We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'd be mad to stay anywhere else in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Save
You added Riad Al Massarah to your Saves list
26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
From £55 per night
Ranked #19 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You'd be mad to stay anywhere else in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is my first time writing a review of a hotel. I can never be bothered. I am making the exception for the Riad Al Massarah. My stay here was excellent on every level. If you come to Marrakech and don't stay here I think you have really missed out. It's an oasis of calm in a whirlwind of a city. You come back after hours of bartering to soothing piano music and a comfy chair. I am an art director by trade and this place has been art directed down to the smallest details. It is stylish but comfortable at the same time. It feels homely but has the slick service of a big hotel. I want to write something negative so that readers won't think this has been written by the owners but I can honestly say our stay here was rare perfection. I could go on all day but instead I just want to say - thank you Michel and David for a wonderful few days. We'll be back for sure. Matt & Emma

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carmin room. I would definitely recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
230
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We are old hands in Marrakech, but decided to try somewhere new this trip. We were delighted that we did. Al Massarah is a great place to stay. We like Bab Doukkala, and the riad is not just calm comfortable and very tastefully decorated, but Michael, Michel and David go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and trouble free. They are a mine of information even if you have been before. All the staff go the extra mile, the rooms are spacious, the bedding and beds of high quality and the breakfasts copious. What more is there to say. We will return.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sitting area outside where you can have breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just arrived back from a wonderful stay with hosts Michael & Michel with assistance from their lovely staff.
It really is a place of tranquility amongst a bustling, exciting city. Once the doors are closed peace & calm is restored.
I loved everything about it. The decor - wonderful, location - perfect, staff - friendly, food - our special order for dinner was exactly what we asked for, attention to detail, personal touches ( I got to go on the back of a moped through the souks in search of that little something for back home I couldn't find!) I could go on but suggest you take a look for yourselves, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Me and my partner spent an amazing few nights in this beautiful riad this April. Everything is brilliantly styled and the staff wee amazingly obliging. Michael and Michel were away but David provided us with great tips on how to explore the city. There are no real drawbacks to this beautiful riad though it is a little difficult to find.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Four wonderful unforgettable nights in this strategically located Riad. The structure is beautiful, the rooms are great and full of local flavor. But the service is the real "best in class": a perfect fusion between the European organization and the typical Moroccan hospitality. Breakfast on the balcony right outside your room is priceless. Michael is always ready to give you good in-depth briefing on what to do in Marrakech. The service is impeccable, like in a luxury structure. I strongly recommend to try the "full massage" in the hammam: it's a real memorable experience. I definitely will go back!!! PS: from the moment you book they make you feel "pampered" providing very good pieces of information via mail. BRAVO!

Room Tip: They are all different yet all just great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic time staying in this well located, beautifully designed riad. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Michael, 1 of the owners, provided an excellent indepth briefing on the places to visit and the restaurants to eat at in Marrakech. We were never disappointed by his recommendations. The room was 1 of the nicest we have stayed in before. We also really liked their focus on environmental sustainability.
We'd also recommend dinner in the riad.
After hours of touring around the bustle of Marrakech, Riad al Massarah was an amazing oasis of calm to retreat to in the afternoon heat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jade room, with which we were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymngton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have just spent 3 days here and cannot speak too highly of our stay. Michael and David were unfailingly attentive (we did not meet Michel) and their attention to detail is impressive; the staff also were nothing other than keen to please at all times. This is special place

Room Tip: We stayed in Jade room which is upon the terrace and more spacious than the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#3 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Massarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.