We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful place in the middle of the chaos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Safa

Save Saved
You added Riad Safa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Safa
64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A peaceful place in the middle of the chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very beautiful and extremely quiet place. You really feel like at home.
The owners, Frederick and Jean Michel are delightful and honest people.
The terrace on the roof has everything you need to relax, get some sun and refresh yourself in the small pool.
Great location: 10 minutes from Jemaa el Fna and few steps from the north entrance of the souks.
Personally, I strongly recommend the Airport transfer.

A little stink comes up from the bathroom drains. Not a fault of the Riad itself, but better keep them closed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    33
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
402
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A friendly face met me and 6 friends on arrival in Marrakech as Jean Michel and Frederic had arranged our transfer from the airport (highly recommended, and a good price). We had to walk the final stretch of the way as the Riad is situated through narrow streets. After the hustle of the street, Riad Safa was a calm oasis and we were welcomed by Abdul. A fabulous traditional meal was arranged for our first night, again I would recommend this as we arrived quite late and negotiating the streets would have been daunting on our first night. Our hosts were generous with their time, helping us with maps of the area, giving us valuable advice about local customs and places to visit. They arranged an amazing trip to the Atlas Mountains, in which we had an opportunity to visit a Berber home and share a mint tea with the lady of the house, took in spectacular views and enjoyed lunch on a sunny terrace alongside a pool. Our driver was Adil (please excuse if I've spelled this incorrectly) who was a good guide as well as a safe driver. The roof terrace with its plunge pool was the best way to unwind at the end of a day's haggling in the souks, and restaurants recommended by Jean Michel and Frederic all had excellent food, and any entertainment was fab. We were very well looked after for the whole of our trip, so a BIG thank you to all of the staff at Riad Safa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A dear friend recommended that we stay at the Riad Safa in Marrakech and so we decided to bite the bullet and book a trip in April. We took advantage of their offer of a transfer (very reasonable) and booked an evening meal at the riad that night (very good value), both proved to be very wise choices indeed.

Marrakech is a city of big sounds and smells and sights to behold and we effortlessly glided our way through it all, taking it all in while being transferred to the riad. Please note that the taxi can only take you so far and you will need to walk a short distance through the souks to get to the riad.

The riad is really lovely and modern, with wifi, an oasis of calm amongst the souk. We were welcomed by Abdul who made us a delicious cup of tea with some pastries and talked us through a map of the surrounding area. We were shown to our lovely rooms and we negotiated about 40minutes to freshen up before our meal. The meal was delicious and we were able to try some local morrocan wine too. The service was awesome and as my dear friend stated, it was one of the most delicious meals we had in Marrakech. We had two meals there in total both delicious, both different. We also visited the Fondouk which they recommend, not far from the riad, which was also nice. Breakfast was included in the price and was a nutritious yummy mixture of breads, croissants, pancakes, jams, yogurts, fruit, juice, tea or coffee, very filling and beautifully presented.

