We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Souihla

Save Saved
You added Dar Souihla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Souihla
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Km 10 route Souihla, quartier AFAQ, douar Ali Yaich | BP 21691 Marrakech pont Massira, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #801 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“True Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Outside the city, it was beautiful and serene. If you're looking for something quieter and more relaxed, this is your place. Had a wonderful stay, the guest house we stayed in was plenty big, with a sitting room and front porch. There was air conditioning in both rooms which was a welcomed relief in late August. I would stay here again and I would recommend my friends and family to stay here as well. Staff was courteous, attentive and the food was delicious. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    7
    2
    9
See reviews for
10
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

i don't usually write a review but i want people to not choose this hotel because it will ruine their holidays...
the couple who owns the hotel looks very friendly but all they want is making more money out of you.. this hotel is very far from the city centre and they don't offer a transfer and if you' ll ask them: how do we get to the city? they will answer: you need to get the bus number 27 but we don't know the timetable when at evenings you are at the hotel, there is no way yo can go out and you are forced to stay and have a pricey dinner at the hotel, (because you are strictly not allowed to bring food in your room.), 8 euro for a kefta kebab chewy and tough.. to finish i 've even found lots of insects in the room.. anyway i booked and payed 9 nights but i left after 2 and went to the city centre in a different hotel and while i was leaving i told the owner that i didn' t like the all thing and that i've found the diner a bit expensive compare to the city centre and guess how did he reply? I KNOW.....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

It is a beautiful setting and the staff and proprietors are extemely helpful and will do anything to make your stay more enjoyable (they will cook you a meal at any time of the day or night). The photos don't do this place justice it really is an oasis in the desert and it's true what everyone says - it really is a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It is a bit of a way out but a taxi cost us 100 dirhams and that was with a stop to the supermarket. It is also a short walk to the bus stop which cost us 5 dirhams but it was quite hot and stuffy. But I would definitely recommend this rather than staying in the heart of Marrakech. We had a great time mainly due to the surroundings and the staff and owners. We would definitely go back if we went to Marrakech and would strongly recommend this place. Do not listen to the negative reviews as we had a great time there. We were even taken to a tradition Moroccan horse racing experience and dropped off to the bus station when we were going to Essaouira.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

just back from marrakech with my 15 year old son. dar souihla was a beautiful setting, the pool and gardens were lovely. our room was perfect bedroom, living room, toilet and shower room which was traditional moroccan style. maite who runs it was lovely, very helpful and gave us lots of tips of do's and dont's in marrakech. the food in the restaurant was good although a little bit pricey so we only ate there a few times. the only downside was that it was a bit far away from the centre of marrakech about 45 minutes on the local bus (5 dirhams each) and at night roughly 100 dirhams in a taxi after haggling!! but it was so nice to relax there away from the hustle and bustle and madness of marrakech!! would definately recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

This guest house does not advertise itself as fantastic luxury. It is exactly what it states, an peaceful oasis. Within the walls of the grounds its hard to believe you are only 15 minutes away from the hussle & bustle of Marrakech.
The owner & his 2 sons were very helpful & happy to accomadate. We arrived very late at night as we got horrendously lost however the family were happy to sort us out with something to eat, despite it being around 11pm.
We hired a car, not for the feint hearted......... however eventually my partner got to grips with it. Would totally reccomend heading into the mountains to the Berber villages for a fabulous experience....
I took the rough guide to Morroco & a street map of Marrakech would highly reccomend investing in both

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Our room was a 2 bedroomed chalet within a beautiful riad with WC and shower wash room and sitting room. The decor was simple tiling and the bed was comfy but it was a relaxing environment, No TV but who needs it when you're on holiday?

The gardens were so splendid and there were swimming facilities, somewhere to lounge in the sun and books were provided and even a chessboard if you wanted to catch a tan whilst using your brain!

The hotelier, Francois, his family and the staff were friendly, accommodating, even though they had to listen and put up with our poor french. We had B&B there, french pastries, fresh orange, coffee, tea for breakfast and we would visit Marrakech through the day.

We ate meals on a night in the restaurant on the roof of the hotel, local dishes like tagines. The dinner bill at the end of our stay was reasonably priced and the food was really tasty!

Although the journey by bus took up to one hour, it was cheap to get there at 5dhm (50p) and it was nice to soak up all the culture along the way. Taxis can be quite dear at 200dhm (£20), so the bus is really the way to travel. It was good that our hotel wasn't in the centre in one way, because the city can be quite busy, a bit too busy sometimes!

The hotel was like a lovely little oasis for us and we hope to visit there again sometime soon. I have already recommended it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Was a bit wary about this place having read the recent reviews, thankfully we had nothing to worry about. Francoise & Maitte couldn't have been more helpful, our flight was 7hrs late meaning Francoise had to come and pick us up at 2am, not a word of complaint. The accommodation was exactly what we expected of a Morroccan riad. We had our own little house, the decor was basic but sufficient. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms which was a bit disappointing but the staff with gladly make you tea or coffee if you ask. A knowledge of French is really helpful as not many people outside the Medina and shopping areas speak English. Watch out for stall No22 if you decide to try out the evening food stalls in the main market, they are a bunch of con-merchants, do not eat there!! There is a lovely wee place to the side of the Hotel Baron (?) where we had a lovely meal for 81dhm - we were conned for 230dhm at stall 22 the night before. We travelled by local bus and had no problems, do watch out for the pick-pockets at the bus terminus though. The hotel was a welcome relief from the chaos of Marrakesh and we would happily stay there again if we were to brave Marrakesh again. Would not recommend for families though as too far away and nothing to do for children/teenagers. The food at the hotel is reasonably priced, you may think differently though, and very nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Souihla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Souihla

Address: Km 10 route Souihla, quartier AFAQ, douar Ali Yaich | BP 21691 Marrakech pont Massira, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #801 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Souihla 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Dar Souihla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Souihla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Souihla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.