We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spices, orange blossom, mint, cedar wood...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spices, orange blossom, mint, cedar wood...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It is the personal touches, the design flare of the owners Michael and Michel, and the friendly atmosphere that make the Riad Al Massarah a special place to stay in Marrakech. We stayed for a week in early March in "Jade" which is the one room opening onto the communal roof terrace. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped and included a rainfall shower.The remaining stylish rooms are on the floor below. The shared lounge, courtyard and dining areas on the ground floor encourage guests to chat with each other but if that's not your thing there are plenty of quiet corners to retire to. The location of the Riad within the old city means the "sights" and the souks are within walking distance. There is also a small, unpretentious local market you will pass through every day on your travels - wonderful aromas - spices, orange blossom, mint, cedar wood.

Room Tip: Fresh air fiends choose "Jade" on the roof terrace. Light sleepers choose quieter rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
203
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This Riad stands out. Beautifully and lovingly restored with great attention to detail. The hosts, with their underpinning sustainability philosophy, (Green Key) was subtly balanced by offering the best experience.

As you enter the Riad, and experiencing our first mint tea and Moroccan treats, we knew we were in for an exceptional hospitality experience. And it was - providing us with helpful tips, directions and maps to ensure we maximised our short stay.

Each room is beautifully decorated, with its own theme, the beds are comfy and with large ensuite, and the Riad oozes interior flair. There are even sun hats and towels available if you relax on the terrace and green shopping bags to minimise plastic bag usage. We experienced a traditional Moroccan dinner which was great and our breakfasts were a standout. Water is filtered.

We also want to mention our hosts Michael & Michel and David, who responded enthusiastically to our questions and requests. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer than our 3 days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Michael and the friendly staff took great care of us during our stay. This riad is very comfortable, quiet, and charming. It is down a few steps from a main walking thoroughfare and is away from the touristic areas, though not so far that you cannot walk. For us, that was a good thing as the locals were very friendly and warm, the food on the street delicious, and not a single person tried to sell us anything. The meals at the riad were delicious and the staff very accommodating. Next time in Marrakech, this will certainly be our base again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family for six nights. It was the second riad we'd stayed in, and it didn't disappoint! Michael, David and Michel are very helpful and assisted us with whatever queries we had. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the breakfasts are filling (my favourite is the fruit with orange blossom water) and the location is great. T was a satisfying stay, so thank you Michael!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this Riad in late January 2013. We originally planned to stay only two nights and then move on, but enjoyed the place so much that we stayed an extra night. The Riad is within the Medina, but in an area not heavily trafficked by tourists, which works out well - you can walk around in the area surrounding the Riad without being constantly hounded to buy something, which is what happens closer to the souks. Still, the heart of the souks and other tourist attractions are a short and relatively straight-forward walk away. The staff are all really friendly and gave us many good tips for dining, shopping and sight-seeing. Rooms are on the small side by Western standards, but very intelligently furnished to make good use of space and sunlight and the Riad's common areas are lovely. The hammam is worth a visit and the breakfasts were wonderful - we absolutely loved the homemade sheeps-milk yogurt. After traveling about in the countryside we returned to Marrakech for one night and stayed somewhere else, just to try something different. The other Riad we stayed at - the Riad Akka, paled by comparison. Riad al Massarah was much nicer and, it was actually less expensive. We plan on staying at Riad al Massarah on our next trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonesfield, Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

In January 2013 my friends and I spent our 5th winter holiday at the Al Massarah Riad in Marrakech. As always, Michael, Michel and staff gave us a warm welcome. The reason we keep returning is partly for the pleasant rooms and public areas, but also the whole ambience of the place. It is an oasis of calm after a day in the vibrant, frenetic city.

As with most riads, the heavy door in a back street gives no indication of the beauty within, but as you step inside and shut the door, you are struck by the stylish elegance of the decor, a mixture of traditional and modern, and the attractiveness of the central courtyard with plunge pool. The sitting room and dining rooms are also comfortable and welcoming with open fires in the winter.

Each of the bedrooms has a different 'feel', with clever use of colour and traditional furnishings. Though not particularly large, they are attractive and well appointed.

The food is excellent. Breakfast consists of home-made yogurt with fresh fruit salad, pancakes and Moroccan breads, different each morning. Eggs are also available. Evening meals can be booked and are of good quality local cuisine.

The icing on the cake is the roof terrace complete with sunbeds, parasols and comfortable sitting/eating areas. We had pleasant light lunches up there while enjoying the luxury of warm sunshine in the middle of January, looking towards the snow-capped High Atlas.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: They are all pleasant but my favourite is Ambre because there is a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bairnsdale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed in this Riad with my wife and two teenage children for more than a week over the 2012/2013 New Year period. It is very hard to find fault with this Riad!! The owners and staff were very helpful and obliging. The bedrooms were excellent. The library/lounge is a perfect place for afternoon tea or pre-dinner drink. Breakfast was a particular treat, no stale crossaints and bottled orange juice here! We also had dinner in the Riad two or three times again excellent food and service. The roof top terrace is lovely with great views thrown in. The Riad is well located, handy to both the medina and the new town. All this and a very reasonable tariff as well. The attention to detail has paid off in this place and it comes with my hearty recommendation. Thanks Michel Michael and all the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#139 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Massarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Al Massarah to your Saves list