We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hospitality, Excellent value in Old Town Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assouel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Assouel to your Saves list
Riad Assouel
51 Derb Lalla Bent Lamri, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“First Class Hospitality, Excellent value in Old Town Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Five of us recently stayed here for 2 nights on our first trip to Marrakech. We booked the Ourika Suite (which sleeps upto 4 people) & M'goun standard room for 2 nights. It was a great experience at excellent value for money.

The Riad itself is simply beautiful in decor, tucked away on a quiet street in Marrakech with easy walking access to the Souks and main tourist square in the Medina/ Old town. We choose to stay at a Riad rather than a large branded hotel on the outskirts of town as we wanted a more authentic experience.

The first piece of advice would be to arrange for the staff to collect you at the airport which is what we did based on previous reviews. My husband & I are extremely well travelled however finding this Riad would be near on impossible especially if you have never been to Marrakech before.

First impressions of Riad Assouel were fantastic. The decor was beautiful throughout, with a small swimming pool in the centre of the courtyard. Painted in beautiful white paint with traditional Moroccan furnishings. The hospitality of Muhammed was simply first class. We were warmly greeted with Moroccan Mint tea & pastries, along with local maps and the priceless local knowledge that Muhammed shared with us including local restaurants and the 'do & don'ts' in Marrakech.

Food at the Riad was also of great quality. We had breakfast daily, a light lunch on arrival & we eat dinner in the courtyard on our last night. Breakfast was fresh OJ, Coffee, fruit, Yoghurt, bread, jam, Moroccan pancakes etc. It was perfect to start the day.

The rooms itself were wonderful too. Each room decorated differently in traditional decor. We loved the room however this is what prevented the hotel from scoring maximum marks. We had 2 plug sockets that were not working, hence side lamps not working, and having to constantly fight over plugging the heater in (it was cold), camera charger, lamp in, proved to be a let down as we only had one plug socket working. Also although the decor is old & traditional throughout the Riad, some aspects in our room, such as the shower really could do with being thoroughly cleaned.

The rooftop area on the Riad was beautiful too. Although obviously closed off when raining, we were able to enjoy this on our last morning when the sun made an appearance. It was the perfect place to relax with a book in the sun.

During our stay we all had a Hassam (traditional Moroccan scrub) and a Full body massage at the riad which was a fantastic and relaxing experience.

Overall this was a great stay. The service throughout cannot be faulted. Our impressions of Marrakech were completely different to what we expected, it can only be described as a 'senses overload'. Definitely the most confusing place I have ever travelled to. This riad was a god send at the end of a long day walking the souks/ medina, and we all looked forward to returning here to relax at the end of the day. To be honest unfortunately Marrakech would not be somewhere I will return to in the future, however wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Riad to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    24
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. From meeting us at the airport, to driving us into the new town, to preparing the most delicious dinner for us and our friends on Christmas Eve complete with music and dance, we were made to feel very comfortable and welcome. The Riad is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina, but in a very convenient location.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Fantastic riad,wonderful welcome from Coralie the owner who came to meet us. Nothing was too much trouble throughout our 3 night stay. Breakfast was excellent along with a lovely lunch we had on our arrival. I would without doubt return and could not recommend this riad enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aartselaar, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff and especially the French owner is so friendly, helpful and really gives you a warm welcome. You really feel yourself at home : very nice, warm and cosy decoration of the places. It is also a beautiful house in the middle of the Medina and inside it is remarkably quiet. They also have a great cook : typical Moroccan dishes tasted great.
If you want to relax a bit after a busy, crowdy day in the city, the rooftop terrace is a must !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went here for my boyfriends birthday and it couldn't have been a more special stay. From the hussle and bustle of the city this literally was a complete oasis in the middle of the medina. As soon as you walked through the door it was so peaceful and traquil you really felt as if you had arrived on holiday. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and were so friendly and so eager to help you with any questions or problems that you had. We rented a car for the day, which was a lot of fun, to drive to Essuoria, a port town on the coast. On our way back in the dark we got lost on the outskirts of the city (and the driving there is pretty crazy!). We called up Mohammed (riad employee) who drove from his home to come and find us and we followed him on his moped all the way back to the riad! He was our life saviour! I dont think you would even get that in a 5* hotel. The staffs kindness was unimaginable. Everything in the pictures is exactly what they say they are and the rooms were very clean with fresh towels everyday. I coudn't fault this place. It was so easy to organise trips through the riad (we went to the atlas mountains) and also offered many spa and hamman treatments in the riad. It is advisable to get the driver from the riad when you arrive as otherwise it would be quite difficult to find on your first visit, it is worth the money as it makes the journey hassle free. i would 100% recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a lovely week at riad Assouel. The staff were so kind and helpful. There was a very hospitable welcoming feel to the riad. The trips organised were possibly slightly overpriced. There a few bits in the room that didn't work (bedside lamps etc). The decor was beautiful and the atmosphere created was peaceful and relaxing, despite being in the heart of the medina. Excellent location. We walked everywhere we wanted to visit in the city

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice and private, good location (near jemaa el fna square) but a bit hidden in the smalls streets of the medina. Luxurious, big and comfortable rooms but a bit dark. Good people, the staff was extremely helpful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Assouel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assouel

Address: 51 Derb Lalla Bent Lamri, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assouel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assouel Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assouel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.