We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad, amazing staff, amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Safa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Safa to your Saves list
Riad Safa
64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Riad, amazing staff, amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Can't thank the staff at Riad Safa enough for such a great stay... everyone was just so great and special mentions go to Saed, Jean-Michel & Frederic. Even though I was quite unwell from something I'd eaten whilst away from the Riad (we did a 4 day tour with another company to the sahara and mountains) we still had a great stay and Saed even went to the chemist and bought some 'Smecta' for me which really saved the day!

Nothing is too much trouble for these guys and they go that extra mile (and then some!) to make sure you have a wonderful stay. My wife and I felt completely at home in the Riad (which is stunning!) and often stopped and had great chats with Saed, Jean-Michel or Frederic... very enjoyable talking to them and you can tell they all have a great passion for what they do, and ensuring people have a fantastic stay.

Special thanks to Saed though who really is an asset to the Riad!

There's also Peggy the dog who is sometimes there and very cute and friendly, and Kermit the cat who erm well lets just say likes to try and bite! 90% of the time he is very friendly but he'll let you know if he's not in the mood for being stroked lol!

We got the airport transfer and it's a bit odd as the guy doesn't speak any english and when you get to near the Riad he stops, gets out of the car, signals for you to stay inside and then pulls out his phone and rings someone... all a bit weird and we didn't know what was going on... it was fine though as he was juts ringing the Riad to get someone to come and meet us. The streets leading to the Riad are too narrow for cars so the taxi has to stop a few minutes away and this was what was going on. Be prepared for stepping out of the taxi though as nothing hits you like the noise, smells and atmosphere of Marrakech!

Inside the Riad is like an Oasis of calm and it's truly wonderful place to relax and chill out. We had the Tobago room which was lovely and very comfortable.

Thanks to everyone at Riad Safa and I would recommend this place to EVERYONE!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    34
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
405
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Riad Safa. The rooms were very comfortable and our daughter was accommodated in her own room at no extra cost. A warm welcome and excellent service was provided by the owners Jean-Michel and Frederic and their night manager Said. We enjoyed the lovely breakfast served on the roof top terrace and took advantage of the splash pool. We had an evening meal there that was excellent and very generous.
The only negative comment was the distance from the square that in spite of maps provided we had difficulties navigating. Unfortunately the young local males near the Riad were quite aggressive especially toward our 22 year old daughter. This was not a reflection on the Riad but the surrounding locality.
All transport and accomodation requirements were dealt with in a friendly and professional manner and we recommend the Riad as good value for the cost

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

From the moment we were picked up by the helpful smiling driver we felt relaxed and at home. The warm welcome and attention to detail that Jean-Michel and Frederic offered made our stay holiday in Marrakech stress free and enjoyable beyond our expectations. Riad Safa is just North of the centre of the Medina and not further than a 15 minute walk from any sight that we wanted to visit and the maps that Jean-Michel had put together were perfect in helping us find our way round the labyrinthine Medina. From a location perspective the Riad is excellent.

We had dinner in the Riad on the first night which was fantastic, punctuated with personal service from Saeed, the Night Manager who is a warm, friendly soul with a genuine interest people. Attentive and helpful, we welcomed speaking to Saeed on an evening.

The Riad itself is an illustration of the same care that the hosts, Jean-Michel and Frederic take of their guests. Bright and clean with an intimate feeling given by the limited number of rooms, the Riad has plenty of space to either enjoy by yourself or in the company of the other guests. We chose to have dinner in the courtyard on the first evening followed by breakfast on the roof which was amazing. The breakfast was different every day, prepared with passion and served with care.

Riad Safa was a recommendation from a friend and while I don't very often leave reviews on tripadvisor I wanted to share this gem with anyone looking to stay in Marrakech.

Riad Safa is definitely amongst the best properties I've ever stayed in thanks to the oasis and intimate surroundings that the owners have created and the genuine friendliness that they and their staff showed. In my experience it isn't often that such a wonderful property comes with such wonderful hosts and we're looking forward to returning already.

Don't book anywhere else - you won't find such a property with such friendliness for anywhere close to this price!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Zanzibar room which had the benefit of being on the first floor but I saw all the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a wonderful time in Marrakech at Riad Safa. Just returned from 11 days in Morocco spent in Marrakech, Essaouira and a 2 day trip to the mountains.
Having never been to Morocco it can be a little daunting when you read some of the experiences on the forums but Jean-Michel & Frederic made things easy from the start.
I initially emailed them to book and they were always helpful in replying with information to my numerous questions - before we arrived.
Being met at the airport on arrival was easy and Jean-Michel met us when the driver dropped us in Place du Moukef for the short walk to the riad.
We were considering a guide as were a little nervous of getting lost and hassled but on arrival J-M had prepared 2 very detailed maps - one hand drawn - showing us exactly how to navigate our way to the square and various other places of interest from the riad. With this in hand there is really no need for a guide as you soon get confident and explore everywhere. I found the location excellent. It was only 10 minutes at most to stroll to the main square and was well lit and felt safe at night.
The Riad itself is bright and clean and personally and tastefully decorated with lots of places to sit and relax. The roof terrace is lovely with shady areas and loungers with straw hats and towels. The plunge pool great on a hot day.
We had booked Tobago room and this was fine for us but we were upgraded for most of the time we were there to Sumatra. We didn't spend much time in our room anyway as was great to relax with a book or drink in other parts of the riad. The beds were comfortable, plenty of space to put your stuff, good lighting, ac if you need it and the showers good - what more do you want?
There were a few other people staying most of the time and there was a very friendly atmosphere with the staff and other guests.
J-M and F are so helpful and interesting and always willing to sit and chat.
In the evening Said takes over. He speaks about 5 languages fluently already and planning on more! He is so charming and helpful and amazing to watch him effortlessly converse with us and the German, French and Spanish guests. He plays cool Morrocan music.
Said helped us with our luggage and to find a taxi when we went to get the Supratours bus to Essaouira and also on leaving early to take us to our driver to the airport.
Incidentally Frederic arranged to buy our Supratours tickets for us at no charge so that we didn't have to go there before hand to get them. It was worth doing as the bus was busy.
We were able to safely leave some of our stuff behind when we went on a 2 day trip to the mountains and when we went off to Essaouira for 5 days.
We ate dinner at the riad on our first and last night and both were 3 course meals and among the best we had on holiday.
Breakfast on the terrace was lovely - freshly squeezed orange juice and something different on the cake/pastry side each day along with jams, bread and pancakes.
The riad is right next to a mosque and the call to prayer is pretty loud but we quite enjoyed it and you will hear it everywhere as there are mosques dotted all over the city. It's part of the Marrakech experience. My partner actually slept through it on the last morning.....
We loved the riad pets. Kermit the cat is always padding about making friends with the guests and Peggy the lovely dog comes and goes with Jean-Michel.
What more can I say? If we come back to Marrakech then we will definitely stay here again.
Thank you again everyone at Riad Safa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the airport to be met by a driver and taken to Riad Safa we felt very comfortable . On walking through the door of the Riad , we just felt like we were staying with friends in their home and just loved the informality with the owners Jean Michel and frederick .
They speak excellant English ( again very comforting ) and even share the English sense of humour !,. They gave us masses of advice and I never felt I was intruding when sitting down with them To ask more questions and more recommendations . We had a dinner in the Riad on the night of arrival which was probably the best meal we had in Marrakech .the night porter is charming and also speaks English . A must do is the Atlas mountains day trip , which was arranged for us by Jean Michel . The breakfast was more than adequate and the rooms are good considering what were paying , great value for money . It is not often we go back to the same place twice but on this occasion we would . Top marks to Riad Safa .

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was nice as we could have breakfast just out side our room every mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've just returned from our sixth stay at Riad Safa, which I think says it all. Why do we keep going back? Because it is unfailingly clean and comfortable, and the staff so friendly, courteous and helpful. And it is excellent value: with cheap flights we can have a week of virtually guaranteed blazing sunshine for far less than a package somewhere else. It is perfect for us because we can spend the mornings relaxing on the roof terrace, before going for a wander around the souks or Gueliz, the new town, in the afternoons. Jean-Michel and Frederic are the perfect hosts, booking taxis and restaurant tables on our behalf, even picking us up and dropping us off at the airport. And Peggy, their spaniel, is the most adorable dog ever. We will keep returning to Riad Safa so long as J-M and F are there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My parnter and I stayed at the Riad Safa this July for 4 nights, as we were celebrating our 3rd anniversary and what a wonderful place this is! The place is just spectacular! When we met the hosts Jean-Michel and Frederic they made us feel so welcome. Since it was our first time visiting they advised us on what places to visit. The entire staff was wonderful! They all made us feel very welcome. I have visited other locations and this is on the top of my list! Thank you again to Jean-Michel and Frederic and their entire staff for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Safa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safa

Address: 64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Riad Safa, a true haven of peace in the exciting Medina of Marrakesh.Riad Safa is located in one of the last authentic parts of the old city (medina), with some of the major cultural institutions just around the corner, and ten minutes by foot from the famous Jemaa el Fna square.Safa means serenity or pureness in Arabic, and it is our aim to provide you with a feeling of pure wellness during the longer or shorter time you stay with us. The atmosphere therefore, is very quiet. Even at the moments that the Imam of the neighbouring Mosque spreads his prayers over us; then you feel the mistery of the East and the presence of the languorous city.We speak English, French and Dutch and we love to help with everything you would want to be assisted with; whether it is a transfer from or to the airport, the booking of an excursion, or to have you accompanied safely home through the myriad of narrow alleys by our helpfull staff, after a 1001-night dinner in the medina.We want you to feel comfortable, and at home with us.Affordable luxury, that is what we want to offer you.Marrakesh is a bustling and buzzy city, so it is nice to know that after a tiring day of shopping in the souks (covered markets) or a visit to one of the palaces, you can immerse yourself in the lovely quiet of our Riad, and relax in one of the intimate "salons" or, during spring and summer, cool down at the small rooftop pool with a dewy glass.At night we offer a delicious "table d'hotes" in a romantic setting on the roofterrace, or indoors, just as you prefer.In-house hammam & wellness • we have a small hammam on the rooftopterrace, which you can book• on demand we can arrange for scrubs, massage, facials, pedicure and manicure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Safa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Safa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Safa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.