We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further - this is the place to stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assouel

Save Saved
You added Riad Assouel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Assouel
51 Derb Lalla Bent Lamri, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Look no further - this is the place to stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Riad Assouel is a little piece of heaven tucked away in the crazy Medina! My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights. Coralie and her staff were fabulous - we were made to feel right at home and nothing was too much trouble. The Riad was immaculately presented and was always clean and fresh. The breakfasts and dinners were very yummy and they offered a decent variety of food. We also treated ourselves to a hammam, pedicures and manicures and massages whie staying here and the quality of the treatments were high. The only fault I coud find was that the matress was very hard, but after full days of sightseeing I still slept well every night. I woud go so far as to say that if they charged doube the price for a stay, I'd be more than happy to pay it to such a wonderful Riad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    20
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

In brief, we had a delightful stay in Riad Assouel. We were very warmly welcomed into what is an oasis in the bustle of Marrakech. Our two rooms were amazing, and both loked back onto the courtyard, one with a balcony. The Rid has a pool which is pretty unusual I believe for hotel in this price bracket, which the children loved (once it had heated up a bi!).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friend and I stayed here March 2012 and had one of the most memorable trips. The owner and staff made us feel at home and went out of their way to make this trip so special. It was my friend's 21st birthday and they not only hooked us up with the largest suite in the hotel but also got us a table at a very nice club that night. They made sure we got to and from every location safely, even coming to get us themselves at time. Mohammed made us the most delicious mint tea and gave us a complimentary tea lesson. I could go on and on about the great experiences we had. If you stay here, I definitely recommend getting an in-house spa treatment and having dinner at least one night there. Also, you will love sitting on the rooftop at breakfast each morning. The one small complaint I have was the hotel driver- he was 2 hrs late picking us up from the airport and we almost missed our flight back when he didn't show up. Other than that, I highly highly recommend this place and I can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this Riad enough, the building and the people there are wonderful, in particular Coralie one of the owners, who from the moment we arrived made us feel so welcome and at ease. We had arranged with the Riad for a driver to come and meet us, I definitely suggest doing this, as the riad is a little difficult to find at first, especially if you arriving late at night as we did. The riad can't be reached by car, so our driver stopped at the nearby post office and lead us right to the door, where we were greeted by one of the staff, who went to make us mint tea and brought mini pastries, as we relaxed in the lounge after our long journey.
We stayed in the Tichka room, which is rather small by many hotel standards, but we found it to be charming, and there are plenty of other spaces within the riad to stretch out, like by the courtyard pool or on the roof terrace. Breakfast each morning was tasty pancakes and bread with conserves, plus something different each day, like fruit or cake with strawberries. It's a perfect place to relax after fighting your way through the souks, a proper escape and the hospitality was second to none. Coralie and her team went out of their way to make our stay amazing and they definitely succeeded.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We arrived into Marrakech late at night and the Riad had organized a pick up from the train station upon our request. The pick up was well taken care of.
Upon check in, we were given a room that was bigger and nicer than the one we had booked. It entire room was long room with the bathroom at the end, which was also long. The room was clean and had the right touches of Moroccon elements. The bathroom wasn’t as special:
1) There was a SMALL shower area and a separate tub bath—however, if one used either, the entire bathroom would end up getting wet because of the design of the bathroom and shower and tub area. The toilet was at the end of the long bathroom and so incase one wanted to use the pot once they had showered, they would have to walk through the wet bathroom- quite inconvenient. Also, the showerhead didn’t work well. On our first night the water from the shower area didn’t drain properly- but the Riad got that fixed when I complained about it.
2) The bathroom wasn’t heated – while there was a movable heater in the bathroom, there was only one plug point at the sink and if you plugged the heater in, you couldn’t stand in front of the sink and it blocked the entrance to the room. Also it wasn’t effect enough to heat the whole bathroom
The breakfast was also quite average. Nothing special.
The owners- a French couple, were very sweet and made it a point to interact with all the guests—giving it a personable & homely touch.
The manager of the Riad was also very helpful—he organized a car for us as we wanted to go to a restaurant outside the medina!
All in all- a cute place with good service.
Do note that it is a bit of a distance from the center of the medina, but we liked that as it gave allowed us to experience the medina but we didn’t have to deal with the craziness every time we left the Riad. Someone from the Riad also accompanied us to the center of the Medina the first time to show us the directions!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just returned from a holiday in Marrakech where we stayed in the beautiful Riad Assouel. We experienced a maximum level of hospitality during our stay. We enjoyed it!

We are sure we will return to this riad when we will be in the area in the future.

We thank the kind crew of Riad Assouel for taking such good care of us.

Room Tip: Choose their room with the fire place (we did not stay there but saw it and looked super cosy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortenhoef, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have enjoyed our time in Marrakech very much.
Mainly thanks to the kind and very helpful people at the Riad. Chapeau with a Capital C.
It really is a serenely quiet place away from the bustle of the souks which breathes the atmosphere
of an era gone by.
Highly recommended to all who are loking for a quiet haven for a couple of days R&R.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assouel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assouel

Address: 51 Derb Lalla Bent Lamri, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assouel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assouel Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assouel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.