We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Safa

Save Saved
You added Riad Safa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Safa
64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We just stayed at Riad Safa for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience there. We arrived in the evening and took the airport transfer back to the riad (recommended especially at nighttime as the taxi drop off point Place du Moukef is quite disorientating if you haven't been to Marrakech before). A Moroccan dinner was prepared and waiting for us when we arrived at the riad as we had ordered it in advance of our arrival and it was delicious. The owners, Jean-Michel and Frédéric were fantastic hosts (along with Kermit the cat) and upgraded our room to a nicer location in the riad because there was availability. The hand drawn map of the surrounding area including the souks and fastest route to the main square was incredibly helpful, as was the advice on how much dirham we should expect to pay when taking a taxi from Place du Moukef to the ville nouveau (20-30) to visit places like Jardin Marjorelle and get to the bus station for excursions (50). All in all it was a great choice for accommodation on our first trip to Marrakech. We highly recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have good sunlight from the rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    582
    32
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
395
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hindhead, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Riad Safa was a wonderful place to stay in Marrakech. It was the first time we had all visited and they looked after us really well - from airport transfers to recommending wonderful restaurants (Fondouk - beautiful roof top setting and great food) and a great day trip into the mountains - all bookings made on our behalf - nothing was too much trouble. The Riad was comfortable and we were offered the largest room at no extra cost as it was empty during our stay. The only disadvantage was paying in cash at the end of the stay, as two cashpoints we visited were empty - but we found some money eventually! Thank you so much Jean-Michel and Frederic!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at Riad Safa in mid March and had a lovely stay. We also recommend arranging for the taxi (extra) and we highly recommend the dinner (extra). The breakfasts included with the stay were more than we could eat and a great way to start the day. The inner courtyard is cool and welcoming (as is the friendly cat) and the rooftop patio was a pleasant spot for breakfast and for relaxing after a long day exploring the city. Our room (Limpari) was comfortable and the whole space felt quiet and homey, in part because of the simple, tasteful decorations and in part due to the unfailingly friendly and helpful owners and staff. They went above and beyond in terms of answering questions, making dinner reservations, offering advice on navigating Marrakech, and were generally nice and professional. We stayed for several nights, took a trip to the mountains and then returned for a final night at Riad Safa and found ourselves looking forward to returning. We highly recommend Riad Safa.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the Limpari room on the second floor. There was nice sitting room around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at Riad Safa at the beginning of April for the start of our Moroccan honeymoon and really enjoyed it! We asked for the airport transfer - definitely a good idea! Frederick met us from the taxi and after a quick walk to the Riad we had a cup of mint tea and talked to Frederick about Marrakech. He gave a very useful hand drawn map and lots of info about being out and about in the city. (top tip - put your sunglasses on and keep your ears closed!)
Luckily we were able to go and unpack in our room even though we arrived in the morning. We also asked to have dinner at the Riad on our first night (extra) which was delicious!
Continental / Moroccan breakfast was just what you need to set up for the day.
Everyone was very friendly and helpful during our stay and Frederick also booked coach tickets for us to Agadir and arranged a taxi to take us to the coach station. What a host!
Loved Kermit the cat and he came to see us every morning :-)
Thank you and hope to return soon, Inshallah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for beginning and end of our trip around Morocco, and to be honest there really isn't much to add to everyone else's glowing reviews. From being picked up from the airport and then met by Abdul to show us to the Riad (which is a must as otherwise you'll definiately get lost), to upgrading our room on both occasions (even though all the rooms are beautiful), everything was amazing. We loved the breakfast on the terrace at whatever time you liked, and with the map that was thoroughly explained to us on arrival we were able to orientate ourselves fairly well from day one - we only got lost once! It took 10 minutes to walk to the Djeema el-Fna so the location was perfect. Once in the riad it was calm and peaceful and you can enjoy the sun on the terrace with the pool, there are sun loungers and even hats! Amazing place and would recommend it to anyone. (We have given 4/5 for sleep quality because the call to prayer from the mosque next door did wake us up quite early sometimes, but to be honest it just reminded us we where in this fantastic country every morning!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed here four nights in April 2013 and was delighted all-round. Jean-Michel and Frederic are exceptionally kind and helpful. They arranged a taxi from the airport (extra) and met me just around the corner from the riad. Upon arrival, I was served tea and shown a hand-drawn map of the area and given advice about how to get to Djemma el-Fna. (Note: the advice was great - I just couldn't follow it late at night and had to ask three separate people to help me get my way back. It's not easy the first time!)

My single room was really a double and had sufficient space. I had my own little terrace but didn't get to use it much as it rained two of the four days I was there - very unusual, I'm assured.

Breakfast up on the roof or in the living room was varied each day, with changing types of pancakes, natural yoghurts, bread/patisseries on offer, as well as different fresh fruit each day and freshly-squeezed OJ. Great stuff.

Although I didn't need help with this, I overheard J-M and F offering to buy other guests' bus tickets, car rental etc, which was very kind of them. I perhaps got the impression that they were trying to make commission on this, but that could be my mistake. On departure, I was told how/where to get a taxi and roughly how much I should offer - I was turned down by three cab drivers because of what I offered and ended up paying 5 times more than I'd been advised it would be, but it was still pretty reasonable compared to the UK!

All in all, a superb place to stay, where you'll be exceptionally well looked after.

Room Tip: They all looked great, but there is one room (begins with a 'c', I think) that has its own t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

dear Jean Michel, and Fredric
You have a beautiful Riad tranquil and serene.
such an oasis of calm in the middle of the hot and vibrant medina in old Marrakesh.
you made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
The food was excellent and Abdul (forgive me if I have misspelt the name) looked after us very well.
We had warmth and humour shared please let us come to stay again!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Safa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safa

Also Known As:
Riad Safa Hotel Marrakech
Riad Safa Hotel
Address: 64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheltered from the commotion of the city and far from mass tourism, just relax in one of our living-rooms, make a siesta in your cozy bed-room specifically decorated on a theme that invites you to travel or to make a daydream, dive into oriental delights enjoying our hammam and why not a massage by a professional who will take very good care of you, and last but not least, taste a delicious Moroccan meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Safa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Safa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.