We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like to be at home: Riad Merstane” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Merstane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Merstane to your Saves list
Riad Merstane
13 Derb El Merstane, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #308 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like to be at home: Riad Merstane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

From the local, small streets of the Medina full of bursting life to the tranquility of this boutique riad the feelings were always of happiness. The colors of the rooms, breakfast in front of a fireplace, the terrace full of sun and the shadow inside the riad wall, all these gave us a few days of real Morocco life. The kindness and friendly House Director Rachid, always full of suggestions and always ready to help, the great cooking and big smiles of Rachida and Suzina, the English touch here and there of Allen and Katy made our stay at the Riad Merstane a holiday in the holiday. We will promote this beautiful place to friends and family members and we dream the time when we could be there once again.

Room Tip: I think the rooms at the first floor are maybe better located than the one on the ground floor; but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had the most wonderful time in this beautiful Riad and cannot praise enough the care and attention we were given by all the staff and the standard of the food was superb - 10 out of 10 to Rachida and Suzina for their cooking - and I have now added extra dishes to my regular Moroccan menu here at home, the cauliflower in egg was amazing!! Indeed we so much enjoyed the dinner on the first evening we ate in all three evenings and then relaxed in the sitting room planning our excursions for the following day. Omar the driver was so accommodating and welcoming, Rachid and Karim, again both so welcoming and such great sense of humour!! We so enjoyed listening to some of the music that I have ordered some on Amazon since we got back so that we can replay those evocative sounds. Mustafa, the guide arranged for us, was fantastic and took into account our interests and we had a most informative and illuminating tour of the Medina and Souks, with the added bonus of not being taken to places and 'encouraged' to buy carpets and other artefacts that we did not want!! I have already praised and posted many photographs of our visit on my Facebook and Twitter accounts encouraging others to book the riad - an oasis of calm after running the gauntlet of the souks and mopeds:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My family and I took a chance on this riad on our very first stay in Marrakech, based solely on ecstatic views on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed! We arrived to the riad rather late in the evening and were slightly disoriented from having traveled a long distance to get there. Rachid, the riad's most excellent manager, immediately set us at ease. He gave us a tour of the riad's amenities, had us settled in our rooms, arranged to have some mint tea made to warm us up and then set himself to the task of arranging dinner for us (which at that time of night meant some seriously delicious sandwiches). That was our introduction to Riad Merstane, and the rest of our stay reflected the same, warm hospitality. The riad itself is absolutely gorgeous. Decorated in a traditional Moroccan style, it has a lush courtyard and beautifully appointed rooms and common areas. The rooms are each equipped with air conditioning or portable radiators such that they were always warm and comfortable, even though the courtyard can get pretty chilly on December nights. The riad is located a little further away from the square, but is only a short (2 minute) walk from the nearest medina entrance and access to taxis. Rachid was at all times helpful, which meant drawing up maps to help us navigate the medina and even offering to accompany us to help us get oriented. The rest of the riad staff are also extremely helpful and courteous, and did an excellent job of arranging delicious breakfasts and providing laundry service for us. On our last night we arranged to have dinner in the riad which turned out to be one of the best meals of our trip. We cannot recommend this riad enough, and plan to stay here on our next trip to Marrakech!

Room Tip: Sandalwood room has best wifi reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised at how spacious and airy the hotel is, given that the entrance is a low doorway from an alley in the medina! Beautiful courtyard and comfy rooms. We booked dinner one night and they lit the courtyard with candles - it was so romantic (and the food was very good too!). Excellent service and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you are looking for traditional holiday away from large chain hotels this is the place for you. The rooms are all lovely and the courtyard with its palms and flowers is an oasis of calm. Set in a quiet un touristy part of the medina it is a wonderful base for a stay in Marrakech. The staff are efficient and extremly helpful and can help with any requests at all - including providing a map for the best route to Jemaa el-Fna. Breakfast is perfect and if you book an evening meal you will be delighted. It is a 20 to 25 minute walk to the main square but this in itself is a bonus as you pass many areas that are not packed with tourists - this is working Marrakech! The aiport pick-up and departures worked perfectly so no need to worry about arranging this yourself. I thoroughly recommend this Riad and i will be returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice and face in to the courtyard as you would expect. However this Riad is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I spent a thoroughly enjoyable week in Riad Merstane's Jasmine Room. As mentioned by other reviewers, all the staff are courteous and helpful, the breakfasts are great and if you order an evening meal, you won't have better. Airport pick-up and drop-off was efficient and reasonably priced. There are hundreds of Riads to choose from but we can't speak highly enough of this place, do yourself a favour and book it!

Room Tip: Jasmine was the best in our opinion, first floor, overlooking courtyard, two chairs outside, light a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Enjoed a fabulous short break in Marrakech, made special by this wonderful Riad.
Exuding pure Moroccan style, Riad Merstene is furnished in a traditional syle with tasteful and elegent touches throughout. The building is apparently some 200 years old and has been restored in keeping with its original design.
Our room was comfortable and led out onto a seating and balcony area overlooking the courtyard, which is lush with palms and trees. Many a relaxing hour was spent sitting in a quiet, cool, shady spot reading a book and listening to the birds sing. The courtyard really was an oasis of tranquility within the hussle and bustle of the Medina.
Servcie was absolutely first class. We enjoyed lazy breakfasts and our room was made up daily by the most friendly local staff and nothing was too much truble. Calm was soon restored after returning to the Riad from a day in 45 degrees heat to find no beer left in the fridge; a quick phone call ensured a fresh delivery of chilled cans within a half hour!
I can most certainly recommend this b&b to anyone wanting to experience the real Marrakech, especially as it was such good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Merstane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Merstane

Address: 13 Derb El Merstane, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Merstane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Merstane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.