We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 nights in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Save Saved
You added Riad Al Massarah to your Saves list
26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“4 nights in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic time staying in this well located, beautifully designed riad. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Michael, 1 of the owners, provided an excellent indepth briefing on the places to visit and the restaurants to eat at in Marrakech. We were never disappointed by his recommendations. The room was 1 of the nicest we have stayed in before. We also really liked their focus on environmental sustainability.
We'd also recommend dinner in the riad.
After hours of touring around the bustle of Marrakech, Riad al Massarah was an amazing oasis of calm to retreat to in the afternoon heat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jade room, with which we were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
206
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymngton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have just spent 3 days here and cannot speak too highly of our stay. Michael and David were unfailingly attentive (we did not meet Michel) and their attention to detail is impressive; the staff also were nothing other than keen to please at all times. This is special place

Room Tip: We stayed in Jade room which is upon the terrace and more spacious than the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackawton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Thank you to Michael and Michel for their information about Marrakech, attention to detail and the beautiful Riad itself. It was our first trip to Morocco and I will definitely be going back! We were 40 (somethings) travelling with our 70 (somethings) mothers and both generations were agreed that the food, accommodation and advice were all excellent. A fantastic haven after the excesses of the souks.
I don't think I could have asked for more from a boutique hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Staff attentiveness and service with a smile that reached into their eyes, owners' personal touches and heart-felt consideration for each guest, posh linens and truly enjoyable fellow-guests...one of the best-ever experiences for us. Suggestions: 1) We booked services at the on-site hamman followed by dinner on-site, a smart move considering how relaxed we were after being exfoliated and massaged. Delicious and quiet. 2) Evenings in the library to warm up near the fire, tea or drinks in the interior courtyard to share the day's stories among guests were soothing ends to each day. 3) Use their service for transit to and from the airport--it is seamless and thoughtful. 4) On-site owners speaking several languages encourage you to ask any and all questions about where to go, what to do. 5) Don't waste time comparing, as this is simply THE right place.

Room Tip: Every room is good...the photos are true representations and help you find the one you want. NONE o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

In my month in Morocco, this was the best hotel I stayed in. Actually, this was the best hotel I have every stayed in. The rooms are lovely and the food is excellent; however, what makes it great is the attention that Michael and Michel give to the guests. The entire staff is devoted to the guests' needs. It is in a part of the medina where the local people shop for food, so the location is away from the tourist area, and it is close to all the attractions. Don't miss this riad.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We spent our first 2 nights in Morocco in Riad Al Massarah and it was an excellent start. The pick up from the airport went very smoothly and Michael and Michel's map and info about Marrakech was so good that we barely needed our guidebook. The riad's location is perfect and it is beautiful with a lovely leafy courtyard and excellent roof terrace (perfect for breakfast in the sun). Our room was lovely - very romantic with some lovely features (fireplace, wall of marble). We also had dinner there on our first night which was excellent - we were the only ones eating there that night so we had our own private little dining room!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

What a wonderful hotel - not only compared to the other hotels we stayed at in Marrakech and Essaouria but also compared to other hotels around the world. Everything, from their own map of Marrakech to the breakfasts on the roof terrace, was done for the comfort and enjoyment of the guests.

The five greatest things about this hotel?
1. The French and English owners were on site. At the other places we stayed the owners were absent, which resulted in a different level of service, language problems and a lack of attention to detail. All of which you will not find at Al Massarah.
2. The Medina (old town) of Marrakech can be a nightmare to navigate. You know the arguments you used to have in cars about map-reading, before sat nav's existed? Expect to have them in Marrekech when you're on foot. But Al Massarah does everything to help - from pointing out landmarks when they've picked you up, to providing their own map with detailed routes from the hotel to the main attractions, recommended restaurants and best shops. Furthermore the riad is just off a main thoroughfare, making it easy to get around. And it's not in the touristy area.
3. The staff were very well trained and obviously enjoyed working there. Nothing was too much bother for them. They played Bach in the mornings, and jazz in the afternoons.
4. The hotel is very well laid and thought out. The rooms were beautifully turned out, there are chairs dotted around on all floors, the roof terrace has great loungers, the fireplace was lit every night... and the breakfast was different every day.
5. Michel, Michael (the owners) or David (their manager) advise you on anything you want to know - where to buy the best tassles, where to eat the most local food, how to get around. They arranged so many things for us - taxi's, bus tickets to Essaouria, making our trip hassle free.

I wish I was still there...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#146 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Massarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.