The owners Jean-Michele and Fred were incredibly warm and friendly. No request seemed too hard for them. They purchased bus tickets for our onward journey to Essuaoira, they hired a very good guide for us for our day tour of Marrakech (Syed) and made our stay very comfortable. I only wished we had stated longer than the 3 nights. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We just stayed at Riad Safa for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience there. We arrived in the evening and took the airport transfer back to the riad (recommended especially at nighttime as the taxi drop off point Place du Moukef is quite disorientating if you haven't been to Marrakech before). A Moroccan dinner was prepared and waiting for us when we arrived at the riad as we had ordered it in advance of our arrival and it was delicious. The owners, Jean-Michel and Frédéric were fantastic hosts (along with Kermit the cat) and upgraded our room to a nicer location in the riad because there was availability. The hand drawn map of the surrounding area including the souks and fastest route to the main square was incredibly helpful, as was the advice on how much dirham we should expect to pay when taking a taxi from Place du Moukef to the ville nouveau (20-30) to visit places like Jardin Marjorelle and get to the bus station for excursions (50). All in all it was a great choice for accommodation on our first trip to Marrakech. We highly recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have good sunlight from the rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Riad Safa was a wonderful place to stay in Marrakech. It was the first time we had all visited and they looked after us really well - from airport transfers to recommending wonderful restaurants (Fondouk - beautiful roof top setting and great food) and a great day trip into the mountains - all bookings made on our behalf - nothing was too much trouble. The Riad was comfortable and we were offered the largest room at no extra cost as it was empty during our stay. The only disadvantage was paying in cash at the end of the stay, as two cashpoints we visited were empty - but we found some money eventually! Thank you so much Jean-Michel and Frederic!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at Riad Safa in mid March and had a lovely stay. We also recommend arranging for the taxi (extra) and we highly recommend the dinner (extra). The breakfasts included with the stay were more than we could eat and a great way to start the day. The inner courtyard is cool and welcoming (as is the friendly cat) and the rooftop patio was a pleasant spot for breakfast and for relaxing after a long day exploring the city. Our room (Limpari) was comfortable and the whole space felt quiet and homey, in part because of the simple, tasteful decorations and in part due to the unfailingly friendly and helpful owners and staff. They went above and beyond in terms of answering questions, making dinner reservations, offering advice on navigating Marrakech, and were generally nice and professional. We stayed for several nights, took a trip to the mountains and then returned for a final night at Riad Safa and found ourselves looking forward to returning. We highly recommend Riad Safa.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the Limpari room on the second floor. There was nice sitting room around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at Riad Safa at the beginning of April for the start of our Moroccan honeymoon and really enjoyed it! We asked for the airport transfer - definitely a good idea! Frederick met us from the taxi and after a quick walk to the Riad we had a cup of mint tea and talked to Frederick about Marrakech. He gave a very useful hand drawn map and lots of info about being out and about in the city. (top tip - put your sunglasses on and keep your ears closed!)
Luckily we were able to go and unpack in our room even though we arrived in the morning. We also asked to have dinner at the Riad on our first night (extra) which was delicious!
Continental / Moroccan breakfast was just what you need to set up for the day.
Everyone was very friendly and helpful during our stay and Frederick also booked coach tickets for us to Agadir and arranged a taxi to take us to the coach station. What a host!
Loved Kermit the cat and he came to see us every morning :-)
Thank you and hope to return soon, Inshallah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Safa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safa

Address: 64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Riad Safa, a true haven of peace in the exciting Medina of Marrakesh.Riad Safa is located in one of the last authentic parts of the old city (medina), with some of the major cultural institutions just around the corner, and ten minutes by foot from the famous Jemaa el Fna square.Safa means serenity or pureness in Arabic, and it is our aim to provide you with a feeling of pure wellness during the longer or shorter time you stay with us. The atmosphere therefore, is very quiet. Even at the moments that the Imam of the neighbouring Mosque spreads his prayers over us; then you feel the mistery of the East and the presence of the languorous city.We speak English, French and Dutch and we love to help with everything you would want to be assisted with; whether it is a transfer from or to the airport, the booking of an excursion, or to have you accompanied safely home through the myriad of narrow alleys by our helpfull staff, after a 1001-night dinner in the medina.We want you to feel comfortable, and at home with us.Affordable luxury, that is what we want to offer you.Marrakesh is a bustling and buzzy city, so it is nice to know that after a tiring day of shopping in the souks (covered markets) or a visit to one of the palaces, you can immerse yourself in the lovely quiet of our Riad, and relax in one of the intimate "salons" or, during spring and summer, cool down at the small rooftop pool with a dewy glass.At night we offer a delicious "table d'hotes" in a romantic setting on the roofterrace, or indoors, just as you prefer.In-house hammam & wellness • we have a small hammam on the rooftopterrace, which you can book• on demand we can arrange for scrubs, massage, facials, pedicure and manicure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Safa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Safa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Safa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.