We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy - we did!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Save
You added Riad Al Massarah to your Saves list
26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoy - we did!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely Riad, clean, nice rooms, recommend the terrace (we loved it and it was nice having breakfast there in the morning) especially the yoghurt and granola - YUMMY! Really kind, helpful staff, really felt they were wanting us to enjoy our time there. Advise was available, books galore in the library but not in your face, very approachable and helpful with sound advice. We ate there the first night, lovely meal and great service. Thoroughly recommend the Hammam and massages, again very PROFESSIONAL (a little more personal than in UK), but a really good experience and very relaxing and fun - give yourself over and enjoy it!! I thought we were very central in the old town and just loved all the weekend - can not think of anything bad to say .... just book and enjoy. Try the plunge pool too, lovely after a hot walk around the souks.

Room Tip: I had a peek on the last day and all rooms are nice, the terrace is nice if free but if not don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
232
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The intimate riad was lovingly restored about four years ago, the vibe is chic yet laidback. The decor is light and airy, combining modern European sensibilities with traditional Moroccan touches. The service before and during the stay was impeccable. Michel, Micheal and David were wonderful hosts; Michel's shopping recommendations were perfect, he knew exactly what we wanted. The entire staff was courteous, warm and efficient. Planning to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the Riad Al Massarah by myself for a week. I won't reiterate all the amazing feedback already posted here, other than to say that I agree with everything written and could not fault my stay here.

Michael, Michel and David were all lovely and incredibly helpful. It was like they were totally in tune with what I felt like doing and the type of holiday I wanted - every restaurant/activity recommendation was spot on.

The staff are just lovely as well - charming and discreet - I had one of them wait up for me when I went out late one night to ensure I was home safely! It really does feel like you are staying at a friend's house.

The Riad also attracts like minded people as I met several lovely guests during my stay here.

Like others posting here I was also very impressed with their commitment to the local environment and community.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

No need to re-hash all the positives about this riad, other than it's perfect in every way (beautiful breakfast!).

Great location, interesting to see the daily lives of the real Marrakechis, rather than the display put on for tourists in the Souks and Square. Great little local market just around the corner, the Jardin Majorelle (best thing about Marrakech apart from this Riad) is a short walk.

We spent most of our time in the common areas admiring the stunning attention to detail, on the balcony under the bougainvillea or in an armchair by the pool and fountain leafing through design and cookbooks from the collection in the library.

Al Massarah is a must, especially since they are genuinely giving back and generously supporting the local community.

Room Tip: Any of them. The common area is large enough that it becomes a beautiful extension to your room whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had the most delightful stay at Riad Al Massarah. The property is hidden away in a less touristed area but only a 10 -15 minute walk to the old town (jemaa el-fnaa, souks etc). The accommodation is stunning and the service is outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We visited Marrakech and the delightful Riad in mid August for 3 days en route to Sidi Ifni. Wish we'd stayed longer. A real oasis, very much welcomed by both Michael and Michel. On arrival over mint tea and pastries Michael spent an age with us pouring over a map and guiding us around the medina. We were a party of 4 adults and 4 teenagers, so took up most of the rooms, all of which were excellent. Had a great time and definitely go back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Booked the Riad after reading Reviews and Forum posts on TA.

Great find but not the cheapest option in Marrakech - £750 ish for 7 nights, wel worth it though.

Michael, David and Michel are very helpful with directions, recommendations, reservations, airport transfers and general advice. The staff are great and happy to help.

Only ate in the Riad once, on the day of our arrival but it was good value and a decent introduction to Moroccan cuisine.

Really enjoyed our stay at the Riad but be aware that although the rooms have a/c they will only drop the temperature to 24c, this really helps but is not cool if that is waht you are looking for.

An oasis of calm amidst the bustle of Marrakech, the location is great for walking north into the new town and the Majorelle gardens and L'Maison Arabe is only a 10 minute walk away. An average of 20 minutes walk to Jemma El Fna.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#3 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Massarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.