We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best "local chic" Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Save
You added Riad Al Massarah to your Saves list
26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best "local chic" Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Four wonderful unforgettable nights in this strategically located Riad. The structure is beautiful, the rooms are great and full of local flavor. But the service is the real "best in class": a perfect fusion between the European organization and the typical Moroccan hospitality. Breakfast on the balcony right outside your room is priceless. Michael is always ready to give you good in-depth briefing on what to do in Marrakech. The service is impeccable, like in a luxury structure. I strongly recommend to try the "full massage" in the hammam: it's a real memorable experience. I definitely will go back!!! PS: from the moment you book they make you feel "pampered" providing very good pieces of information via mail. BRAVO!

Room Tip: They are all different yet all just great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Osvaldo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic time staying in this well located, beautifully designed riad. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Michael, 1 of the owners, provided an excellent indepth briefing on the places to visit and the restaurants to eat at in Marrakech. We were never disappointed by his recommendations. The room was 1 of the nicest we have stayed in before. We also really liked their focus on environmental sustainability.
We'd also recommend dinner in the riad.
After hours of touring around the bustle of Marrakech, Riad al Massarah was an amazing oasis of calm to retreat to in the afternoon heat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jade room, with which we were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymngton
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have just spent 3 days here and cannot speak too highly of our stay. Michael and David were unfailingly attentive (we did not meet Michel) and their attention to detail is impressive; the staff also were nothing other than keen to please at all times. This is special place

Room Tip: We stayed in Jade room which is upon the terrace and more spacious than the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandavLymngton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackawton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Thank you to Michael and Michel for their information about Marrakech, attention to detail and the beautiful Riad itself. It was our first trip to Morocco and I will definitely be going back! We were 40 (somethings) travelling with our 70 (somethings) mothers and both generations were agreed that the food, accommodation and advice were all excellent. A fantastic haven after the excesses of the souks.
I don't think I could have asked for more from a boutique hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnamarieUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Staff attentiveness and service with a smile that reached into their eyes, owners' personal touches and heart-felt consideration for each guest, posh linens and truly enjoyable fellow-guests...one of the best-ever experiences for us. Suggestions: 1) We booked services at the on-site hamman followed by dinner on-site, a smart move considering how relaxed we were after being exfoliated and massaged. Delicious and quiet. 2) Evenings in the library to warm up near the fire, tea or drinks in the interior courtyard to share the day's stories among guests were soothing ends to each day. 3) Use their service for transit to and from the airport--it is seamless and thoughtful. 4) On-site owners speaking several languages encourage you to ask any and all questions about where to go, what to do. 5) Don't waste time comparing, as this is simply THE right place.

Room Tip: Every room is good...the photos are true representations and help you find the one you want. NONE o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craigandmicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

In my month in Morocco, this was the best hotel I stayed in. Actually, this was the best hotel I have every stayed in. The rooms are lovely and the food is excellent; however, what makes it great is the attention that Michael and Michel give to the guests. The entire staff is devoted to the guests' needs. It is in a part of the medina where the local people shop for food, so the location is away from the tourist area, and it is close to all the attractions. Don't miss this riad.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We spent our first 2 nights in Morocco in Riad Al Massarah and it was an excellent start. The pick up from the airport went very smoothly and Michael and Michel's map and info about Marrakech was so good that we barely needed our guidebook. The riad's location is perfect and it is beautiful with a lovely leafy courtyard and excellent roof terrace (perfect for breakfast in the sun). Our room was lovely - very romantic with some lovely features (fireplace, wall of marble). We also had dinner there on our first night which was excellent - we were the only ones eating there that night so we had our own private little dining room!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank North_Pole_Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#9 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing