We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of warmth, hospitality, and beauty in the middle of the old medina.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Malak

Save Saved
You added Dar Malak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Malak
20 derb Assabane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Soest, The Netherlands
1 review
“An oasis of warmth, hospitality, and beauty in the middle of the old medina.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Dar Malak is an oasis of peace and tranquility in the middle of the old medina of Marrakech. Situated at the end of a quiet backstreet, the warm staff and extra large rooms made me feel immediately at home. Breakfast was served either in my room or on the rooftop terrace. Fresh mint tea and Moroccan treats were served day at the end of the day, and was a great way to relax after the heat and chaos of the medina. Further, Eric, the owner of this Riad was extremely helpful with organizing trips, recommending restaurants and sights, and in general just making me feel welcome!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    12
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
44
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We had a lovely stay over four nights in the gorgeous Orient Suite at Dar Malak. The staff were fabulous and Eric was extremely helpful and informative in providing recommendations, bookings and advice. We opted to visit the local hammam with two members of Erics staff (segregated) and it was an amazing experience which I would thoroughly recommend.
Location is perfect - it's about 5 mins walk from the souks, 3 mins walk from the nearest taxi spot, 10 mins walk to the main square and it felt very safe.

The best thing about Dar Malak was the peace and tranquility. It was a little oasis and a cool beer in the evening after a day in the heat was just lovely. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get the airport transfer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

A really peaceful place and a delightful and knowledgeable owner. Splendid rooms, meals, staff, advice, trips and terrace. And thank you Eric for organising the cake and 'happy birthday' after a meal in one of the cities most classy restaurants - most enjoyable once my wife stopped cringing with embarrassment. I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Eric the manager was the perfect host, keen to ensure that everyone was happy and providing help with getting around. The riad was really beautiful, traditional Morrocan style and very peaceful and quiet. I slept very well in my comfortable room off the central courtyard and enjoyed my breakfast on the roof terrrace. It was perfectly located in the heart of the old town. Difficult to find the first time without a guide as it is located at the end of a winding alleyway off one of the streets of the old town. Felt quite safe though as well lit and lined with flats for ordinary families.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We have been very pleased with this riad. It was our first time in Marrakech and we really enjoyed it. Eric gave us some really good tips of places to visit and restaurants to go to. He even booked for us restaurants and spa treatment (the real morrocan hamman/scrub/massage experience). The staff is very friendly and helpful also.
The location is very good and really central (plus the map Eric gave us on our arrival was really detailed and perfect to avoid getting lost - we had some friends staying in another riad and the map they were given in their riad, was definitely not as good as ours!!): a 10/15 minute walk from the Jemaa el fna place, 5min walk from the souk and 20min from the Majorelle garden. The food is excellent at the riad (we had diner there one evening- some very tasty tajine), breakfast is served until noon ( at least) so you don't have to worry about waking up on time for it, and mint tea with morrocan sweets is offered daily after 5, which is also really great! two things also to be noted: free wifi is available at the riad and they have a great roof terrace to enjoy the sun during breakfast!
Overall, a fantastic stay in Dar Malak, which we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We recently stayed at Dar Marlak for a weeks holiday at the end of October. Eric met us on our arrival from the airport and after a very short walk into the Medina we entered Dar Malak and was very plesantly surprised! A beautiful court yard surrounded with rooms. We stayed in the Occient Suite. A very nice touch with the rose petals! All the staff at Dar Malak were extremely nice and very attentive and we couldn't have asked any more from them. Dar Malak is very well situated in the Medina, being only a 15 minute walk from the Square, and with Eric's very good directions we managed to not get lost!
We all had a wonderfull stay at Dar Malark and would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Dar Malak is a beautful riad in a great location. The rooms were comfy, clean and peaceful afer the crazyness of the souks! Breakfasts are delicious. What really made the stay special though was the owner Eric. On our first night I accidently ate something with peanuts in (which I am allergic to) and I ended up needing to go to hospital. Eric was AMAZING and spent all of his Saturday night with us making sure we were ok. I can't imagine what would have happened if he hadn't been so kind. Thank you Eric!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Malak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Malak

Address: 20 derb Assabane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Malak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Malak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.