We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Souihla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Souihla to your Saves list
Dar Souihla
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Km 10 route Souihla, quartier AFAQ, douar Ali Yaich | BP 21691 Marrakech pont Massira, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #854 of 1,105 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Was a bit wary about this place having read the recent reviews, thankfully we had nothing to worry about. Francoise & Maitte couldn't have been more helpful, our flight was 7hrs late meaning Francoise had to come and pick us up at 2am, not a word of complaint. The accommodation was exactly what we expected of a Morroccan riad. We had our own little house, the decor was basic but sufficient. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms which was a bit disappointing but the staff with gladly make you tea or coffee if you ask. A knowledge of French is really helpful as not many people outside the Medina and shopping areas speak English. Watch out for stall No22 if you decide to try out the evening food stalls in the main market, they are a bunch of con-merchants, do not eat there!! There is a lovely wee place to the side of the Hotel Baron (?) where we had a lovely meal for 81dhm - we were conned for 230dhm at stall 22 the night before. We travelled by local bus and had no problems, do watch out for the pick-pockets at the bus terminus though. The hotel was a welcome relief from the chaos of Marrakesh and we would happily stay there again if we were to brave Marrakesh again. Would not recommend for families though as too far away and nothing to do for children/teenagers. The food at the hotel is reasonably priced, you may think differently though, and very nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    7
    2
    9
See reviews for
10
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrevieja, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

the adverts for this place are out of date, it is very shabby and tired, room was a disgrace, bathroom even worse, felt very uncomfortable during our stay,` all negative reviews written previously are very true.should be advertised as a backpackers hostel. no hairdryers, tvs, air con is insufficent, no gym,no childrens playground. the only positive was the pool....avoid this place

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Stayed here for a family holiday for a week would definitely not recommend and have to say was the only negative of the trip.

Negatives as follows:

Place was much too far from centre - 40-1hr by bus (5dhr - local currency), 25mins taxi (60-75dhr), 30-35 mins to airport (200dhr) or 12€ (roughly 140dhr).

Inaccurate description of place - mentions tv, gymnasium, solarium, bar, radio - found NONE of these - when asked about the tv you have to pay extra (even though i wouldn't want to want tv when on holiday makes a difference when you have paid for something that is not there). There is a ping pong table in the 'games' area, when asked for rackets and ball owners responded as if was an insane request and responded that he cant find any. Broken swings and deflated football is what you will meet!

Paid for 'bed and breakfast' from low cost holiday, didn't mention anywhere what you were allowed for breakfast - what was seen as a breakfast for 3 people was small selection of stale croissants each day. Other than that the food is far too overpriced with hardly any variation each day had to have overcooked, bland, dry scrambled eggs. One pot of yoghurt is 1€ when you can get 4 pots in town for 20p!! The 'cheese board' for 2€ was a selection of dairy lee triangles and cheddar with squashed flies on it. Hardly 4*.

The new owner Franscoise was nice during the stay but was rude and abrupt when it came to the bill at the end.

Stay clear of their tours and excursions are very overpriced and are not worth it. You can find local tours that are half the price and you will be in better company!

The only positive was that the surroundings are very nice with many fruit trees and wildlife but unfortunately is not worth the hassle and grief experienced from this place.

Please please please avoid if you want to have a nice, decent holiday knowing that your paying for good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

We had already spent 3 night in a 4 star hotel and went here for the remainder of the holiday as it sounded great, peacful and tranquil, Yes it was but stuck In the middle of nowhere, 40 mins by bus and 25 mins by car into Marrakech.
Although the pool was fine the pool furniture was very poor, shabby dirty, ripped covers not pleasant for sitting on. Don't be misled by the internet photos. They look really good. The rooms we were in - bedrooms and seating are fine but the bathroom led something to be desired. Smell of sewage often wafted in once the shower had been used. Air con wasn't working half the lights in the rooms didn't work.
Food on the first night was terrible had to send the food back (the meat arrived at the table practically raw) needless to say never had a meal there again apart from the continental breakfast. The beer prices were extorinate. they were charging 3 Euros for a small can of beer, which was the same price as the 4 star hotel we had just come from.
There was no shuttle to Marrakech for 1½ Euros this cost 12 Euros. Sattelite T V yes but no English channels. Owners need to be a little more attentive to their guests.
Its a pity as with a bit of investment and TLC it could be a little Oasis away from the frazzle of Marrakech

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Dar Souihla is a really lovely place. The surroundings are exactly as described on here an other sites....green, tranquil and very relaxing. So many little nooks and crannies to explore. Lots of turtles hanging around if you have the patience to look! After 4 days in the smog and madness of city, it was a really welcome break and escape.

On the down side, it is located about 12km outside Marrakech, which by car is nothing, but if you are like us and have no transport then it can be a little more tricky. A taxi will cost you around 125dirhams after haggling. We decided to use the local bus which stops outside on the road. There is no real timetable and certainly no tourists in this part but we had one of our funniest experiences waiting for 45mins with a group of local women, getting by on a couple of words and signs, they are very friendly!

On site, the staff and food are both really nice. There is a good menu, but I would stress that it is all overpriced! We paid 10Euros each for a couscous (very nice it was) but you can eat for two in town for this price with drinks easily. We went into town during day and got last bus back around 7ish (be careful waiting at bus station in town though, pick pockets visibly at work) so as to minimise the meals we had to eat at Dar Souihla.

The owners have changed so a lot of the information on website seems useless now, like the lift 3 times a day into town for 1 euro 50. It is now 12 euros for a drop off or pick up......

Overall, a very nice place, French family who run it are very friendly although they should lower their prices if they want repeat custom. Try to brush up on your French before going, it will really help you here and especially in town.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

worst hotel ever, is in the middle of nowhere, cost about £20 quid in taxi to medina. Doors lock at about 9, wanted to go out at 10 gates were locked no way out lights off. Had to sleep hungry, terreble people who own it, whenever i wanted something they said that they just bought it, french people i believe, no tv in room they wanted £5 a day for tv not that any of the channels were any good. They did not speak english do not book be aware

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Just returned home after a 4 night stay in Dar Souihla, Morroco. Accomodation was fantastic, very clean villa style rooms with plenty of space. Pool and restaurant facilities excellent, and the gardens surrounding the complex were beautiful.
Is quite far out from the Medina, but dont let that put you off as taxis averaged around £8. Also the owners and staff of the hotel are more than willing to drop you into the town for around the same price, return.
We liked the fact that it was a little oasis which was that bit further away from the centre of Marrakesh so we could retreat and escape from the busy markets and souks.

A special mention to the owners, Maïté, François and their son Vivien. They made our stay extra special and were extremely helpful, we cant wait to return to Dar Souihla to see them again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Souihla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Souihla

Address: Km 10 route Souihla, quartier AFAQ, douar Ali Yaich | BP 21691 Marrakech pont Massira, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #854 of 1,105 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Souihla 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Dar Souihla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Souihla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Souihla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.