We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay at this relaxing riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad et Dar Maison Do

Save Saved
You added Riad et Dar Maison Do to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad et Dar Maison Do
1 et 21 derb Hajjama | Ben Salah Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #338 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay at this relaxing riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had a great stay at the Maison Do back in September, Marrakesh gets quite hot so it was nice to come back to the riad and relax in the rooftop pool. Our room was a great size and had all the amenities we needed to have an enjoyable stay, breakfasts were served at a time that you choose so you could start the day as early or late as you wanted.

The location of the riad is away from the main square but there are some lovely places to see in the vicinity such as the photography gallery, this wasn't listed on the other tourist maps. Highly recommend this Riad to anyone heading to Marrakesh, its a fantastic place to relax after a long day sightseeing!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    38
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
71
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We met the owners of Riad Maison Do through some mutual friends and stayed there towards the end of our trip. The Riad was stunning, big spacious rooms, comfortable beds and a 10 minute walk from the Jamal Al-Finah. After a hard day of walking through the souks, there is nothing better than coming back to Maison Do's swimming pool on the roof. With exceptionally friendly staff and hosts, I cannot suggest staying here highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Maison Do was wonderful. Yolande made us comfortable, helped us with details like finding guides, and provided lovely breakfasts as well as dinner if we chose to eat at the riad. It was like an oasis in the very busy Marrakech medina. Our room was artfully designed for comfort with plenty of nooks and crannies to put things away, which is sometimes a rarity. It was cool when we were there, but the little pool on the roof looked inviting anyway. And then there was Ali - he picked us up at the train station, helped with everything we needed, and took us to the airport to pick up our rental car when we left. He insisted that we follow him as he led us out of town so we wouldn't get lost. And we would have without him. We probably won't be back to Marrakech, but if we are, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The Riad is French owned and run but the owners and main house manager Ali all speak english which helped my daughter and I enormously. Ali, the Mr Fixit really made our holiday he was helpful, curteous and had tremendous local knowledge. He is a real asset to the Riad. The plunge pool on the roof was great and the entire riad beautifully decorated. Marrakesh is an extremely busy place and the riad was somewhere to escape to

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed in Maison Do for three nights: one night in the Dar, two in the Riad because the Dar was fully booked then.They are very close to each other in a small quiet street, about 10 minutes walk from the Place Jemaa el-Fna.
We had a great stay! The owners are very welcoming and helpfull, explained us the city map and had suggestions for visiting Marrakech. They can arrange trips or transport if you 'd like to.
Both the Dar and the Riad are nicely decorated and give you very comfortable and clean rooms. De Dar offers a big extra: the pool on the roof is a great cool-off after a day in Marrakech souks!.
You get a great breakfast on the terrace, and you can order a dinner or drinks. The site gives a good idea of the accomodation, you can believe the pictures shown.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

This is a wonderful Riad! One of the keys for us was getting to the Dejemma El Fna Square and on our first day Ali walked us straight there (maybe a 7 min walk) and from then on we were good. We never got lost once on our way back to the Raid. Also the walk is part of the experience it was good to see a less touristy part of the medina. We did dinner two nights at the Riad and the food was wonderful, for breakfast we got a different type of Moroccan breakfast food everyday. Ali was WONDERFUL, and the Owners Yolande and Olivier were so knowledgeable and helpful with our stay. They set up an evening at Chez Ali (oh if you go to Marrakech you have to check this off. Very fun and entertaining.) Set us up with a guide for a day trip into the high atlas mountains (stunning). Then there was the Riad itself. Magical and beautiful. That's all I can say, just wonderful. Also it is located down a quite street so night time was easy with the kids. Some closer Riads I can only imagine get quite loud at night. Another must is to have the Riad pick you up from the airport. Such a mind settling thing to to arrive in Marrakech and see your name on a sign and know that is not something you have to worry about. Wonderful wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

The riad and dar Maison Do are located each in front of each other on the same street. They are owned by two French professionals who live in one of them. I would describe the Riad as a traditional Arab riad decorated with luxury. The Dar, opposite the street, is more subdued, a mix of Arab and European elegance. I stayed in the Dar. The Dar is well located 30 feet off the street. It takes about 8 minutes to go to Jema El Fna. I always felt very safe coming back home at night.

Every thing in the Dar was impeccable and superbly clean. The Dar has a large roof where breakfast are taken. It also has a small pool. Breakfast was a continental breakfast with an assortments of jams and marmelade. On top of bread, it included freshly pressed orange juice, some grapes and each day a variation: waffle, donuts, French bread.

I would not hesitate to return. In fact, quite a few of the clientele I met during my 11 days there were people returning to this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad et Dar Maison Do? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad et Dar Maison Do

Address: 1 et 21 derb Hajjama | Ben Salah Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Maison Do and Dar Maison Do, two traditional dwellings located in opposite in a derb of the médina of Marrakech, within the district Ben Salah, which kept all its authenticity. Easy access, it is an ideal starting point for the walk discovery of the historical heart of the city, the souks, and the place Jemaa El Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Riad et Dar Maison Do reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad et Dar Maison Do, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.