We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Maipa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad Maipa to your Saves list
Riad Maipa
5, derb Jdid- Derb Dabbachi | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Riad Maipa for 3 nights in Feb 2011, and were delighted by what we found. The location is great - very close to the main square, and it was a real escape from the outside world. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the tips from the owner, Eric, on things to see, correct prices etc were very useful. The riad itself is very pretty, especially at night when the candles and laterns are all lit! We throughly enjoyed our trip to Marrakech and our stay at Riad Maipa, and will be returning again one day!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
towcester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Just back from a five-day stay and were delighted by Riad Maipa. The staff were wonderful and did everything to accommodate us (including nipping out for beer!). The initial culture-shock of the short walk down a very busy alley, keeping up with the man pulling a cart stuffed with out luggage, was in complete contrast with what we found on arrival. A beautiful, traditional riad which had been renovated thoughtfully, tastefully and traditionally. The homemade yoghurt at breakfast was even more delicious than the two dinners we had there (complete with decent wine - Eric's a frenchman, need I say more!
Eric the owner was a great asset, giving us a debrief on the first morning, suggestions and maps at the ready. He and the staff did everything they could to help us plan our trip wisely and avoid being ripped off. Much discussion was had and maps drawn to help me in my search for old photographs. Do go, but leave it until April as it was a bit nippy!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Stayed in the very clean & spacious Aasli suite for 5 nights in February 2010. Were met at airport on arrival at night & taken to Riad. Last part of way was necessarily on foot, & we were astonished at the peace inside compared to the medina as soon as the door was closed. Brilliant mint tea on arrival.
The Riad is very traditional in its decor & layout; the sound of the tinkling patio fountain amidst the candles & foliage was quite unforgettable.
Eric & all the staff were attentive & personable, happy to fulfill our needs & give advice on such things as safety matters & the going rates for taxis & caleches, etc. The location of Riad Miapa is excellent, being only 4 minute stroll down the Souk to Place Djemma El Fna
The food was carefully prepared & there was not a stomach problem in sight! Don't know where else one could get a bottle of red to go with the evening meal!
Good views of the townscape & Atlas mountains from the roof terrace, with plenty of sunny & shady corners to sit in.
We took two recommended trips out of town; a day out in Eric's Land Cruiser (with driver) to the Atlas - very wild & woolly in parts but well worthwhile, & a half day's quad biking north east of Marrakech. being met in the Place Djemma El Fna by the owner. This was great, going through a pastoral landscape complete with palms & sheep, with fantastic views of the snowy peaks of the Atlas in the distance. This, on our last morning, was definitely a highlight of the trip, being so quiet & different from the medina.
Didn't pluck up the courage to eat at the stalls in the Place, but ate well a couple of times inexpensively on the terrace at the Argana, overlooking the activity below.
Four tips:
By the nature of their design, all Riads will be a bit echoey from other guests, but we would recommend this one for its ambiance, style & quality of staff.
Always have sufficient cash on you to satisfy the inevitable requests for baksheesh from certain service providers, whether they have provided a service or not!
Don't get lost in the souks - it's really easy!
Be very, very aware of mopeds criss-crossing the Place at high speed through ambling people!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

If you are planning to go to Marrakech, to stay in the medina and it is within your budget this is the riad to stay at!
I had a bad time choosing the perfect riad before going to Marrakech as there are so many options.
Our needs: (being the first 3 points 80% of the deal)
Easy to find- check
Stylish and traditional- check
near to Jemma El Fna square (if you can call the place a square) - check
nice hotel reviews- check
good value for money within our budget- check
nice F&B hotel reviews- check
managed by Europeans- check

We booked directly with the riad and the owner Eric cleared out all the points since the beginning of the e-mail correspondence.

The transfer was organized by Eric and we were welcomed by a nice driver in the airport on a Toyota Land Cruiser, which was a must compared with many other transfer vehicles I saw at the airport.

As soon as we arrived in Jemaa El Fna square the driver carried our bags to another guy with a small handcar, which is the perfect and best way to move around with luggage, not because of the walking distance, but mainly because all roads inside the medina are very irregular.

The location was superb!!! Very easy to find and at the same time very localish and a little bit away (200 mts?) from all the bustle of Jemaa El Fna!! We think that was the coolest street we were while in the medina! Directly in to Jemaa el Fna, not so many tourist shops as in the souks but instead many shops and street markets where the locals shop and eat daily. so further more authentic from what you get in other parts of the medina and around Jemma el Fna. Marrakech despite being a very safe place, outside tourists pop out clearly from the crowd. Somehow on the riad main street I felt like a local even in the first day.

We were welcomed by Corinne and Eric with a wonderfull tasty mint tea. While Corinne was the host and showed us the riad and functionings, Eric gave us a very usefull tutorial of what to expect and to do while in Marrakech. He answered pretty wisely all of our questions.

The riad was very well decorated being a mixture of arabic and bebere elements with a small touch of the European owners. The management was also very well and things were pretty tidy and very clean.

We took the Chibi suite and it was fantastic and as good as we imagined it before being there. I also checked/sneaked in 2 or 3 of the other rooms and they were very nice too.

The Riad's jacuzzi is also a must, specially because it is complimentary and that's the best and cheapest treatment you can have after wondering around in the city!

We had dinner there one night and it was a fabulous experience. Besides being the dinner itself delicious, the wine had a very good value (we had rosé),Be sure you don't miss at least a dinner there!

Breakfast was also delicious, made of bio products. You can have yours the time you want/wake up! Fresh orange juice and coffee made when you seat in for breakfast!

The staff was also very well trainned, kind, helpfull and very professional according to western standards. The staff understands all your wishes both in French and English language.

On the last day we had to wake up 06h30 and breakfast was prepared at the time we asked them the night before. Same with the transfer.

If we decide to go back we will have 99% less work as we already know where to stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Riad Maipa. We were collected from the airport by taxi and welcomed by Eric with a delicious mint tea. Eric showed us around the riad and gave us lots of info regarding Marrakech. I would recommend this riad because it's clean and spacious and is in an excellent location. Eric and all the staff looked after us very well. I would recommend arranging to be picked up from the airport as the Marrakech is a maze of little streets and it's very easy to get lost.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

A short distance from the tumultuous hassle of the place Jemaa El Fna, the riad Maïpa is like an oasis of calm and beauty. Thank you Corinne and Eric for your warm welcome and please convey my gratitude to your employees for their attention and help. I had a wonderful time and hope to be back soon.
Nelly Furman
New York

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

Our first time in Marrakech, went with another couple. Wanted to stay in a small Riad near the Square - Riad Maipa was lovely. A real Oasis off a crowded busy street (like most of Marrakech). We can only think the reasonable price must be because of the slightly run down area leading up to it. But don't be put off ! The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us - our evening meal complete with wine, was great and served to us all on our own in the luxury of the fountain court yard (we felt very exclusive & spoiled!) Eric was very helpful about where to go and more important how much to pay! This Riad deserves to be given a higher star value and it really was only 5 minutes walk to the Square. (Our only reason for not giving 'excellent ' was that we didn't get the rooms we reserved via Maroc Emotions but one couple did get upgraded to the roof top suite.) By the way, book direct with the Riad. They also arranged the taxi to & from Airport so no hassle. Thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Liked — The personal service and smallness of it
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Maipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maipa

Address: 5, derb Jdid- Derb Dabbachi | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#110 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Maipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Maipa Marrakech
Riad Maipa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Maipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.