We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special stay with special people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assouel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Assouel to your Saves list
Riad Assouel
51 Derb Lalla Bent Lamri, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 1,125 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A special stay with special people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

I immediately felt relaxed on arrival. The staff and surroundings were just perfect. Nothing was too much trouble. I wish I had booked a longer stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

I loved staying here. Staff were amazing, so helpful and never before has anyone walked me into the town centre to make sure I find my way. The only downside is that it is slightly out of the medina centre but it didn't bother me, just get used to the locals trying to give you wrong directions :) I gave already planned to stay here again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Fantastic Riad with a beautiful patio and a nice terrace. Location is not far from the main square Jemna El Fnaa. Stephan, the manager of the Riad, takes care of everything you need. Staff is always attentive, friendly and efficient.
They do not accept American Express.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic four day stay at Riad Assouel and wanted to tell everyone how amazing the place was - its run by a charming Frenchman called Stephan, the Riad is stunning decorated in the classic Moroccan fashion, the rooms are beautiful, the Riad staff are all fantastic, very friendly and efficient (especially Mohamed and Abdou), and the food is superb (and easily better than some of the more famous restaurants in Marrakech). We ate at the Riad several times during our stay and always had a superb array of Morrocan dishes (the tagine lemon chicken was particularly noteworthy and the Morroccan salad was utterly delicious too).

We ate breakfast and lunch up on the delightful roof terrace - where one can sunbathe or just chill out drinking mint tea, watching the sunset over the medina roofs. Down in the courtyard, there are several large salons and sitting areas as well as a central pool for swimming.

The Assouel quartier of the medina is a typical area of the medina and is home to several tourist sights and high end restaurants like Le Foundouk and Cafe Arabe. The Souks are about two minutes stroll and the Place Jemaa el Fna is about 10-15 minutes walk. Although its possible to learn the route through the maze of alleys (I did), the Riad's staff will always either walk you to your destination or come and pick you up to bring you back if you need help.

The Riad also organised an excursion for us to the Ourika Valley and to the High Atlas Mountains which was a lovely escape from the confusion of the Medina and is very recommended.

Having visited Morocco three times, its clear the Riad Assouel is a real find. Not too expensive, friendly and professional and one of the nicest places I ever stayed - and will definitely return to as often as I can...

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the suites are bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed at Riad Assouel for 4 nights in Dec 2011. Managed by a French couple who were courteous, helpful and friendly. Additional staff attentive and discreet. Lovely room, good amenities, tasty breakfasts. Ate in Riad one night and that was good too. They coped with my dietary requirements (booked in advance) without any reminders on arrival and we'd definitely return if we head back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pETERLEE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Where do I start? There are so many positives and no negatives. The rooms were great, the staff superb, it was clean and the food was Morocccan. There was a loittle pool and a roof terrace which was a great place to have breakfast, even in December. I would recommend that you try at least one evening meal in the Riad, because the service and food was excellent.
The Riad is in the old part of town which is a maze of narrow alleyways (maps are useless). On arrival telephone numbers are exchanged and if help is needed to get back to the Riad a quick phone call resuts in a member of staff showing up to guide you back.
Marrakech is a busy place, but the Riad is a place to relax and feel at home.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

A fantastic Riad, 15 minutes walk from the souks.
Peace and tranquility.
Fantastic room with all amenities.
Staff helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Assouel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assouel

Address: 51 Derb Lalla Bent Lamri, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 1,125 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assouel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assouel Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assouel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.