We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Save
You added Riad Al Massarah to your Saves list
26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Davis, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An amazing place to stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was an incredible experience to stay at this riad. Before the trip, Michael and Michel sent very helpful emails and were able to accommodate our requests. They were able to provide an airport pick up and a guide to lead me through the medina to the riad. The decor was beautiful, and the whole staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They even went out and bought our train tickets so we wouldn't have to! With the extreme heat, winding medinas, and language barrier in Marrakech, this was the perfect place to come back and find some respite. The city was fascinating and exciting, but staying at this riad really made the whole trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "red" room with two single beds and loved the sunlit bathroom. It was pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
215
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Michael and Michel made our stay at riad al massarah an absolute delight. Not only are they consummate hosts, but their knowledge of Marrakech, and willingness to share it, are a huge benefit! From our arrival, when we were greeted with fresh mint tea, to being walked to our taxi on departure, everything was just wonderful.

The riad is small, with only a handful of rooms, which gives it a really intimate feel. The rooms themselves are decorated really tastefully in a traditional style with subtle charming details. The staff are so friendly and the service they provide impeccable . Particular mention should go to the hammam (scrubbing massage) and the breakfast on the roof terrace, which really is pure paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Marrakech is an amazing city but it is wonderful to have a place to escape from the hectic pace...Riad Al Massarah provides that escape! From the very helpful emails that other reviewers mentioned, to the warm and laid back welcome from David, we felt that this Riad was a very special place. It was recommended by friends and we met others there who had also received personal recommendations about the Riad.

The location was excellent, within an easy walk to the main square and close to 'all the action'! The service and food were all excellent, as were the dining recommendations provided by David. The thoughtfulness and service provided by the staff members,(especially the 'during the week' Hassan?) was second to none! The décor was lovely; the laundry service excellent; the bedroom and bathroom were very comfortable and lots of extras just meant a really comfortable stay. We stayed there for 3 nights but writing this has made me want to return!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Subtle but authentic decor, areas set out for relaxing in and out of the sun, small but well designed pool for cooling off (not big enough for swimming), very attentive, polite and discrete staff, first class cuisine at both breakfast and dinner, comfortable pillows and beds, air conditioning and well appointed bathrooms (with great water pressure in the shower) are just a few of the highlights of a location that brings all of the benefits of the basics done really well, plus the addition of a luxury feel whilst making the whole experience very very comfortable, highly recommended as a location for exploring Marrakech

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman oaks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Thank you, Michel, Michael, David and staff of Riad Al Massarah. From the emails during booking and the detailed information sent to us before our arrival, to the lovely conversations and advice given when we arrived, to the delicious dinner and breakfasts prepared for us, all exceeded any of our hopes for our stay in Marrakech! We felt very taken care of by all the staff and owners. The riad itself is beautifully furnished and designed with obvious taste and style. Marrakech was truly a dream come true and staying here added tremendously to our happiness. We loved the location: a non touristy neighborhood where you really can understand how people live and work. But, close enough to all cultural destinations to be able to walk to everything. We only hope to return someday! Elizabeth and Ian

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

David, Michael, Michele and all the staff created a very warm environment. I can't thank them enough for all the information and tips that they provided during our stay. The Riad is really nice and it was wonderfull to have breakfast at the terrace.

My only reservation is about the noise from the other guests. I'd suggest staying at the Jade suite on the terrace.

Room Tip: I'd suggest staying at the Jade suite on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A quiet, welcoming and peaceful Riad, down a small narrow street, a little off a main thoroughfare with markets and local traders. The hospitality here is out of this world, and the staff (David and Michael were there when we were) take every effort to make one's stay and time in Marrakech so enjoyable, from meeting the airport taxi, to leaving.
All the advice given was very helpful and the company they use for excursions is great - we went for a hike in the Atlas Mountains and had lunch out one day. All the places to eat were very good recommendations, but they too can cook super dinners. Breakfasts were also most enjoyable on the roof terrace.

Certainly a place to come back to, and fully recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Jade on the top floor, which did have super views, a lovely large wet room for a bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#121 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Massarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.