We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little haven in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little haven in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I am sitting here by the pool, after an amazing in house hamman session earlier in the morning on our very last day in Marrakech as I write this review. Riad Al Massarah feels like a very special home and haven away from the chaos of the souk and Jemma El Fna. Location was perfect for us as we prefer to be that little bit away from the touristy areas but within walking distance and that's exactly where this Riad is situated. It's perfect for a walk to the Souk, Jemmal El Fna and also New Town.

Michel, Michael and David are the most gracious of hosts, so helpful and welcoming and all of their staff are very friendly and polite. Our group of 4 (2 couples) stayed here when we first arrived in Marrakech and again after our 3 day trek to the desert and Fes, coming back felt like we were returning home. Between us we have stayed in 3 different rooms (Carmin, Azur & Ambre) and all 3 are beautifully decorated, clean and have their own personal style. I would have been happy with any room in this Riad. The overall atmosphere is one of calm, peacefulness and tranquility, something much needed after a day out in Marrakech.

If we have the opportunity to return to Marrakech we would definitely stay here again. Thank you Michel, Michael and David for a wonderful stay, we are totally in love with Riad Al Massarah.

Highly Recommended!

Sareynoh & Shaun

Room Tip: Any room here would be perfect! Definitely recommend the Hamman and treatment here in the Riad, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
194
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Book far in advance if you'd like to stay here; the rooms book up quickly.

As soon as our taxi arrived at the drop-off spot, we were greeted by David, a wonderful guy. He had a luggage porter with him, and the trip to the Riad was effortless. He then offered us mint tea and told to sit down and relax -- which was quite natural with the laid-back atmosphere -- as our luggage was brought to our room. We had a nice chat with him then he gave us a tour of the riad. Great design and details.

Later we had the pleasure of meeting Michel, an owner, who was so kind and gracious. One day he took us and a few other guests shopping and gave us some tips. He also gave us amazing recommendations for restaurants, bought us a delicious cake from a french pastry shop for a birthday, and gave us fascinating history of design in Marrakech (and his inspiration for the riad).

We stayed in two different rooms and both were amazing, clean, and comfortable. The riad is a little removed from the tourist areas, which we preferred. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Michel, David and the attentive team looked after us and our friends in a quietly efficient way. Nothing was too much trouble, advice was available and after a days sight seeing or haggling there was an oasis of calm and serenity.
Would we go back, yes.
We didn't take a day trip to the Atlas Mountains, but I am sure it would have been fantastic. Seems like an excuse to go back?
There is a hammam in the building, but no gym. But it is not that sort of place. If you want a run a partner can be arranged, so you don't get lost

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. One is on a roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It is the personal touches, the design flare of the owners Michael and Michel, and the friendly atmosphere that make the Riad Al Massarah a special place to stay in Marrakech. We stayed for a week in early March in "Jade" which is the one room opening onto the communal roof terrace. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped and included a rainfall shower.The remaining stylish rooms are on the floor below. The shared lounge, courtyard and dining areas on the ground floor encourage guests to chat with each other but if that's not your thing there are plenty of quiet corners to retire to. The location of the Riad within the old city means the "sights" and the souks are within walking distance. There is also a small, unpretentious local market you will pass through every day on your travels - wonderful aromas - spices, orange blossom, mint, cedar wood.

Room Tip: Fresh air fiends choose "Jade" on the roof terrace. Light sleepers choose quieter rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This Riad stands out. Beautifully and lovingly restored with great attention to detail. The hosts, with their underpinning sustainability philosophy, (Green Key) was subtly balanced by offering the best experience.

As you enter the Riad, and experiencing our first mint tea and Moroccan treats, we knew we were in for an exceptional hospitality experience. And it was - providing us with helpful tips, directions and maps to ensure we maximised our short stay.

Each room is beautifully decorated, with its own theme, the beds are comfy and with large ensuite, and the Riad oozes interior flair. There are even sun hats and towels available if you relax on the terrace and green shopping bags to minimise plastic bag usage. We experienced a traditional Moroccan dinner which was great and our breakfasts were a standout. Water is filtered.

We also want to mention our hosts Michael & Michel and David, who responded enthusiastically to our questions and requests. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer than our 3 days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Michael and the friendly staff took great care of us during our stay. This riad is very comfortable, quiet, and charming. It is down a few steps from a main walking thoroughfare and is away from the touristic areas, though not so far that you cannot walk. For us, that was a good thing as the locals were very friendly and warm, the food on the street delicious, and not a single person tried to sell us anything. The meals at the riad were delicious and the staff very accommodating. Next time in Marrakech, this will certainly be our base again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family for six nights. It was the second riad we'd stayed in, and it didn't disappoint! Michael, David and Michel are very helpful and assisted us with whatever queries we had. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the breakfasts are filling (my favourite is the fruit with orange blossom water) and the location is great. T was a satisfying stay, so thank you Michael!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Hotel
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech
Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Massarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Al Massarah to your Saves list