We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Souihla

Save Saved
You added Dar Souihla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Souihla
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Km 10 route Souihla, quartier AFAQ, douar Ali Yaich | BP 21691 Marrakech pont Massira, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #770 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Stayed here for a family holiday for a week would definitely not recommend and have to say was the only negative of the trip.

Negatives as follows:

Place was much too far from centre - 40-1hr by bus (5dhr - local currency), 25mins taxi (60-75dhr), 30-35 mins to airport (200dhr) or 12€ (roughly 140dhr).

Inaccurate description of place - mentions tv, gymnasium, solarium, bar, radio - found NONE of these - when asked about the tv you have to pay extra (even though i wouldn't want to want tv when on holiday makes a difference when you have paid for something that is not there). There is a ping pong table in the 'games' area, when asked for rackets and ball owners responded as if was an insane request and responded that he cant find any. Broken swings and deflated football is what you will meet!

Paid for 'bed and breakfast' from low cost holiday, didn't mention anywhere what you were allowed for breakfast - what was seen as a breakfast for 3 people was small selection of stale croissants each day. Other than that the food is far too overpriced with hardly any variation each day had to have overcooked, bland, dry scrambled eggs. One pot of yoghurt is 1€ when you can get 4 pots in town for 20p!! The 'cheese board' for 2€ was a selection of dairy lee triangles and cheddar with squashed flies on it. Hardly 4*.

The new owner Franscoise was nice during the stay but was rude and abrupt when it came to the bill at the end.

Stay clear of their tours and excursions are very overpriced and are not worth it. You can find local tours that are half the price and you will be in better company!

The only positive was that the surroundings are very nice with many fruit trees and wildlife but unfortunately is not worth the hassle and grief experienced from this place.

Please please please avoid if you want to have a nice, decent holiday knowing that your paying for good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    7
    2
    9
See reviews for
10
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

We had already spent 3 night in a 4 star hotel and went here for the remainder of the holiday as it sounded great, peacful and tranquil, Yes it was but stuck In the middle of nowhere, 40 mins by bus and 25 mins by car into Marrakech.
Although the pool was fine the pool furniture was very poor, shabby dirty, ripped covers not pleasant for sitting on. Don't be misled by the internet photos. They look really good. The rooms we were in - bedrooms and seating are fine but the bathroom led something to be desired. Smell of sewage often wafted in once the shower had been used. Air con wasn't working half the lights in the rooms didn't work.
Food on the first night was terrible had to send the food back (the meat arrived at the table practically raw) needless to say never had a meal there again apart from the continental breakfast. The beer prices were extorinate. they were charging 3 Euros for a small can of beer, which was the same price as the 4 star hotel we had just come from.
There was no shuttle to Marrakech for 1½ Euros this cost 12 Euros. Sattelite T V yes but no English channels. Owners need to be a little more attentive to their guests.
Its a pity as with a bit of investment and TLC it could be a little Oasis away from the frazzle of Marrakech

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Dar Souihla is a really lovely place. The surroundings are exactly as described on here an other sites....green, tranquil and very relaxing. So many little nooks and crannies to explore. Lots of turtles hanging around if you have the patience to look! After 4 days in the smog and madness of city, it was a really welcome break and escape.

On the down side, it is located about 12km outside Marrakech, which by car is nothing, but if you are like us and have no transport then it can be a little more tricky. A taxi will cost you around 125dirhams after haggling. We decided to use the local bus which stops outside on the road. There is no real timetable and certainly no tourists in this part but we had one of our funniest experiences waiting for 45mins with a group of local women, getting by on a couple of words and signs, they are very friendly!

On site, the staff and food are both really nice. There is a good menu, but I would stress that it is all overpriced! We paid 10Euros each for a couscous (very nice it was) but you can eat for two in town for this price with drinks easily. We went into town during day and got last bus back around 7ish (be careful waiting at bus station in town though, pick pockets visibly at work) so as to minimise the meals we had to eat at Dar Souihla.

The owners have changed so a lot of the information on website seems useless now, like the lift 3 times a day into town for 1 euro 50. It is now 12 euros for a drop off or pick up......

