We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alaka

Save Saved
You added Riad Alaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Alaka
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   35 Derb Alaka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Marvellous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

For the first time in our life, we tried a Riad. What a marvellous experience! The Riad is modern with a nice pool at the ground floor and a pleasant terrace on the top. The rooms are spacious and well arranged with all the commodities. The welcome is friendly and , last but not least, the cooking was excellent. Hamman, jacuzzi and massage are possible.
To be done again!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Perfect stay. I would recommend this Riad to anyone traveling to Marrakech. As the other reviewers said, the riad is beautiful,confortable, clean, and the food is great. Its 10 min walk to Djema el Fna, just far enough to avoid noise...Its also about 10 min walk to Jardin majorelle. A MUST. and you can easily get to medressa ben youssef and maison de la photographie from the riad too.
All and all was AMAZING but what really made this riad standing out is the staff. They are professional, helpful and will do everything to make your stay the best one possible. THANK YOU TO AZIZ AND SOUFIANE for your warm welcome and for making our stay so memorable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ps: we stayed in Essaouira Room. it was big enough. bathroom very clean. we were concerned about the size of the room before getting there but in the end it was, as I said. PERFECT. oh. and by the way. there is a jacuzzy and hammam on the roof top!!!
*************************
Merci a monsieur Aziz et a Soufiane pour l'accueil memorable que vous nous avez reserve. Nous avons passé d'agreables moments en votre compagnie. Vous avez fait toute la difference. Que Dieu vous comble.

Vanessa et Alix

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Really nice riad with very comfortable rooms at reasonable prices. Moroccan breakfast offered and evening meals available if requested.

The best thing about this riad was it's central location and ease to get to the main square. My last stay in Marrakesh I spent ages getting lost but this was not the case here.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Didn't use all of the facilities such as Hamam etc but would recommend if you have the time. Recommend you take up offer of airport transfer as it was easy, good value and convenient.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

My Girlfriend and I stayed here over Valentines weekend and both had a great time. The Riad itself is lovely; it is beautifully decorated with an authentic Moroccan feel running through it. The rooms were great with comfy beds and peaceful surroundings and the terracotta shower was a real novelty.

Breakfast was also fantastic with a nice selection of things to eat. But above all, the thing that really stood out to us was the friendliness of the staff; they were amazing and couldn’t do enough for you. I would recommend this Riad to anyone; yes it is a 10 to 15 min walk from the main square. But the fact it’s away from the main tourist sites and set in its own neighbourhood kind of gives it some charm. My girlfriend and I didn’t find this short walk to the square a chore at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcossebre, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights- the rooms were very nicely done in the traditional Morrocan style- the bed was extremely comfortable- we had 2 dinners prepared there and they were both very tasty-
the wine was good as well- the mint tea kept coming whenever you asked for it-
the only food that compared to the riad´s was at the Mother Earth cafe that serves
anexcellent vege and vegan range- be prepared for the 4am call to prayers...it resoun ds around Marrakesh- Cliff

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrmarkus
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

The riad is located at a traditional food market and 10 mins from the main square.
The service is very kind. The host Aziz even arranged a purchase for us.
The rooms are clean and nicely decorated.
The riad offers a peaceful place and is just what you need when travelling to Marrakesh.
Overall a very nice Riad.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

We stayed in 3 riads in Morocco and I would say this was our favorite one. It's a small riad in the outskirt of the Marrakech medina, maybe a 10 min (safe) walk to the main action. We welcomed the fact that it was away from all the madness! We stayed in the Zagoza room which was well appointed. We traveled during low season and were the only guests there. Nonetheless, Aziz treated us like royalty. He was attentive without being intrusive. We were greeted with mint tea and snacks upon arrival. Breakfast was typical: a bread selection with jam, coffee, fresh squeezed OJ, cheese. Having dinner at the souk was a wonderful experience that I recommend to anyone brave enough to handle the bustle in the medina, but we were glad to dine at the riad on our last night. What a great way to finish off a wonderful trip! We had one of our best meals in Morocco personally prepared by Aziz.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alaka

Address: 35 Derb Alaka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Alaka 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alaka is ideally located in the heart of the medina. It lies right at the entrance of the souks and at a few minutes’ walk from the exhilarating Place Jemna El Fna.This is a splendid property, a real haven of peace, decorated in the traditional Moroccan style. Guests will be struck by its elegant and relaxing charm. The tastefully decorated interior oozes passion and respect for Moroccan tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Alaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.