We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect way to end Moroccan vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Save
You added Riad Al Massarah to your Saves list
26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect way to end Moroccan vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

The riad is perfectly located in the medina - just a few minutes walk to all attractions. The riad itself is tranquil and beautiful - a perfect respite from the chaos of the medina and souk. Michael, Michele, and David were the perfect hosts and all of their recommendations were spot on. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
215
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a 3 week road trip in Morocco. Considering we had stayed in many places along the way this riad still managed to blow us away with its style, warmth and the hospitality of its owners Michael and Michel.

I can not recommend this place highly enough, from the location (easy walking distance from most things you might like to do in Marrakech) to the beautifully appointed and thoughtfully decorated rooms. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade as the riad was not full during the time of our stay, which was just another perk which made our stay perfect.

Breakfast on the terrace is heavenly and food and drink we felt were very reasonably priced. Staff at Al Massarh were also fantastic. We will most certainly be returning as a real oasis!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

To stay at Riad Al Massarah was the best choice we made when planning our trip to Morocco. From the earliest booking emails to the final drop-off at the airport, we had all our needs met, all the information we could ask for + even more and the feeling as if we were visiting our dear old friends. The staff is absolutely wonderful, fun and caring and made us feel at home at any time. We stayed for two nights in the Amber room on the first floor with the biggest bathroom and fresh, homemade breakfast served on the balcony outside our door. We loved the beautiful decor and furnitures chosen by Michel and the whole Riad is restored with perfection and an amazing stylish eye for details. The rooftop was a very nice place to relax on the sunbeds with a book and strawhats for free use sipping beer and eating olives - to arrive at the riad after the buzzing and dusty souk, it was like entering a piece of heaven of tranquillity. The location was excellent, close to the more authentic part of the souk, near the new town but also within easy walking distance to Djemaa el Fna. The cooking lesson we took with the chef Abdel was fun and informative, including a trip to the local market for groceries. The best tagine with lamb and prunes! We would definately recommend this place to eveyone who will cherish a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

What can I say? A home away from home. Friendly, efficient, superbly located between the Djemaa el Fna and the new town, in a less touristed part of the Medina, beautifully designed and furnished, unpretentious yet hugely stylish, lovely breakfasts, lovely staff, lovely rooms and bathrooms, it goes on... No they didn't pay me. This is accommodation of the highest order. Thanks, you put the cherry on my visit to other-worldly Marrakesh!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Having had such a fantastic time as a large group of adults 3 years ago we wanted to visit again with our family. Our group comprised 4 adults plus our two daughters aged 20 & 18 and our 15 year old son.

Everything as before was perfect and much of it pre-arranged by e-mail. The airport meet works exceptionally well and removes the worry of bartering tipping and having any cash. We were met at Mosque Bab Doukala, bags placed on a hand cart and walked through the souks to the Riad. Still spotless, still perfect.

Having visited before it felt like staying with old friends. Nothing is too much trouble. Michael and David helped organise restaurants and trips. Michel helped us with shopping. Abdel and Khadija kept us exceptionall well fed and watered. The rest of the team helped us into taxis and walked us to elusive hidden restaurants.

We had a wonderful day trip into the Atlas Mountains. A real must to help contrast the Berber village life with frenetic Marrakech.

The ladies had a great day cooking with Abdel. Starting with shopping for spices in the Souks and then on to an afternoon of preparing several starters, mains and desserts for our dinner. Meanwhile the boys had a Hammam and Tqsal leaving us invigorated and hungry for the wonderful meal prepared for us. The ladies also enjoyed a well earned Hammam the next day, though fortunately for them the boys didn't cook!

If you have any uncertainties as to whether you should visit Marrakech, you should and you should stay here as everything is made easy for you. We just hope it won't be 3 years to our next visit when we hope to tie in a stay at Al Massarah with a trip to Essaouira on the coast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at this Riad for 4 nights, it was amazing, the staff is very kind and good greakfast everyday. Thank you again and will recommend you to frineds and family.
Jim

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The owner Michael is very lovely, meets your needs and makes you feel as you were at home in a comfortable place located in the centre of ancient medina. The Riad is very clean, studied in details, fine linens, well equipped batrooms (provided with high quality soap, shampoo and even kajal for make-up). Entering this Riad is like an escape from the chaos of town, a small oasis of relax and peace. A space where you can spend enjoyable time taking a bath in a very attractive swimming pool (arranged in the central space of the building). The hammam is an excellent experience to regenerate both your psysical and mental status.
The cuisine is special and the cook is very original in preparing plates inspired from moroccan tradition. The lighting of candles when the twilight comes out is suggestive.

Tiziana and Luca

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#121 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Massarah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.