We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy til fall in love with Riad Zara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Zara to your Saves list
Riad Zara
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   294 Derb Ben Salek | Boutouil, Bab Aylen, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Easy til fall in love with Riad Zara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is my second visit to Riad Zara and Monique.
This time I was as pleased as last time. The Riad is situated near Bab Aileen (this is a gate) and in a quiet area. As quiet as it gets in the Marrakech medina.
Monique is as always the perfect host and friend.
Stay here if you need a "home" in Marrakech, it is a small but cosy Riad and Monique goes to great lengths to make you feel at home.
She will help you with everything from booking a fantastic trip to guiding you safely through the narrow streets of the medina. If you like an intimate atmosphere not more than 20 min walk from the Square. Then stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    53
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
141
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This Riad is a beautiful oasis among the busy-ness of the Medina. Monique has thought of everything and is a wonderful hostess, providing helpful informaiton for the first time traveler to Marrakech. When you return from a long day, you feel like you're returning home. I felt taken care of and I was sad to leave. I highly recommend this Riad...

Room Tip: The room I stayed in was very tiny (because it was the only room available and we wanted to stay at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

There is all we need to realize a nice trip, Monique is a real expert, her riad is wonderfull, and we eat so good. Our excursion in Atlas was perfect, thanks to her. we hope to return soon !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

You can't go wrong with this riad: tastefully decorated, authentic atmosphere, impecable service and very well informed owner. One mention thought: this riad is not in the middle of the Medina but rather near one of the gate, in the middle of an authentic neighbourhood. Please consider about 15-20 minutes pleasant walk in order to reach Jemaa el-Fnaa. You will immerse in the daily life of people and no touristic trap will spoil your experience. Back to the riad now. Monique is an encyclopedia of details regarding Marrakesh, from nice restaurants to hidden shops, good hammams or wonderful spots around Medina. She can also advise and organise for you beautiful 1 to 2-3 days trips in the most scenic areas of Marrakesh (she is an experienced trakker). Murad (her assistant) is also extremely polite and helpful and also an excellent cook (so try to have at least one dinner inside the riad). You will also fall in love with the house's playful cat, Iala.

Room Tip: I would go for the rooms on the upper floor. Less noisy but might be warmer during summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holbæk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I keep coming back to Marrakech and... Moniques oasis in Marrakech. I love to stay in Riad Zara and if in anyway I can persuade you that this is where you should stay let me try.

Most important Monique makes it a RIAD - you're in a home with the kindest host possible. When you come back from your adventures in the medina you'll hear a ringing "bonjour" and Monique greets your return. Homely breakfast and wonderfull cooking for a dinner in peace and quiet - maybe you'll want to dine on the terrace with the spectacular view of the medina.
Secondly it's an oasis of peace and beauty - traditional and original, with the mosaics, the woodwork and craftmanship in the rooms.

You're in the true medina with morrocan life circulating as you step out from the riad, getting busier and busier as you approach the Place Jama el Fnaa. I've had nothing but friendliness from the locals around riad Zara, and impressions for all of your senses - just don't loose yourself in staring at the donkey so that you'll miss the moped comin from behind.

Let Monique organize a trip to the mountain. She'll take you safe and happy to a view and a lunch that will stay in your heart forever. We did it and sat on Ibrahims terrace with the sun in our face, the snow on the mountain in our eyes, wonderfull food in our bellies, the sound of the Berber children playing below in our ears and a feeling of being blessed by it all.

As you might sense, I like Riad Zara and Monique very much! and I truly would like you to feel as good and happy as I allways do when staying there!

Love and happyhorses on the trails!
Truels

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Riad Zara is amazing, the place is decorated with great taste in an authentic Morrocan style. The rooms are very clean. Monique is very nice, and helpful and she helped us to organize an unforgettable trip in the Atlas mountain to visit a Berber village. The experience was a five star one. Murad is a combination of nice, helpful, handy, discreet, proud and excellent cooker that only an Berber man can be. Iala cat is the most beautiful cat I ever meet. We all loved her. Please consider at least one dinner in the Riad, the food is great and Murad is an excellent cooker. Be aware also that the Riad is placed in a part on Medina, where the Moroccan families are living their lives, so you will have an authentic holiday but the time to reach Jena el Fna piazza is 20-30 min. I would prefer if Monique will considered included in the services small costs like a phone call to book a table in a restaurant (12 DHR per call, app 1 euro:)), but that didn't spoiled our incredible holiday and I still recommend from all my hart Riad Zara.

Room Tip: All the rooms has access to the interior garden, so the view is equally beautiful but if the are som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, Wirral, Merseyside
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My husband, daughter, daughter's friend and small son, and I stayed for a week at this Ryad, which we found to provide excellent accommodation with good food and friendly and helpful staff. The Ryad is tucked away in the Medina and is, initially, a bit difficult to find, but we came to enjoy returning to it in the late evening when the whole area comes to life, small stores open and the local people are out on the streets. We never at any time felt other than relaxed and quite safe on the streets of the Medina. We have no hesitation in recommending Riad Zara to anyone who wants to experience Marrakech away from the tourist track in clean and comfortable surroundings.

Room Tip: The rooms are all of similar quality but because of the structure of the riad, they do tend to be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zara

Address: 294 Derb Ben Salek | Boutouil, Bab Aylen, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Zara 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"If you look only for authenticity, Riad Zara could be your place... Yes ! that is right, it is “my home” and I get great pleasure to share Zara’s home, a guest house somewhere in the Medina... A home from home, Riad Zara, a cozy restored riad, is situated in the east part of the medina, in the old Bab Aylen area. A real oasis in the middle of the “coloured” life ot the medina (old city). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Zara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zara Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.