We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad with the most wonderful staff - very sad to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alaka

Save Saved
You added Riad Alaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Alaka
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   35 Derb Alaka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Riad with the most wonderful staff - very sad to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in this beautiful Riad for seven nights. It has been beautifully restored by the owner Jean Luc who we had the pleasure of meeting on our first night. The Riad is very beautiful and furnished to a very high standard. Comfort is clearly the aim and is certainly achieved from the rooms through to the plunge pool in the central courtyard to the roof tearrace complete with Jacuzzi. We were encouraged to treat the Riad as 'our home'. However for me a home has to have a heart and the heart of Riad Alaka is without doubt the truly wonderful staff. Azziz, Soufian and Malika were the Gems of this holiday. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they showed my daughter and I the kindness, concern and consideration that you would show family. They were on hand to prepare our breakfast at whatever time we woke, answer our many queries and meet our every need. Azziz is the most wonderful chef and will even provide a cookery lesson. No need to seek such an experience elsewhere in Marrakesh. The same applies to a hammam - there is one in the Riad and Malika provides an excellent service with a masseuse who will can be arranged if you request one. Soufian stays at night - so we felt safe at all times. As female travellers we had nothing but a positive experience in Marrakesh. The people were welcoming and generous - hearted. We walked around the square at night and then back to the Riad feeling completely safe. Shopping in the souks was a great experience - make sure you have adequate baggage allowance! My advice to anyone thinking of travelling to Marrakesh is have no fear ,chose this Riad you will not be disappointed. We will return - hopefully many times. Jean Luc if you read this - you are blessed to own such a beautiful Riad but even more blessed to have such a perfect staff. Thank you Azziz, Soufian and Malika

Room Tip: All beautifully furnished to high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We are a group of 4 friends who go away every year for a girly weekend. We found this fantastic Riad after looking at another one on Trip Advisor. I contacted the owner but it was full, she however said she owned another one, Riad Alaka. We arrived late atfernoon and Aziz the Riads' manager had arranged for someone to pick us up from the airport. We were dropped at a taxi rank where Aziz met us. We followed him through a maze of alleyways of red walls until we came to the Riad. Once inside we were amazed how lovely it was. We had booked the 2 suites but got a chance to look at the other rooms. The decor was traditional Moroccan colours with traditional furniture and accessories. The whole Riad was beautiful. There is a jacuzzi on the roof top along with sunbeds and chairs as well as a shaded lounge area where you could relax. We also had breakfast there each morning. Breakfast consisted of crepes, fresh bread, preserves,cake and natural yoghurt washed down with fresh orange juice and your choice of hot drink. The Riad is a 15 minute walk to Djemaa el Fna and you soon get used to the beep of the scooters and the madness of their driving. Once you reached the main square you cannot believe how big and chaotic it is, Full of snake charmers, henna tattooists, fresh orange juice (amazing and costs about 30p for a glass), Yes you do get hasselled by the stall holders, restaurant staff, taxi drivers, horse and carriage drivers, all wanting you to use there services or buy from them, but not in an aggressive way. They use phrases like 'we're cheaper than Primark'. We ate most nights for around £5 per head and had some nice meals. After a hard days bartering in the heat it was great to return to the calm and tranquil Riad and get into the plunge pool. You have to be brave but it is sooo refreshing. We didn't use the Hamman but those who did said it was very good. Aziz and the Riads other staff Soufian and Malika were always on hand to get you drinks or give you advice and were very friendly. At night we went into the Old City and the New City but it was lovely to return to the Riad and have a relaxing drink on the rooftop.

Room Tip: The Suites are only 10 euros per night extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

For the first time in our life, we tried a Riad. What a marvellous experience! The Riad is modern with a nice pool at the ground floor and a pleasant terrace on the top. The rooms are spacious and well arranged with all the commodities. The welcome is friendly and , last but not least, the cooking was excellent. Hamman, jacuzzi and massage are possible.
To be done again!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Perfect stay. I would recommend this Riad to anyone traveling to Marrakech. As the other reviewers said, the riad is beautiful,confortable, clean, and the food is great. Its 10 min walk to Djema el Fna, just far enough to avoid noise...Its also about 10 min walk to Jardin majorelle. A MUST. and you can easily get to medressa ben youssef and maison de la photographie from the riad too.
All and all was AMAZING but what really made this riad standing out is the staff. They are professional, helpful and will do everything to make your stay the best one possible. THANK YOU TO AZIZ AND SOUFIANE for your warm welcome and for making our stay so memorable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ps: we stayed in Essaouira Room. it was big enough. bathroom very clean. we were concerned about the size of the room before getting there but in the end it was, as I said. PERFECT. oh. and by the way. there is a jacuzzy and hammam on the roof top!!!
*************************
Merci a monsieur Aziz et a Soufiane pour l'accueil memorable que vous nous avez reserve. Nous avons passé d'agreables moments en votre compagnie. Vous avez fait toute la difference. Que Dieu vous comble.

Vanessa et Alix

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Really nice riad with very comfortable rooms at reasonable prices. Moroccan breakfast offered and evening meals available if requested.

The best thing about this riad was it's central location and ease to get to the main square. My last stay in Marrakesh I spent ages getting lost but this was not the case here.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Didn't use all of the facilities such as Hamam etc but would recommend if you have the time. Recommend you take up offer of airport transfer as it was easy, good value and convenient.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

My Girlfriend and I stayed here over Valentines weekend and both had a great time. The Riad itself is lovely; it is beautifully decorated with an authentic Moroccan feel running through it. The rooms were great with comfy beds and peaceful surroundings and the terracotta shower was a real novelty.

Breakfast was also fantastic with a nice selection of things to eat. But above all, the thing that really stood out to us was the friendliness of the staff; they were amazing and couldn’t do enough for you. I would recommend this Riad to anyone; yes it is a 10 to 15 min walk from the main square. But the fact it’s away from the main tourist sites and set in its own neighbourhood kind of gives it some charm. My girlfriend and I didn’t find this short walk to the square a chore at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcossebre, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights- the rooms were very nicely done in the traditional Morrocan style- the bed was extremely comfortable- we had 2 dinners prepared there and they were both very tasty-
the wine was good as well- the mint tea kept coming whenever you asked for it-
the only food that compared to the riad´s was at the Mother Earth cafe that serves
anexcellent vege and vegan range- be prepared for the 4am call to prayers...it resoun ds around Marrakesh- Cliff

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Alaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alaka

Address: 35 Derb Alaka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Alaka 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alaka is ideally located in the heart of the medina. It lies right at the entrance of the souks and at a few minutes’ walk from the exhilarating Place Jemna El Fna.This is a splendid property, a real haven of peace, decorated in the traditional Moroccan style. Guests will be struck by its elegant and relaxing charm. The tastefully decorated interior oozes passion and respect for Moroccan tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Alaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.