We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis of calm in wild medina!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Save
You added Riad Al Massarah to your Saves list
26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ann Arbor, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“oasis of calm in wild medina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Recently spent 4 wonderful nights at Riad al Massarah as part of our elopement 'wedding-moon'. Really appreciated all the personal attention my husband I got from both David and Michael during our stay. They were incredibly helpful coordinating our visit, providing excellent restaurant recommendations and arranging fun excursions outside of Marrakech.
Definitely recommend the airport transfer they provide because the Riad can be tricky to find if it's your first time navigating the medina.
We stayed in the Jade room and loved the privacy up on the rooftop. Fires every night and delicious homemade breakfasts provided a relaxing escape from the wildness of the medina.
Love the proximity of the Riad to all the tourist destinations in Marrakech. With the helpful map provided by the riad, we were able to walk to the Jemaa, Ben Youssef and museum, Majorelle gardens, etc without any problem.
Clean, quiet, convenient, wi-fi and amazing hospitality made this Riad a wonderful place to start our Moroccan adventure! Thank you Michael and David for the lovely time.

Room Tip: Michael was very helpful on a skype call before we booked helping us decide on the perfect room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
226
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This riad is in the heart of the Medina, and if we were to return to Marrakech, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Michael, Michel and David run a very friendly operation and they couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are excellent, the breakfast magnificent, and the dinners tasty. They'll organise trips for you, book restaurants, and transport you to and from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This beautiful Riad is beautifully decorated with modern art, a touch of British plaid and antique pieces. Once you enter from the street you will be amazed at the spaciousness and beauty. The room was comfortable for two, the breakfast was served outside the room on the balcony or you can go up to the roof. We didn't have time to take advantage of the spa / hamman services on offer. The location is great with shopping all around, good cafes and restaurants to choose from and not far from all the souks. The owner on site was very helpful with directions and dining recommendations. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

we stayed for 5 days as part of our honeymoon. the hosts were absolutely wonderful and we would have been a little lost without them! the riad itself is wonderfully decorated and maintained. great rooftop to have breakfast and a drink post roaming the streets in the evening. even the hamman was pretty damned good! couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. thanks so much to everyone there!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A Little Piece of Heaven…

One can only love Marrakech through the arms of Riad Al Massarah. It is the peace in the storm. After meandering largest traditional Berber market in Morocco (the souk), strolling through the orange-scented gardens, exploring the palaces and museums, and ending your day experiencing wonders of Jemaa el-Fnaa--- you need a place to call home. Riad al Massarah is the reason I return to Marrakech year after year.

Mike and Michel, the owners, are eager to hear about your adventures and help you make plans/reservations for the following day. The rooms are expertly decorated and you are made to feel that you are the only guest in the house. I have visited the Riad many times. I have taken friends and rented the whole Riad, traveled with a friend or two, and now plan to return by myself. I feel safe and pampered. I know that at a day’s end, as I drag my weary soul to the Riad, that David, the night host, is going to open the door and welcome me home.

The food is to die for! I look forward to the first morning walking out to the small terrace or roof top garden and eating a delicious fresh cooked breakfast and huge bowls of coffee. It is heaven, I tell ya! My suggestion, if you are new to Marrakech and arrive on an early flight from Europe, is to have Michael or Michel have lunch prepared for you shortly after you tour the Riad. You will be tired from your early journey and very hungry. You do not want to hit the streets of Marrakech aimlessly looking for food. Unpack, eat lunch, and let Michael and Michel ease you into Marrakech with maps in hand.

Two great hosts in one phenomenal Riad.

Room Tip: Honestly, each room is fantastic. Fireplaces for chilly nights, billowing curtains on the doors and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Probably the best riad we stayed in during our month in Morocco in November. It is a 15 minute walk from the main square, mostly through the less touristy part of the medina. The owners (Michael & Michel) and David are very helpful on all aspects of Marrakech, both with emails before we arrived and with helpful suggestions once we were there. We stayed in the Jade room with its own semi-private terrace. Breakfast was excellent (included yogurt, granola and eggs) and served on the lovely terrace. Be sure to have at least one dinner here. We had both our first and last meal there and both were excellent. The chef, Khadija, really enjoys cooking for the guests and cooks up a veritable feast - make sure to try her pastilla. They also have an in-house hammam which was an interesting and relaxing experience. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is not only (most probably) the best boutique small hotel in Marrakech, but one of the best on the planet earth.

My wife and I stayed in this very exclusive riad by end of October and we really fall in love with the place.

Our experience started with the first moment we arrive to the end of the driveway next to the Bab Al Douqala Mosque. We were met by David there and accompanied to the Riad through the narrow, busy streets of Medina. You need to remember the big palm tree and hand washing place on the street. After making few turns in the labyrinth of Medina we stopped by a small wooden door. When we entered through the door, we left all the chaos of Medina behind. The courtyard in the center of Riad was so peaceful and the hosts were so welcoming...

The owners, Michael and Michel are incredibly helpful to ensure your Marrakech experience is a memorable one. I strongly recommend every guest to ask and get their suggestions about shopping and dining and travelling out of Marrakech. We have flew to/from Casablanca and asked them to arrange us a transfer from/to Casablanca airport. The cost was reasonable and the service was exceptional. They have also helped us day trips to Atlas Mountains and Essouira, which both were very nice.

During our stay we have stayed in three different rooms. Namely, Violine, Ambre and Azur. All are decorated very tastefully. All have a different story and character. Every single detail is perfectly designed. Especially the bathrooms are incredibly beautiful.

The staff is amazing. Their hospitality is unbeatable. They work to delight you. Breakfasts are just delicious and everything is homemade.

Before our arrival to Marrakech, we have received several e-mails concerning our trip from the Riad. They have also recommended us to have the first night dinner in the Riad, since we would be tired and not familiar with the labyrinth like streets of Medina. However, we decided to have our hotel dinner on our last night. I will definitely recommend everyone to do the same as us. The food is so delicious in the hotel (and obviously prepared as per your wishes) that you might not enjoy any other place later on. Since we had plenty of lamb during our stay on our last nigh we decided to have a "Fish Tagine" which was just, just excellent... It couldn't be any better than this...

Normally in every trip, we go to a place and we try to stay in a nice, small hotel that will make the trip enjoyable and pleasant. However the objective is not to stay in the hotel but to see the city. I can definitely say that, staying in Al Massarah is by itself an experience not to be missed. Marrakech becomes as the bonus for your stay. Should you be travelling to Marrakech, definitely try to stay in Al Massarah at least for one night. You will understand what I meant...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Massarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.