We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous Riad!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Stamford, CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A fabulous Riad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

What makes Riad Al Massarah special is the service and attention provided to guests by the owners and staff. They really do go above and beyond to take care of you, as well as educate and inform you. They also help you navigate Marrakech, recommend restaurants, shops, and tours, and make restaurant or transportation reservations for you. If you are a novice traveler, they will make you feel at ease and this is the perfect place to stay. If you are a seasoned traveler, they will share travel stories and anecdotes, but do ask for details on things to do off the beaten path.

The rooms at the Riad are exceptional - they are comfortable, modern, and beautifully decorated, really helping you feel Moroccan culture first hand. The breakfast provided is made fresh daily and is excellent. Generally speaking, this Riad is an oasis within the craziness of the medina.

However, because the Riad is an open space, evening conversations can be heard throughout the facility. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to consider ear plugs or politely asking fellow guests to lower their voices if they are staying up and conversing late.

I would highly recommend this Riad to other travelers staying in Marrakech's old city and congratulate Michael, Michel, and David on a job well done.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
203
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is not really a hotel this is really your best friends' home. The decor is fab-U-lous and the hosts Michael and Michel are amazing. Michel is amazing and the go to guy for the most fashionable haunts in Marrakech. Michael is all knowing and in his gentle tones sorts everything out for you. Located in the unspoilt Bab Doukkala we were met by David and taken to the Riad. Once through the door you are taken back in time and enter in a beautiful Riad. I've stayed twice and will make this my place to stay in Marrakech (unless I'm bringing my young nephews, no kids at Riad Al Massarah). Food is delicious, fresh and made every morning and night (you must arrange it in the morning). After a long day out, you can relax by the fire in the library with a nice drink and soak in the atmosphere. I love this place and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our family stayed here for 3 nights and we were very impressed.
The hosts Michael and Michel were welcoming and helpful as were all the staff. The Riad is stunning, cool and tastefully decorated.
The food was very good as well.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had the absolute pleasure to stay in this tasteful and delightful riad right in the centre of the medina in Marrakech. After a hectic drive in we were instructed where to park, met by the the hosts, steered down a couple of streets into the oasis of calm that is Riad Al Massarah. Completely renovated by the owners Michel and Michael, the riad is beautiful in every way. High end design with traditional Maroccan crafts, beautiful bed linen and cool spaces made up the interior. Michael sat us down and talked us through everything we needed to know to survive Marrakech and make the most of our time there. As a result we had a fantastic stress free time, found our way around easily and found some real hidden gems. Michel, Michael and their smartly dressed help were always on hand if need be, but we were left to our devices when we needed to be alone. Excellent food, wine and service, I would have no hesitation in recommending this very select Riad. It made our family's stay in Marrakech an absolutely memorable experience, and this was the nicest place we stayed in our two week visit. Good on you guys!

Room Tip: Only 5 bedroom suites and they are all brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We all had a brilliant time staying here with out two teenage boys - the staff are all amazing, the food was fantastic with different breakfasts cooked every day and served on the beautiful roof terrace. Every detail has been thought of here - the rooms are all immaculate and all different, with luxurious en-suite bathrooms. The location is great as its a perfect short walk to the main hub-bub of marrakech and also an easy walk to the new town part too so the best of both worlds and great to be able to come back to this little oasis for a relaxing cup of tea and a chill out on the roof terrace! The staff are so helpful with nothing being too much trouble. Highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Everything was simply perfect right from the start. Michael and Michel made sure that we felt welcome as soon as we arrived and took care of every little detail during our stay. The place itself is gorgeous, smells wonderful and the rooms and the fittings are wonderful. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Marrakech. I look forward to going back myself!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My mother-in-law had always wanted to go to Marrakech, so for her 70th birthday we trawled the net trying to find somewhere suitable to stay. Out of all of the myriad of possibilities on the net, something stood out about this one, and the glowing reviews by past customers sealed the deal. Happily my parents decided to join us, travelling over from Australia, so there were 6 of us in total, taking up half of the Riad. From the moment we arrived the service was second to none, we were treated like Kings and Queens by the attentive staff. The decor and gardens of the Riad are exceptionally beautiful, and this place is an oasis of calm and tranquility in the midst of the bustle of the medina. I think the location is fabulous. The Bab Doukkala market is really interesting - I was really entranced by the completely different way of life here, and it is not touristy like other parts of the medina. It is very easy walking distance from the main square, and many other places too. Make sure you allow yourself to get lost, but don't follow anyone who offers to show you the way!

The two highlights of this property are the incredibly gracious hosts Michael, Michel ably assisted by the equally charming David, and the exquisite cooking of Chef Abdulwahed. The hosts are so knowledgeable and passionate about Marrakech, and have such wonderful taste you can be sure that their recommendations will be excellent, and they always were. They spent a lot of time chatting to us and giving us advice, treating us as if we were very welcome guests in their own exquisite home. If you stay here I urge you to have dinner at least twice, and request the chicken with pears and blue cheese. The food was exquisite, including the gorgeous breakfasts.

I dream about coming back to this Riad, it is the perfect relaxing break. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely, but the Jade room adjoins the roof terrace which is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#138 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Massarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Al Massarah to your Saves list