Overall, a very nice place, French family who run it are very friendly although they should lower their prices if they want repeat custom. Try to brush up on your French before going, it will really help you here and especially in town.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

worst hotel ever, is in the middle of nowhere, cost about £20 quid in taxi to medina. Doors lock at about 9, wanted to go out at 10 gates were locked no way out lights off. Had to sleep hungry, terreble people who own it, whenever i wanted something they said that they just bought it, french people i believe, no tv in room they wanted £5 a day for tv not that any of the channels were any good. They did not speak english do not book be aware

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Just returned home after a 4 night stay in Dar Souihla, Morroco. Accomodation was fantastic, very clean villa style rooms with plenty of space. Pool and restaurant facilities excellent, and the gardens surrounding the complex were beautiful.
Is quite far out from the Medina, but dont let that put you off as taxis averaged around £8. Also the owners and staff of the hotel are more than willing to drop you into the town for around the same price, return.
We liked the fact that it was a little oasis which was that bit further away from the centre of Marrakesh so we could retreat and escape from the busy markets and souks.

A special mention to the owners, Maïté, François and their son Vivien. They made our stay extra special and were extremely helpful, we cant wait to return to Dar Souihla to see them again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

I would highly recommend this for couples, wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of the main square and souks. As first time visitors to Marrakech, we found these villas and gardens a welcoming retreat for when the madness gets to much.
The kitchen is open three times a day, with wine and beer also being available.The tagines are a must.
The owners (Francios and Maite) are very friendly and more than happy to help you organise trips. They also offered a taxi service, as well as airport transfers. There is a bus that goes to the centre although there are no timetables, we found ourselves using taxis. Speaking a little French will definitely be an advantage, although Vivien speaks very good English and made our trip a lot easier.
A stunning oasis in a crazy, but friendly and fun country.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside/England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

My girlfriend & I along with another couple stayed here for 3 nights Jan2010 & our holiday & experience of Morocco was tainted by Francois the owner & his greed & dishonesty!!
We chose this hotel? as a base for the 3 night leg of our mini tour of Morocco mainly as a result of the positive reviews. However it has recently changed owners & Francois the new owner was immediately surly upon our arrival & made comment as to how the price we had paid via alpharooms was not as much as he would of liked! In fairness the place is the oasis of tranquility as described in previous reviews, with well kept gardens & the 2bed chalet style apartment we were shown to was clean if sparsely furnished in traditional style. However the advertised TV was not in evidence & when requested we were told we did not need a TV as he (Francois) managed without one! The heaters were also noisy & unreliable which resulted in us sleeping fully clothed as this complaint also fell on deaf ears.
Francois advised us not to take our hire car into the medina due to the high accident rate & offerred to drop us off when available as he also claimed the local taxi drivers could be unreliable& dishonest we took advantage of his offer & were shocked when billed 12euro for each lift, with the taxis only charging 10euro for same trip. He also offerred to arrange a guided tour at a cost of 300DH(30euro) but this was billed at 60euro with the extra 30euro being for the use of his vehicle & fuel as his guide did not have a car!
Breakfast was usual coffee & croissant so we were pleased to be offerred omelette by the cook, however did not expect to be billed 3euro each in a country where a steak dinner is available at 5euro!
We then made the mistake of asking if he knew of a local show (chez ali) we had been told was good, he claimed to have contacts with the show & we accepted his offer to get us tickets at a reduced price, but true to form we were subsequently billed 45euro each when admittance could be gained at 25euro!!
Signs were placed in our apartment stating that no food or drink was allowed & we were told that any drinks should be purchased from the onsite kitchen (at prices almost twice of the nearby supermarket)
So our stay came to an end & despite feeling ripped off when presented with the bill we paid it rather than argue with the loud & almost aggressive mannerred Francois, he even demanded we pay an extra 100dh service charge which he claimed went to the staff( whom we had been tipping during our stay)
The worst was yet to come!
8 hours later & relaxing in our hotel room over 100miles away in Essourira we were shocked to recieve a phone call from Francois & his son Vivienne who proceeded to claim that a wash basin had been damaged in the apartment & that we were to pay 5000DH(500euro) for the damage!! We had not caused any damage & left the apartment as we had found it so of course refused to pay this chalatan a penny more than we already had. At this point their attitude became threatening & we were told that Francois had connections in the police & unless we paid the 5000DH we would not be allowed to board our flight home!! Upset & concerned we stuck to our guns & refused to pay any money so were told to expect trouble from the police! At this point we had 3 days to go & spent it worried whether the police would indeed allow us to board our plane. His claims proved unfounded & we experienced no problems at the airport. Morocco is a beautiful country & one to which we may well return but most definately to a differant hotel!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Souihla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Souihla

Address: Km 10 route Souihla, quartier AFAQ, douar Ali Yaich | BP 21691 Marrakech pont Massira, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #770 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Souihla 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Dar Souihla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Souihla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Souihla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.