We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, friendly and excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Maipa

Save Saved
You added Riad Maipa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Maipa
5, derb Jdid- Derb Dabbachi | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Amazing, friendly and excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

This is a great Riad, with very friendly owners that will make all efforts possible to make you feel comfortable. Follow their advice! I stayed in a suite in the first floor, with a walk in double shower that was very good. The suite was spacious as was the bathroom. The bathroom is only separated by a curtain, so if you need intimacy beware that while in the bathroom everything can be heard from the room.
The breakfast was OK (not incredible, but OK... loved the home made yoghurt).
It is literally 2 minute walk from the main square.
We booked the car service which was 30 euros (although a bit expensive, i reccommend it, especially when arriving)

  • Liked — it's silence and peace sensation. the location
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

The environment comforting, the people helpful, and the location unbeatable. For people who don't know anything about Marrakech, its helpful to find a place you can trust and a staff that is so accomodating and friendly. Wireless internet, satellite TV, and a gorgeous view make this a breath of fresh air from the bustling streets and streetside vendors, both of which can be intimidating for non-Moroccans. Moreoever, we booked last minute and planned the trip on the fly. They helped make sure that wasn't a mistake. We are two twenty somethings traveling on vacation.

  • Liked — Location, comfort and helpfulness
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

This is a really charming riad right near the heart of Marrakech, recommended for people wanting a quick fix of the bustle of the Medina. Unlike many riads it is not difficult to find, and there are plenty of places to eat withing walking distance.

Our room was very nicely furnished, exceeding expectations, and the communal parts have an authentic Moroccan feel with some nice touches reflecting the tastes of the French owners. There was also satellite TV, although the only English-language channel available when we stayed was al-Jazeera. The bathroom was stylish rather than modern, but satisfactory all the same. Breakfast was more than adequate (including coffee and juice), and lunch, when we took it at the riad, was delicious.

Despite its very central location, the riad is a peaceful place - with some pleasant spots where you can sit and, say, read a book. Eric, the owner, is hands-on without being intrusive, and he was able to book tables at some very good restaurants at short notice. He also organized for us a trip into the Atlas Mountains, as well as a superb massage. The staff supporting him were all charming and friendly. English is spoken by Eric, and his staff also have a small amount of English, but this riad is better suited, I'd suggest, to people who can speak French.

One cavil - and this is probably true of traditional riads in general - is that the courtyard acts as a kind of echo chamber, so although one hears very little noise from outside the riad one does hear a bit too much of other occupants. This didn't particularly bother us, but if you are sensitive to noise it is something to consider. Overall, nevertheless, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

Stayed here for 5 nights in the Aasli Room. Fabulous.
The Riad is only 20 yards from the chaos that is Derb Debbachi and is perfectly situated only a five minute walk from the Jemaa El Fna.
Eric and Corrine, the owners, have decorated the Riad to a very high standard, with lovely quirky touches. The staff are very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us.
Couldn't fault anything about our stay, from the pick-up at the airport that was arranged via Eric, to the evening meal we arranged with the cook on one evening.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Riad and would definately stay there again if we were back in Marrakech

  • Liked — Cleanliness of Riad and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights in May in the room Aasli which was decorated beautifully. The location is excellent it is literally right next to the square but yet once you get inside it is a calm oasis.
The owners were very friendly and one of the other guests had been ill and they had got him medicine and were generally making sure he was ok.
All in all a lovely place to stay I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

We stayed in Marrakech for three nights. Riad Maipa is an excellent choice, a beautiful house full of charm, very close to the Jemaa el Fna square and very central. Eric and Corinne were the most wonderful hosts. They speak good English which is certainly a bonus for those of us from the UK. English is not widely spoken and the museums have no written information in English so make sure you have some form of guide book. Eric arranged for us to be collected from the Airport which is definetly recommended. Book direct you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londoner
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

My wife and 2 children age 13/16 stayed at Riad Maipa Xmas 2006 for 6 nights. Eric the owner arranged for us to be met at the airport, and personally greeted us at the main square where we had been dropped off by the taxi. Our luggage was transferred by a porter and we followed him through the market. We arrived at the entrance to our Riad and Eric and his wife Corrine welcomed us and showed us around their beautiful home. This Riad is an oasis of serenity amidst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech beautifully furnished, clean and the service was first class. The location is excellent as you are on the doorstep for the souks and the main Djema Square where the main entertainment in the evenings takes place. Eric and Corrine spoke good English and helped arrange our itinerary.. great restaurants, quad biking, camel riding, treking.and a cooking lesson ( thank you Oulia). We had an action packed week and our teenage children absolutely loved it. We will certainly return to Morocco the people were so friendly and we felt very safe and welcome in the city.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Maipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maipa

Also Known As:
Riad Maipa Marrakech
Riad Maipa Hotel Marrakech
Address: 5, derb Jdid- Derb Dabbachi | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Maipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Maipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.