We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great roof terrace, clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Safa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Safa to your Saves list
Riad Safa
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great roof terrace, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I would definitely recommend this riad. It had friendly and helpful staff, a lovely roof terrace with a plunge pool, great breakfasts. All in all a lovely riad located a 10 minute walk away fro the souks and the main square.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventure_rhum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My fiance and I spent two nights here to begin our engagment trip to Morocco. Hotel staff (thank you Francois) helped arrange a transfer from the Casablanca airport before arrival, set up a great guide for us, and were incredibly helpful trying to track down our lost luggage (never fly TAP Portugal).

Upon arrival, the manager met us on the main road and guided us down a maze-like alley way to this little guest house. We were the only guest there for our whole stay- it was like having our own private house in Marrakech. We dined at Riad Safa our first night and the food was great. It is walking distance to all the souks, many restaurants, and all the sights in the city. There is a nice little pool on the roof next to the Hammam room. Everything was perfect at Riad Safa and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. The price is a bargain for the location, service, and quality. I hope to go back sometime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OG309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I don't think I have ever written a bad review before. And, I must admit that my attitude is heavily colored by the overall unpleasant experience of staying in the Medina itself. Upon exiting the taxi in Marrakesh my traveling buddy and I were guided to the Riad via filthy, crowded streets. In fact, later on, we used a pile of trash as a marker of sorts when we got lost in the labyrinth. I must say that entering the door of the Safa was a welcomed relief from the squalor of the neighborhood. The owners of the Riad were "out of the country" and we were "hosted" by what we call in the States an "Inn Sitter," someone paid to run a bed and breakfast in the owners' absence. Perhaps it was just off season, but one got the impression the place was just sort of left to run on its own. No real personality. The deal killer is a Mosque loudspeaker that is literally aiming directly down into the Riad's Courtyard. Now, I have traveled extensively throughout Northern Africa and have a deep respect for all customs, including the "Call to Prayer." But, I don't recall ever staying in a place where the Mosque speaker was practically in the room with you. There was no escape! I can see why the owners went on holiday, to get some sleep. So, perhaps sleep deprivation and an overall dislike for the specific area of the Medina still colors my view of the Safa. But, nonetheless, it was not what I expected or read about in other reviews here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hewtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guennaro, Propriétaire at Riad Safa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Well, this is the kind of review we expected from this client (even before he arrived) and the first thing to reply is to suggest people to go and read the other reviews from our guests.

Visiting Morocco and especially the Medina of Marrakech means that one must accept being waken up by the Muezzin (the call for prayer), being confronted to poverty rather than a sterilized environment and getting lost in the labyrinth of narrow alleys of the Medina and eventually discover some of the hidden secrets of the Medina.

The Riad has easy access and we always come to pick our guests up where the taxi stops and personally guide them to the Riad (4 minute walk). Besides, we provide maps and all the details to find the way back to the Riad when exploring the town.

This client does not mention that his favorite destination is Mykonos where he finds what he calls “nice guides”, hammams, saunas and “hot spots” which we obviously cannot provide here in a Muslim country…

As a matter of fact, I understand that Marrakech was a wrong choice unable to fulfill his expectations but the “inn sitter” managing the Riad while the owners are not there has nothing to do with this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this riad for 4 nights and there's really nothing negative to say about it, on the contrary only very good things. We arranged airport pickup which was useful as it could be hard to find the first time. It's more than what you'd pay for a taxi but worth the smooth arrival. We had lunch once in the riad: best tajine I had in Marrakesh by far and nice to be able to have beer in the riad: not all have that. You pay European prices or even slightly more for this, but it's very tasty and nice as a ones off meal, especially as the first one in Marrakesh.
The pool on the roof is definitely the highlight of the riad for me. We bathed in it every day during the hot hours of the day and it's such a blessed refreshment in this hectic city. Definitely recommended to break the day in 2 parts with a return to the riad for a swim in the afternoon if you've got the time to do so. It's really only 10 minutes walking to jama el fna and it is a good thing to be just outside of it. The riad staff is all super friendly and professional and the atmosphere very peaceful. Everything super clean, new and in good condition. Again, we really enjoyed our stay. I can honestly say choosing this riad booted our trip to Marrakesh from being good to excellent. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yishai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Riad Safa this May. The owners and staff are superb - welcoming, but aren't too pushy of services or hospitality, which can sometimes be too much elsewhere in Morocco. The riad is tastefully decorated, and overall vibe is all about comfort and tranquility. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace every morning, and spent a few afternoons relaxing by the dip pool. Our stay at Riad Safa was definitely one of Marrakesh highlights for us, and we would highly recommend. One thing -- there is a minaret next door to the riad, so the call-to-prayer is heard loud and clear. Adds to the ambiance though!
You can see more here: http://www.victorianinbloom.com/2013/morocco-lodging/

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank housetolaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I arranged to stay at Riad Safa with seven girls on a hen weekend in Marrakech. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. We were brilliantly looked after - we had spa treatments on the roof terrace, airport transfers, chaperoning on arrival and in the evenings so we always felt safe, they organised us a day trip into the Atlas mountains and even looked into local festivals for us in advance of our visit. The location is ideal to visit the souks and local restaurant Fondouk is another great recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very beautiful and extremely quiet place. You really feel like at home.
The owners, Frederick and Jean Michel are delightful and honest people.
The terrace on the roof has everything you need to relax, get some sun and refresh yourself in the small pool.
Great location: 10 minutes from Jemaa el Fna and few steps from the north entrance of the souks.
Personally, I strongly recommend the Airport transfer.

A little stink comes up from the bathroom drains. Not a fault of the Riad itself, but better keep them closed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dantibis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#15 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#31 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Safa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safa

Address: 64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Safa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Riad Safa, a true haven of peace in the exciting Medina of Marrakesh.Riad Safa is located in one of the last authentic parts of the old city (medina), with some of the major cultural institutions just around the corner, and ten minutes by foot from the famous Jemaa el Fna square.Safa means serenity or pureness in Arabic, and it is our aim to provide you with a feeling of pure wellness during the longer or shorter time you stay with us. The atmosphere therefore, is very quiet. Even at the moments that the Imam of the neighbouring Mosque spreads his prayers over us; then you feel the mistery of the East and the presence of the languorous city.We speak English, French and Dutch and we love to help with everything you would want to be assisted with; whether it is a transfer from or to the airport, the booking of an excursion, or to have you accompanied safely home through the myriad of narrow alleys by our helpfull staff, after a 1001-night dinner in the medina.We want you to feel comfortable, and at home with us.Affordable luxury, that is what we want to offer you.Marrakesh is a bustling and buzzy city, so it is nice to know that after a tiring day of shopping in the souks (covered markets) or a visit to one of the palaces, you can immerse yourself in the lovely quiet of our Riad, and relax in one of the intimate "salons" or, during spring and summer, cool down at the small rooftop pool with a dewy glass.At night we offer a delicious "table d'hotes" in a romantic setting on the roofterrace, or indoors, just as you prefer.In-house hammam & wellness • we have a small hammam on the rooftopterrace, which you can book• on demand we can arrange for scrubs, massage, facials, pedicure and manicure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Safa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Safa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing