We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Alaka to your Saves list
Riad Alaka
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   35 Derb Alaka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 1,114 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The riad lies in a quiet little alley in the medina. After the hectic pace and the noise of the city "coming home" to the peace and quiet of the riad and beeing greeted by Aziz, the soul of the place, felt sooo good. The dishes Aziz prepares with love and great skills are outstandingly delishes. As soon as the door closed itself behind us the day we had to leave we felt a very strong urge to come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
66
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This Riad is in the old medina, near an orienting landmark of a major mosque. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere peaceful and relaxing. We only wish we could have stayed longer in the Riad,Marrakech and Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Experienced relaxation from the minute we arrived at the Riad. Aziz welcomed us with fresh mint tea.....a drink to be had many times during our day...and was always equally tasty. We just loved the entire aura of the Riad. Great lounging areas around a centered open courtyard with a lovely pool.(I guess this is the central theme of a Riad) The rooms are decorated in typical Moroccan style with bright colors. Beds were extremely comfortable and bath rooms sufficient and clean. We tried out the hammam one afternoon as well as the massages. It was nice to not have to leave the Riad for these experiences. There was even a hot tub on the roof where you could enjoy your wine while soaking in the warmth. One evening, we took dinner at the Riad. What a fun evening! The owner actually had been visiting from Belgium as well. It is always a great experiencing sharing a table with travelers from all edges of the world. The food was delicious as well.....yummy homemade tangines and veggies. The staff was so accomodating. I had to wake up early one morning to prepare for the half-marathon and they made me basic breakfast earlier than the allocated time. It was so wonderful to retreat to the tranquility of the Riad after a hectic day of sightseeing in Marrakech. It really made our trip!! Would stay here again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This riad was beautiful and VERY clean. Aziz made us feel right at home. The riad was just a 15 minute walk away from Djemaa el fna. We stayed during the week of New Years Eve and Marrakech can get cold in the evenings in the December/January time frame...however, this riad had more than adequate heating. If I ever go back to Marrakech, I will definitely stay at this riad again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Aziz is a welcoming and charming host and this riad is very quiet and comfortable yet still very close to the centre of the old town. Lovely bathrooms with plentiful hot water and Aziz will always cook dinner as well as providing endless supplies of mint tea. Nothing is too much trouble. One tiny criticism - breakfast a little monotonous. Some eggs would be nice! But overall highly recommended and very reasonable prices

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Riad Alaka is a wonderful place to stay. It is beautifully restored and the rooms are luxurious. The terrace is a welcome respite from the craziness of Marrakech. Aziz is charming host.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This Riad was absolutely lovely. I stayed here for 8 days with my sister for a relaxing/semi-exploring holiday. It couldn't have been better. The service was faultless. The staff there really bent over backwards to accommodate our every wish and need, and the service was so personal. Some examples: it was my sister's birthday while we were there, Aziz bought her a personalised cake, blew up balloons and surprised her with a birthday celebration! We needed some various items which we didn't know where to go to buy, when we asked him, he went out himself to buy them for us (AND wouldn't accept payment!). On one occasion we were having a lazy day by the pool and he cooked us a wonderful lunch without us even having asked and with no charge. We had pretty much free reign of the Riad and he ended up giving us a key so that we didn't have to worry about waking anyone up when we returned home late (one evening we got back at 4am!) For the majority of our stay we were the only guests in the Riad and they just treated us so well. We could literally have breakfast whenever we liked - there was no deadline! And some days we wouldn't have it until after lunchtime - they didn't mind a bit. Halfway through our stay Aziz offered us a change of room - and he upgraded us to a much bigger one, although we were literally given the choice of them all! On the day we were leaving too, our flight wasn't until the evening but that didn't matter in terms of checkout - we checked out at 5pm! The quality of the food was excellent, the breakfasts were delicious. The rooms were really, really lovely and extremely clean and comfortable. The plunge pool was amazing - and much needed in the 40 degree heat! The roof terrace was brilliant - we spent several days on there lazing around and topping our tans up, and it was really private. We found it a lovely escape from the bustling city, which of course was great but we did find we needed a break from it on the odd day. The Jacuzzi on the roof terrace was also great - especially at night when we got in from an evening out. The location of the Riad we found absolutely perfect as everything was within 10-15 minutes walk (main square, souqs, Sardian tombs, the new town, Majorelle gardens), and also we were 30 seconds from the best fresh fruit market in Marrakech. There are also many little local restaurants around the immediate local area which serve delicious amazing food for next-to-nothing prices. Plus, do not miss the Hammam and massage - an amazing experience! All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Riad and if I went back to Marrakech I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alaka

Address: 35 Derb Alaka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 1,114 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Alaka 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alaka is ideally located in the heart of the medina. It lies right at the entrance of the souks and at a few minutes’ walk from the exhilarating Place Jemna El Fna.This is a splendid property, a real haven of peace, decorated in the traditional Moroccan style. Guests will be struck by its elegant and relaxing charm. The tastefully decorated interior oozes passion and respect for Moroccan tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Alaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.