We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, relaxing riad with the best hosts imaginable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Safa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Safa to your Saves list
Riad Safa
64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect, relaxing riad with the best hosts imaginable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from Morocco, and while we were in Marrakech we stayed at Riad Safa. I cannot recommend this place enough!! It was great from start to finish. When I was trying to pay the deposit for the room my card wouldn't work for some reason, and Frédéric offered to reserve it without any deposit. I thought it was so nice that he trusted us enough to do that. He also emailed a hand-drawn map for our driver and when we got to Marrakech, Said came and met us right where our driver dropped us off. When we got to the riad we found that even though we'd booked the smaller Catalina room, they'd upgraded us to the Zanzibar room at no extra charge. I found Marrakech to be a very busy, high-energy place, and coming back to the hotel was incredibly relaxing, such an enjoyable way to wind down. It was really hot at the time so we would come back to the riad mid-day and take a dip in the plunge pool- it was perfect! One thing to note is that the riad isn't right by the square, it's about 10 mins away- we knew this when we booked, and actually preferred to stay further away because we thought we'd experience more of a neighborhood. I'm very glad we did, and I really liked the location. Frédéric and Said were so amazingly friendly and helpful the entire time- we stayed in 7 different accommodations during our trip and Riad Safa was by far my favorite!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    34
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
405
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

With it being my first time in Marrakech and my first experience of riads, it was a pleasure to discover such a lovely place to stay amongst the hussle and bussle of Marakech. Based in the heart of the Medina, Riad Safa offers a beautiful sanctuary close to the main square, with a lovely roof terrace with its own pool. The owners Frédéric and Jean-Michel were the most helpful and welcoming hosts you could wish to find, giving us sound advice on how to make the most of our time in Marrakech. I'd highly recommend staying at this Riad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Riad Safa. If you are looking for the riad experience, a good location, competitive price and fantastic service, then you need look no further.

Marrakech is a frantic city. You need accommodation that is close to the action to enjoy it, but which feels away from it when you close the front door. Riad Safa ticks those boxes.

The French owner are extremely helpful, drawing out a local maps and recommending restaurants. Their manager, Saeed, however really goes the extra mile to ensure you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

We stayed in the Lipari room, which was comfortable and had a good en suite. The roof terrace and plunge pool however are the real selling points. Ideal to chill out after the chaos of the souks and main square!

There is a lot of choice for accommodation in Marrakech but we were really pleased with the decision we made.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights early April. We had booked the car pick up as we had read about the chaos of the medina. Unfortunately our flight was almost 3 hours late so I assumed we would need to call the riad once we landed. Imagine our surprise when we finally emerged to find a very patient driver waiting for us! He had been there the whole time, now thats service!

On the way to the riad we picked up Frederic who gave us a crash course in 'medinaesque'. Once we alighted he grabbed our bags and set off at an alarming pace (for me with very short legs) but after having been in the medina for a couple of days we understood why. Its hard to hit a moving target! Those people wanting your money are hard to shake off. (and there are many!) He drew us a mud map of the area, foolproof for getting back to the riad from the medina, except for us sufficiently talented fools!
The room was lovely and authentic, and Said the night manager is a sweet, considerate man, a real asset to the riad who gave us lots of helpful tips for surviving the chaos that is the medina.

When it was time to leave Frederic not only walked us out but negotiated a taxi fare for us as well.
I would stay here again in a flash

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

This was the second stay for my partner and I, this time joined by my brother and sister-in-law. An outstanding riad, wonderful staff and owners, super authentic - the perfect base for exploring Marrakech and it's surrounds. Particular mention must be made of the night attendant, Said, who is an absolute asset to the business and who made our experience of Marrakech significantly more authentic, welcoming and enjoyable than would otherwise have occured. Thanks to all the staff for another excellent adventure to Marrakech - we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent a total of 3 nights at the Raid Safa at the start and end of our Moroccan trip.
It is well located in the medina for the souks and the main square. The houses, it is really two that have been joined together, were beautiful restored and decorated traditional houses. We stayed in two different rooms, and both were well decorated and comfortable.
Jean-Michel, Frederic, Siad and the rest of the staff could not have been more helpful.
The food was excellent, good breakfast and a wonderful dinner – as good as anywhere else we ate in Morocco.
There is a lovely terrace which is ideal for breakfast, relaxing and enjoying a drink after a day’s sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Had a great time at Riad Safa in early 2011. Owners were very helpful, gave advice on how much to pay for transport in the area etc., even drew maps for us to all the major attractions when we arrived. Riad is very centrally located, nice and clean, lovely balcony and good breakfast.

No complaints, if I were going to Marrakech again I would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Safa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safa

Address: 64 derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Riad Safa, a true haven of peace in the exciting Medina of Marrakesh.Riad Safa is located in one of the last authentic parts of the old city (medina), with some of the major cultural institutions just around the corner, and ten minutes by foot from the famous Jemaa el Fna square.Safa means serenity or pureness in Arabic, and it is our aim to provide you with a feeling of pure wellness during the longer or shorter time you stay with us. The atmosphere therefore, is very quiet. Even at the moments that the Imam of the neighbouring Mosque spreads his prayers over us; then you feel the mistery of the East and the presence of the languorous city.We speak English, French and Dutch and we love to help with everything you would want to be assisted with; whether it is a transfer from or to the airport, the booking of an excursion, or to have you accompanied safely home through the myriad of narrow alleys by our helpfull staff, after a 1001-night dinner in the medina.We want you to feel comfortable, and at home with us.Affordable luxury, that is what we want to offer you.Marrakesh is a bustling and buzzy city, so it is nice to know that after a tiring day of shopping in the souks (covered markets) or a visit to one of the palaces, you can immerse yourself in the lovely quiet of our Riad, and relax in one of the intimate "salons" or, during spring and summer, cool down at the small rooftop pool with a dewy glass.At night we offer a delicious "table d'hotes" in a romantic setting on the roofterrace, or indoors, just as you prefer.In-house hammam & wellness • we have a small hammam on the rooftopterrace, which you can book• on demand we can arrange for scrubs, massage, facials, pedicure and manicure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Safa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Safa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Safa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.