We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic sanctuary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Maipa

Save Saved
You added Riad Maipa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Maipa
5, derb Jdid- Derb Dabbachi | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exotic sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed with 4 other friends at this place for two nights in March, 2012. You'd never know a place like this exists in the middle of the chaotic area of the Marrakech marketplace. Even more surprisingly there was no outside noise, it was very quiet. The receptionist greeted us with a smile. He even cooked us a 'tagine' meal since there were only 6 rooms I recall and we had booked 4 of them. He also gave us directions and advised where to go and what to see in the city. I must say it's more of a romantic place to stay with a companion, not a place if you're looking for some partying. Getting back to it late at night after a night of dancing at a club is not the easiest because taxi's can't enter the market place and you'd get lost in between the pathways of Marrakech. Nonetheless it is a quiet, relaxing little oasis.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

There's a saying to the effect that while the souk is pergatory, the riad is paradise.

We stayed four days at Raid Maipa this past July. It's a short walk from the main square, down a cobble-stone street lined with small shops. The street vibrates with locals, tourists, bicyclists, moped riders and the occasional cart - all in constant motion. After making a right onto a narrower and quieter street you enter a hallway and come to the riad.

The rooms surround a central courtyard, open to the heavens, anchored by a fountain and banana and orange trees. The five bedrooms can accomodate a total of 15 people, I believe. They are immaculate, comfortable and quiet. We opted to have breakfast and dinner there (and two lunches) and were never disappointed. The third floor has one bedroom, lounge chairs and a jaccuzzi with blissfully cool water. A stair leads to a small fourth floor that affords views over the city. Inside the riad you find peace.

The owner and the staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful. The owner, Eric, will help orient you to Marrakech and can suggest various day trips. One day we visited a city on the Atlantic coast, Essaouria, and on the other we went into the Atlas Mountains.

Raid Maipa was terrific. It was hard to leave paradise.

Room Tip: All the rooms have air conditioning. Still, in summer, when Marrakech is hot, the rooms on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed in Riad Maipa 2 nights in March.
It is a great Riad located 5 min walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa square.
Within only 5 minutes you can dissapear from the crowd and find your peace in Riad Maipa.
Everything was top class.
The atmosfear in this Riad is wonderful.
Eric the host gave us a good map of the city and also some usefull tips.
A must in Riad Maipa :
1) Have a bath in the evening in a jacuzzi located at the roof !
2) Have your breakfast at the roof tarrace
3) They made great Lamb tangine. It is delicious !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at this wonderfully decorated riad. The Riad was very conveniently located - 4-5 min walk from the square but is very quiet once inside. Lovely mint tea was served before we were ushered to the room. Stayed in the Khahui room on the 2nd floor - Loved the room and the shower booth. Breakfast is simple (maybe much simpler than other riads that we had stayed) but we too savored the homemade yogurt. As Eric was down with a terrible flu, his daughter came in to give us a map and helpful tips on the 2nd day. We arranged a car of the Riad to go to Essaouira for a day on the 3rd day. Was scheduled to depart at 8 from the riad so we went down at 740 in the hope to eat breakfast -- A night manager was still asleep and insisted that the breakfast would not be served only after 8 am. We decided just to kill time in the lovely cortyard and somehow he managed to give us breakfast. We were previously informed that he would bring us to the Square but he also said that we was not informed. We went to the Square and immediately found our driver. The car was comfortable, but has strong smell of cigarette smoke (just as much as the reception area of the Riad as Eric and the duty manager also smokes heavily). My poor husband who is rather sensitive to that odor had to endure 3 hour long drive with blocked nose and teary eyes. This may have contributed, however, to our greater appreciation of fresh air in Essaouria. We did our check-in on our last night (when a day manager brought us a paper to fill) and received no receipt for our payment. Have to say that it was rather amusing to see Eric scribbling down breakdowns of our payment with a pencil and used calculator in front of the desktop computer. Our glasses in the room were never cleaned and the bath-towels felt really rough. Shower gel was never refilled and I had to go down to ask. (When a manager opened the cupboard where they keep toiletries and bath towels, I had an urge to ask why in the world they have been giving us old towels that have some stains from iron wroth made hangers. The towels in the cupboard looked rather new and fluffy.) Indeed I started, but gave up in the middle as he does not speak much of English.) On the day of our departure at 7 am, a night duty manager was yet again asleep. Of course there was no breakfast, but it was okay as I read on previous reviews. Together with another couple we headed out to the Square (after I made sure a night duty manager called up a driver just to confirm), but the driver was nowhere to be found. He showed up nearly 15 min late when we were almost ready to take a cab. All in all, I loved the décor and location of this Riad, but operational improvement is much to be desired.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

Great location, really quiet and great food!!! I recommend having dinner in the riad it is delicious!!

Eric is a very welcoming host and do ask him for ideas as he really does know his city!!!

Ps get the transfer to the riad from the airport as you will never find it on your own

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Riad Maipa for 3 nights in Feb 2011, and were delighted by what we found. The location is great - very close to the main square, and it was a real escape from the outside world. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the tips from the owner, Eric, on things to see, correct prices etc were very useful. The riad itself is very pretty, especially at night when the candles and laterns are all lit! We throughly enjoyed our trip to Marrakech and our stay at Riad Maipa, and will be returning again one day!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towcester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Just back from a five-day stay and were delighted by Riad Maipa. The staff were wonderful and did everything to accommodate us (including nipping out for beer!). The initial culture-shock of the short walk down a very busy alley, keeping up with the man pulling a cart stuffed with out luggage, was in complete contrast with what we found on arrival. A beautiful, traditional riad which had been renovated thoughtfully, tastefully and traditionally. The homemade yoghurt at breakfast was even more delicious than the two dinners we had there (complete with decent wine - Eric's a frenchman, need I say more!
Eric the owner was a great asset, giving us a debrief on the first morning, suggestions and maps at the ready. He and the staff did everything they could to help us plan our trip wisely and avoid being ripped off. Much discussion was had and maps drawn to help me in my search for old photographs. Do go, but leave it until April as it was a bit nippy!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Maipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maipa

Also Known As:
Riad Maipa Marrakech
Riad Maipa Hotel Marrakech
Address: 5, derb Jdid- Derb Dabbachi | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Maipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Maipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.