We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Maipa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Maipa to your Saves list
Riad Maipa
5, derb Jdid- Derb Dabbachi | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
“A Magical Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

We stayed here having booked a last minute trip. It was with some trepidation that we were taken down a series of ever narrowing roads in the heart of the medina. Arriving at the Riad we were delighted to find a tranquil and beautiful retreat. The owners Eric and Corrine could not have been more helpful and charming. They took the time to explain the best way to enjoy Marrakech and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. My only regret is that we only had three days there. The rooms were sumptuous and comfortable and each individually decorated with the most fantastic attention to detail.

I would thoroughly recommend this as a delightful place to stay and would definitely return to this Riad.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

good location, rooms ok, clean riad,but having stayed in other riads in morroco i found it only average.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabar, Nigeria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

Booked through Maroc Emotions, big mistake. Got ripped off by both the Riad and Maroc Emotions and left out of pocket. This is a beautiful Riad in a very good location. Easy to find and lots of lovely shops around. The room was beautiful and cleaned daily, and the food was delicious and fresh. Sadly on the last night, found the kitchen dirty with ants and lots of left over food - only night staff around. Had to leave for the airport at 8.30 and breakfast was not ready. Got charged twice for the airport transfer and had to carry my bags to the square to find the car - no escort or help with the bags. Take cash with you as I discovered the night before that the Riad does not accept card payments, very strange, so had to use the cash machine. Had planned to visit the Riad again but sadly, the experience has been marred by these problems.

You can avoid this if you
1. Book direct with the Riad
2. Organise your own airport transfer - lots of taxis @ airport.
3. Take enough cash to pay for your stay
4. Do not expect breakfast on your day of depature
5. Have one light piece of luggage.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

This is a great Riad, with very friendly owners that will make all efforts possible to make you feel comfortable. Follow their advice! I stayed in a suite in the first floor, with a walk in double shower that was very good. The suite was spacious as was the bathroom. The bathroom is only separated by a curtain, so if you need intimacy beware that while in the bathroom everything can be heard from the room.
The breakfast was OK (not incredible, but OK... loved the home made yoghurt).
It is literally 2 minute walk from the main square.
We booked the car service which was 30 euros (although a bit expensive, i reccommend it, especially when arriving)

  • Liked — it's silence and peace sensation. the location
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

The environment comforting, the people helpful, and the location unbeatable. For people who don't know anything about Marrakech, its helpful to find a place you can trust and a staff that is so accomodating and friendly. Wireless internet, satellite TV, and a gorgeous view make this a breath of fresh air from the bustling streets and streetside vendors, both of which can be intimidating for non-Moroccans. Moreoever, we booked last minute and planned the trip on the fly. They helped make sure that wasn't a mistake. We are two twenty somethings traveling on vacation.

  • Liked — Location, comfort and helpfulness
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

This is a really charming riad right near the heart of Marrakech, recommended for people wanting a quick fix of the bustle of the Medina. Unlike many riads it is not difficult to find, and there are plenty of places to eat withing walking distance.

Our room was very nicely furnished, exceeding expectations, and the communal parts have an authentic Moroccan feel with some nice touches reflecting the tastes of the French owners. There was also satellite TV, although the only English-language channel available when we stayed was al-Jazeera. The bathroom was stylish rather than modern, but satisfactory all the same. Breakfast was more than adequate (including coffee and juice), and lunch, when we took it at the riad, was delicious.

Despite its very central location, the riad is a peaceful place - with some pleasant spots where you can sit and, say, read a book. Eric, the owner, is hands-on without being intrusive, and he was able to book tables at some very good restaurants at short notice. He also organized for us a trip into the Atlas Mountains, as well as a superb massage. The staff supporting him were all charming and friendly. English is spoken by Eric, and his staff also have a small amount of English, but this riad is better suited, I'd suggest, to people who can speak French.

One cavil - and this is probably true of traditional riads in general - is that the courtyard acts as a kind of echo chamber, so although one hears very little noise from outside the riad one does hear a bit too much of other occupants. This didn't particularly bother us, but if you are sensitive to noise it is something to consider. Overall, nevertheless, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

Stayed here for 5 nights in the Aasli Room. Fabulous.
The Riad is only 20 yards from the chaos that is Derb Debbachi and is perfectly situated only a five minute walk from the Jemaa El Fna.
Eric and Corrine, the owners, have decorated the Riad to a very high standard, with lovely quirky touches. The staff are very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us.
Couldn't fault anything about our stay, from the pick-up at the airport that was arranged via Eric, to the evening meal we arranged with the cook on one evening.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Riad and would definately stay there again if we were back in Marrakech

  • Liked — Cleanliness of Riad and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#62 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#46 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Sadaka
Riad Sadaka
#89 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#104 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#118 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#103 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Maipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maipa

Address: 5, derb Jdid- Derb Dabbachi | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#116 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Maipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Maipa Marrakech
Riad Maipa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Maipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.