We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE place to stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is THE place to stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

My sister and I chose Riad al Massarah based on the great reviews it received on TripAdvisor. We were certainly not disappointed. In fact, our experience was even better than we could have imagined.

There are so many good things to say about this gorgeous, boutique Riad. Firstly the people are fabulous. Michael and Michel, the owners, go out of their way to ensure that you have a truly wonderful experience in Marrakech. From the minute that you book your stay, Michael and Michel are on hand to arrange your airport transfers, restaurant bookings and suggestions as well as a very useful fact sheet regarding local customers and the money situation. Despite the very late hour, we were met by a taxi to take us as far into the Medina as possible and then taken from there by the Riad staff to check in. This consisted of taking all our heavy luggage straight to our room and supplying us with much needed Moroccan Mint Tea and Cakes/Bread/Jam. The next morning Michael then spent much of his time highlighting places to see and ideas for us to consider to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. Michael also acquainted us with local customs in the souks and then walked us to the main point close to the Riad so that we could find our way back. They immediately made us feel at ease and ready to tackle this great city. All of the staff were equally as wonderful and generous and made us feel totally at home.

Alongside the people, the rooms were superb. We stayed in the Jade and Amber rooms and they were both fabulous - beautifully appointed, very comfortable, with great bathrooms (wet rooms with great showers). Michel has created a beautiful Moroccan environment, with each room individually furnished and finished to the last detail. You feel totally part of the culture but it is still relaxed and not over the top. The rooms and bathrooms would rival any boutique hotel. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean by the wonderful staff and they pop in to turn down your beds in the evening. With a roof terrace and a fabulous courtyard with a pool, you can completely relax here. It is like an oasis away from the bustling city and exceptionally quiet, punctuated by relaxing classical and jazz music in the afternoon and evenings. The team always check in to see if you need a refreshing drink or something to eat.

Finally the food is exceptional. The breakfasts in the morning are an absolute must - fresh orange juice, fruit salad in rose water, selection of breads and conserves, tea/coffee, and each day the chef produces something a little different for you to try as well. The chef that produces all of this wonderful food, Abdul, is not only delightful but incredibly talented. Although there is no restaurant in the Riad per se, Abdul is available to cook you lunch or dinner upon request. He is very happy to take direction as to what you would like to try but we asked him to choose and we ate simply magnificent food on a number of occasions. We would definitely recommend that you request one lunch or dinner in the Riad so you can enjoy.

We have been lucky enough to experience many nice hotels around the world but Riad al Massarah is one of the best places we have ever stayed. A truly gorgeous Riad, with wonderful staff and a home from home in the midst of a fabulously busy city. If you are reading this and considering where to stay in Marrakech, look no further. This is THE best place to say without a doubt. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
202
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We were thisclose to finalizing our reservation at another riad ... thank God it didn't work out because honestly, we could not imagine staying anywhere else. Picture this - a beautifully restored home where the owners instinctively know how to cater to each individual guest. A place that's both beautiful and comfortable with a distinct charm. Al Massarah is truly an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

Every day we would walk back to the riad and have a cold Casablanca and chat with Michael and Michel about our day's adventures. They were always quick to offer a restaurant suggestion or perfect place to have a cocktail (sometimes not so easy to find in Marrakech!). They arranged our train tickets to Fez, our day trip to Essouaira and Michel even took us shopping one morning. (Btw, I think he might be right - he is the best shopper in Marrakech!)

We've been back for over a week and we're still talking about this place and our new friends Michael and Michel. Don't even entertain the idea of staying anywhere else - you won't find a better experience than Al Massarah.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

I cannot rate this place highly enough. The riad itself is beautiful and the rooms are very comfortabke - especially the beds. Breakfast on the terrace is amazing. The location is walking distance of all sights within the riad and taxis are a short walk away.
But what makes this riad amazing are the PEOPLE. Michel could not have been more helpful. He put up with all our non stop questions about local customs, food, restaurants, clubs, etc without batting an eyelash. We were a large group and sometimes we asked the same questions several times. One time I needed to change money and he took me to the place himself. When my friends needed to find a certain store he asked some of the riad staff to accompany them there so they wouln't get lost! Michel we can't thank you and your amazing staff enough.
Do not miss a hammam and massage at the riad, and make sure you try a meal in. You will not regret it.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

This was our first trip to Morocco. Our taxi from the airport (organised by the riad - another great success) dropped us by the mosque where Michel was waiting, seated on a bench with a friend. A boy with a handcart took our luggage and we walked the ten minutes to the riad through a local street market with Michel chatting all the way and pointing out landmarks so we could find our own way 'home' later. The alleyways got narrower and narrower until we stopped outside a low studded door. Payment of the handcart had been sorted; the door was opened by Abdelwaid and we stepped into another world....'' A traditional riad so tastefully furnished iwth local Moroccan furniture; breakfast on the roof terrace every morning and absolutely charming local staff. Our 16 year old daughter commented; 'you can tell you're in a good hotel when you get rose petals stuck to your feet!'. From the mouths of babes. We had dinner in 2 nights with filling local food, a hammam and massage from lovely local ladies and even swam before breakfast in the plunge pool, much to the horror and amusement of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We arrived with high expectations having read glowing reports about Riad al Massarah in magazines and guide books - all were exceeded. The house has been beautifully restored, and is tastefully furnished. With just six bedrooms the riad is small - it is impossible not to get to know the other guests. There is an air of tranquility and calm. The staff are attentive and friendly. Michael and Michel were brilliant hosts. Our room (Jade) was on the roof terrace and separate from the others, if it is available book it!! During our weeklong stay we visited all the obvious (good) restaurants in Marrakech but the evening meal we had in the riad was the best. The hamman and massage was also the best , and people who did the cooking course raved about it. Two trips out were arranged for us by the riad (one to the mountains and one to the coast) and both were excellent. The other guests were always interesting, and the communal breakfasts on the roof terrace became informal social events. We would recommend Riad al Massarah unreservedly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

I really can't recommend this place highly enough! The Riad is a real oasis of calm, tranquility and understated elegant chic in the hubbub of the North Medina. Rooms gorgeous, service impeccable and friendly, and a great sun terrace (where breakfast in served) to boot. And your hosts couldn't be more charming or helpful - only Michel was there when we visited, but he was incredibly helpful, knowledgeable and charming.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

We stayed in this Riad for 10 days, our first experience of Morocco. Michael and Michel were exemplary hosts and their Riad is first-class. It is located off a Derb within the old city: no cars nearby so the walk (met by Michael) from the airport taxi via a local souk and narrow streets to the Riad was novel. Then the total contrast - step through the nondescript door from the old world to the new! Very chic and modern accommodation in a traditional style.

Food was excellent - you can eat cheaper (Macdonalds is only 10mins away!) and on a good night with other diners it can be fun.

We did both the cookery class and the hamman - superb.

M&M provided first-class guidance and have packages on hand for trips to the mountains etc. They also have good contacts at the "far end" so their guests are well looked after. In the Riad itself the service is friendly and expert.

If you want to get away from a typical big-city big-hotel package and experience a different way of seeing a city (but with the advantage of an ex-pat English or French host) this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#135 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Massarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Al Massarah to your Saves list