We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assouel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Assouel to your Saves list
Riad Assouel
51 Derb Lalla Bent Lamri, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Charming with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We arrived into Marrakech late at night and the Riad had organized a pick up from the train station upon our request. The pick up was well taken care of.
Upon check in, we were given a room that was bigger and nicer than the one we had booked. It entire room was long room with the bathroom at the end, which was also long. The room was clean and had the right touches of Moroccon elements. The bathroom wasn’t as special:
1) There was a SMALL shower area and a separate tub bath—however, if one used either, the entire bathroom would end up getting wet because of the design of the bathroom and shower and tub area. The toilet was at the end of the long bathroom and so incase one wanted to use the pot once they had showered, they would have to walk through the wet bathroom- quite inconvenient. Also, the showerhead didn’t work well. On our first night the water from the shower area didn’t drain properly- but the Riad got that fixed when I complained about it.
2) The bathroom wasn’t heated – while there was a movable heater in the bathroom, there was only one plug point at the sink and if you plugged the heater in, you couldn’t stand in front of the sink and it blocked the entrance to the room. Also it wasn’t effect enough to heat the whole bathroom
The breakfast was also quite average. Nothing special.
The owners- a French couple, were very sweet and made it a point to interact with all the guests—giving it a personable & homely touch.
The manager of the Riad was also very helpful—he organized a car for us as we wanted to go to a restaurant outside the medina!
All in all- a cute place with good service.
Do note that it is a bit of a distance from the center of the medina, but we liked that as it gave allowed us to experience the medina but we didn’t have to deal with the craziness every time we left the Riad. Someone from the Riad also accompanied us to the center of the Medina the first time to show us the directions!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RadParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just returned from a holiday in Marrakech where we stayed in the beautiful Riad Assouel. We experienced a maximum level of hospitality during our stay. We enjoyed it!

We are sure we will return to this riad when we will be in the area in the future.

We thank the kind crew of Riad Assouel for taking such good care of us.

Room Tip: Choose their room with the fire place (we did not stay there but saw it and looked super cosy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaX1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortenhoef, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have enjoyed our time in Marrakech very much.
Mainly thanks to the kind and very helpful people at the Riad. Chapeau with a Capital C.
It really is a serenely quiet place away from the bustle of the souks which breathes the atmosphere
of an era gone by.
Highly recommended to all who are loking for a quiet haven for a couple of days R&R.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinfriedFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Amazing night in an amazing place.
From the beginning to the end everything was perfect.
The quiet of the place, the beauty of the room, the fire in the fireplace, the very delicate food, the kindness of people, the sweet smell in the corridor...
Thank you so much!
Will come back as soon as possible.

Amelie

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amelie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed for a week at the Riad Assouel in November 2012. I really enjoyed the hotel and appreciated everything the staff did to make my stay so enjoyable. The beautifully decorated Riad, staff helpfulness, hospitality and professionalism made it a memorable stay. I have stayed in some of the 5* hotels in the city but the overall experience at Riad Assouel was even better. A real oasis of peace and calm in the bustle of the town

When I visit again there is no question that I will come to stay at Riad Assouel. I can’t wait for my next trip.

Edward

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The door opens on a scented, beautifully tiled corridor - and a smile. It was lovely to have such a restful place to return to after the souks and the main square. This is a great place to stay for a weekend look around Marrakech. The staff are absolutely great and endlessly helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Situated in the middle of the Medina and about 15 minutes walk from the main square, Jemaa El Fna, the Riad Assouel is absolutely to be recommended. One could never imagine the haven that greets the guests when entering the riad from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The owners, Coralie & Stephan and the rest of the staff were unbelievable, they did everything to make us feel at home and make our stay something to remember.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#89 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#102 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#113 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Mandalay
Riad Mandalay
#180 of 1,149 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Anya
Riad Anya
#184 of 1,149 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Alfarah
Riad Dar Alfarah
#537 of 1,149 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assouel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assouel

Address: 51 Derb Lalla Bent Lamri, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Assouel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assouel Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing