to give great directions and suggestions about Marrakech. Although the hotel is initially difficult to find, it is a very short and convenient walk to djemma el fna and the souqs.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_to_eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Signature
Riad Signature
#1 of 233 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Pachavana
Riad Pachavana
#11 of 233 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Villa El Arsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa El Arsa

Address: 18 Derb El Arsa | Kennaria, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 233 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Medina of Marrakech, with easy access, 5 minutes' walk to Jemaa el Fna and other mythical places of Marrakech.Villa El Arsa is an oasis in the midst of excitement and wares of magical red town.Fabrice et Noel welcome you in this bed and breakfast with five rooms,accommodating up to 11 people (4 double bedrooms, one with fireplace and 1 triple room, bathrooms tadelakt). Official Guest House n°239/2004 - Travel in security! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Villa El Arsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing