We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Safa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Safa to your Saves list
Riad Safa
64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was on my own for the first couple of days here before my friend joined me,
Fredrick, Sied, Aisha... the whole team made me feel so safe and welcome!!
the Riad itself is really beautiful and quirky! Its really peaceful and just 5 minutes walk from all the hussle & crazy market place! ...perfect location!
I would 100% recommend it!
I hope to visit again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    34
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
403
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Riad Safa offers peace and tranquility away from the madness of the medina. The staff are friendly and welcoming, it felt like home from home. Beautifully decorated with tastefully furnished. Fantastic food (and wine), we would certainly recomend this Riad to anyone and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arran
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

What a wonderful sanctuary away from the madness of Marrakech ... So many raids to choose from but there's no need to look any further.
This is not a place to go if you are looking for a standardised corporate soulless hotel room. This raids full of character and charm with lovely staff and owners. We stayed for the first 2 and the last day of our trip, it was great to get 'home' to the Riad after running the gauntlet of the mountain passes!

Thank you so much for lovely meals and the rose wine...much appreciated.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Marrakesh is the kind of city that can overwhelm the senses and choosing the right place to stay is a vital element to enjoying the exprience. Riad Safa has thought about this and they carefully ensure that their guests arrival, stay and departure is as smooth and hasle free as possible. They are just the right distance from the main square to offer tranquility but close enough to enjoy the hussle and bussle of the souks. The riad is located in the Nothern medina which has a vibrant and cultural mix of museums and galleries. The staff create a homely, welcoming atmosphere and owners offer excellent value and advice on the local area. "The home is your home" was a mantra repeated by the Manager, Saed, and he was certainly right! We stayed for 3 nights and would recommend it as an alternative to a hotel if you want a real taste of Marrakesh. I suggest reading the Rough Guide to Marrakesh before arrival where you will find a listing for Riad Safa.

Thank you to: Jean-Michel, Frederic and Saed who are the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Many thanks to Frederic and Jean Michel, the most kind and friendly owners of the Riad Safa for warm welcome, excellent service and attention provided to me! I had a great one week stay there and I recommend everyone to have this wonderful experience if you are thinking about going to Marrakech. Riad Safa is a peaceful and charming small palace in the center of the stressful medina where you awake up with the sound of the birds, followed by a complete and varied breakfast and you go asleep on the couch close to the cute cat called Kermit. I also had the chance to enjoy the nice home made genuine maroccan dinners I ever had. At Riad Safa all the kind staff make you feel really at home. I would like to thank once again to Said, who works at the evening. Said is a very well educated, polyglot and professional young man, who helps much in the excellence of this Riad. I highly recomment to everyone Riad Safa! Regards Fernando

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is one of the friendliest and loveliest places i have ever stayed at. The whole Riad had personality and the staff went out of their way to make sure that you had a good time. Jean-Michel and Frederic, the owners, are two of the nicest frenchmen i have met, they have charm and a wonderful wit about them and they have genuine interest in making sure that your stay is all it can be. Someone has described Saeed, the man who usally works at the evening as an asset for the hotell and i completely agree. He is well educated and mannered, completely commited to giving the best service he can and if youre interested in having a chat he genuinely asks questions about your day, your views on marroccan life and proves to be great company if you decide to eat in the riad (wich you abseloutely should, the food was the best i had during the week i was there.) The layout of the riad is great, your private room is clean and spaceous, charmingly designed with air conditioning and wifi and there are about five or six other furnished rooms in the riad wich is shared filled with books, decorations and of course the terrace wich is just in itself worth more than the small amount you pay for this place. If youre thinking about going to marrakech but havent decided where to stay yet, this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Can't thank the staff at Riad Safa enough for such a great stay... everyone was just so great and special mentions go to Saed, Jean-Michel & Frederic. Even though I was quite unwell from something I'd eaten whilst away from the Riad (we did a 4 day tour with another company to the sahara and mountains) we still had a great stay and Saed even went to the chemist and bought some 'Smecta' for me which really saved the day!

Nothing is too much trouble for these guys and they go that extra mile (and then some!) to make sure you have a wonderful stay. My wife and I felt completely at home in the Riad (which is stunning!) and often stopped and had great chats with Saed, Jean-Michel or Frederic... very enjoyable talking to them and you can tell they all have a great passion for what they do, and ensuring people have a fantastic stay.

Special thanks to Saed though who really is an asset to the Riad!

There's also Peggy the dog who is sometimes there and very cute and friendly, and Kermit the cat who erm well lets just say likes to try and bite! 90% of the time he is very friendly but he'll let you know if he's not in the mood for being stroked lol!

We got the airport transfer and it's a bit odd as the guy doesn't speak any english and when you get to near the Riad he stops, gets out of the car, signals for you to stay inside and then pulls out his phone and rings someone... all a bit weird and we didn't know what was going on... it was fine though as he was juts ringing the Riad to get someone to come and meet us. The streets leading to the Riad are too narrow for cars so the taxi has to stop a few minutes away and this was what was going on. Be prepared for stepping out of the taxi though as nothing hits you like the noise, smells and atmosphere of Marrakech!

Inside the Riad is like an Oasis of calm and it's truly wonderful place to relax and chill out. We had the Tobago room which was lovely and very comfortable.

Thanks to everyone at Riad Safa and I would recommend this place to EVERYONE!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Safa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safa

Address: 64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Riad Safa, a true haven of peace in the exciting Medina of Marrakesh.Riad Safa is located in one of the last authentic parts of the old city (medina), with some of the major cultural institutions just around the corner, and ten minutes by foot from the famous Jemaa el Fna square.Safa means serenity or pureness in Arabic, and it is our aim to provide you with a feeling of pure wellness during the longer or shorter time you stay with us. The atmosphere therefore, is very quiet. Even at the moments that the Imam of the neighbouring Mosque spreads his prayers over us; then you feel the mistery of the East and the presence of the languorous city.We speak English, French and Dutch and we love to help with everything you would want to be assisted with; whether it is a transfer from or to the airport, the booking of an excursion, or to have you accompanied safely home through the myriad of narrow alleys by our helpfull staff, after a 1001-night dinner in the medina.We want you to feel comfortable, and at home with us.Affordable luxury, that is what we want to offer you.Marrakesh is a bustling and buzzy city, so it is nice to know that after a tiring day of shopping in the souks (covered markets) or a visit to one of the palaces, you can immerse yourself in the lovely quiet of our Riad, and relax in one of the intimate "salons" or, during spring and summer, cool down at the small rooftop pool with a dewy glass.At night we offer a delicious "table d'hotes" in a romantic setting on the roofterrace, or indoors, just as you prefer.In-house hammam & wellness • we have a small hammam on the rooftopterrace, which you can book• on demand we can arrange for scrubs, massage, facials, pedicure and manicure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Safa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Safa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Safa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.