We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Malak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dar Malak to your Saves list
Dar Malak
20 derb Assabane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Walsall
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Dar Malak for a week in October and would definitely stay there again. Eric is a perfect host and nothing is too much trouble for him or his staff. Our room off the courtyard was comfy and peaceful. The riad is perfectly situated and is a wonderful retreat following the hustle and bustle of the city. Eric took us on a trip to the Atlas Mountains which was wonderful and a real insight into the life of the berber people. Thanks Eric.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    12
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
45
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Dar Malak is really a highlight of our trip to Morocco,at first when we arrived there we are a bit worry because we have to walk through a small alley,but once arrived there and meet Eric and his staff which is super friendly to us we forgot our worries.
Dar Malak located right in a heart of Marrakech old medina,short walk about 10 minutes to Jemaa El Fna
We stay in second floor room and its abig room and a very suitable ambience for taking a rest and enjoy life...
Dar Malak is really a recommended place to stay at Marrakech,where you can really enjoy life
dont forget to book return transfer when you book,its alot easier and also not expensive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Dar Malak was the nicest riad we stayed at during our Morocco trip. It's a beautifully decorated riad with a very peaceful patio. Already the welcome tea ceremony was so special - couldn't find any better peanut sweets than the ones we enjoyed here!
The riad has only four very spacious rooms. Breakfast was very nice and fresh and was served whenever we wanted - between 7 and 11 am :) The French owner Eric was always helpful and had some great restaurant recommendations for us.
Also, location is great - still in the Medina and only 10 min walk from the Jamaa el Fna, but not as busy as in that area...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A beautiful and quiet place, perfectly located in the middle of the Medina. We enjoyed staying here very much - the rooms are spacious and very tastefully designed. Make sure that you also try the delicious dinner! We could stay for only 2 nights unfortunately, and we'd love to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Out of all thats on offer in this amazing city, Riad Dar Malak just OK - nothing special. Conveniently located in towads the north of the Median market place but tucked well away down a stream of rabbit warrens. The french owner - Eric is there occassionally. The rest of the staff struggle with English if non at all. My room was right off the ground floor court yard with a seperate bathroom used by the other guests and staff at 53 ~E~uro's a night with a min 3 night stay. I wasn't given any intro or instructions on the run of the Riad because of the lack of launguage skills. Awoken by rattling and shuffling in the nr by kitchen in the early morning. No one to be found until 9 M when I had to ask for the continental style breakfast. The housemaid plays tinnie Arab music whilst cleaning echoeing though the place. I had a good massage for approx 30 Euro's recommended by the owner. Though half way though the massuer said 'rest for 3 minutes.' On his return he stank of cigrette smoke!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at Dar Malak over Easter and really had a wonderful time. It is such a beautiful place and we met many great people. Everyone was really helpful and friendly. The rooms, courtyard, and the roof terrace are just stunning. I certainly want to come back again....soon!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised the minute we walked into Dar Malak, it far exceeded our expectations, every little corner was beautiful. Eric the owner gave us loads of information and advice and couldn't have been more welcoming. A delicious meal was prepared for us upon our arrival. It's in a great location near the souks, the central square and walking distance to practically everywhere. You step out of the hustle and bustle of the streets into the tranquility of the Riad and all you can hear are the birds, it's amazing. Our day trip with Eric to the Atlas mountains and Berber villages was educational and gave us an amazing insight into the way people live. It was a memorable holiday in every way. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Malak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Malak

Address: 20 derb Assabane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Malak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Malak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.