We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much what we have learned to expect from Club Med!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Marrakech le Riad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Marrakech le Riad to your Saves list
Club Med Marrakech le Riad
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sidi Yahya, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pretty much what we have learned to expect from Club Med!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled as a 3 generational family group.
Club Med do some things amazingly well, and others not so well. We keep going back which says something, but as someone who works in hospitality I wish the company would stop congratulating themselves for the things they do well and seek out critical feedback as an opportunity for improvement. I have just filled in a lengthy online evaluation form which asked multi choice questions in such a way that made it impossible to tell them anything useful about my experience.

The Riad Zone itself is lovely. The pool is large and heated and clean. The main lifeguard was excellent, keeping a close but unobtrusive eye especially on young and elderly members of our group, including a gentlemanly arm to assist grandma out of the pool and back to her lounger. Poolside service was great. It is worth noting that the main pool in the 'non-riad' area is icy and very empty for the number of people sitting around it. The adult-only Zen pool is heated but no use for families. The kids club pool (heated) is available to families at specific times but it closes at 5.30. This alone is a reason to upgrade to the Riad if you want to enjoy a swim with your kids after Mini Club.

Food in the main restaurant was very good - definitely better than some other 4T villages we have visited, but not quite as good as Belek or Palmyie. Desserts were the low point for me and it would have been nice to have the ice cream available at dinner as well as at lunch. As always, French style breads and pastries were exceptional (big shout out to the lovely baker), although a flatbread would be a nice addition when there are tagines, baba ganoush, hummus etc. on offer most days. The food in the Riad at lunch was also good, although I generally preferred to go to the main restaurant for a change of scene.

Mini/Petit Club were truly excellent, and the quality of the childcare is the main reason we rebook with Club Med. The only slip-up of the week was a late start to the mini-club show (advertised as 8.15pm but doors didn’t open until over an hour later which meant a very late finish for small children). Other than that our children were very well cared for and had a wonderful time. The manager Nick was visible and approachable.

The rooms were nice - we chose terrace suites for the privacy and sun and also the bathtubs which club and deluxe rooms do not have. However our room needed a bit of maintenance attention - our minibar fridge kept overheating and the only way I could get it to function was to sit it in the middle of the floor where it stayed all week. Water temperatures in the showers are a bit erratic; one of the light switches didn't work properly so the only effective way to turn off the main bedroom light was to take the room key out of the dock to turn all the lights off; some of the mattresses and seat cushions on the terrace were waterlogged, meaning that unless you had something waterproof to put on them, the water slowly seeped out and soaked you when you sat on them; and following a night of heavy rain a big damp patch appeared on our bedroom wall. The manager of the Riad is visible and very friendly, as are all the reception staff, but I don't want to spend my holiday making complaints or asking for things to be fixed, so after reporting the minibar issue twice with no success I just ignored them all, but I think that at this price point the house-keeping teams need to be a bit more vigilant and proactive and decent air conditioning should be standard.

Overall we had a wonderful holiday - the all inclusive model works very well for a larger group and the varied activities offer something for everyone and on the whole, the staff (local and imported) were friendly and helpful. As a short-haul spring/autumn option when the other European sun resorts are closed, I would consider revisiting Club Med Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    65
    36
    20
    8
See reviews for
94
143
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We stayed in the Riad part of club med.Lovely spacies rooms with a outside sitting area .Maybe a bit outdated but still very Nice.
We were welcomed by wonderfull hostesses who make it their business To make you feel comfortable All the time.
An oasis of calm and comfort not far from the city center.
Heated pool, great!
The food served at the pool and at the marrocan specialty restaurant is great.
The restaurant for the riad guests in the ain building lacks of charm( chilly and a bit smelly)
So Shame that El Bekir isn't open Every day..
Special mention for the man at the pool, Samir, who is everywhere at the same time To make everyone comfortable .
If you are a golfer beware: tee times are booked for you but it takes forever To get your vouchers from the GO golf.As To the point it Gets annoying To go and ask again and again a the reception for your tee off time.
Staff should know it is nessecary To know ahead your starting time To plan your day!
We Would stay here again, definitely.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Very nice break at Le Riad. Little tip, if you are going in the summer, ask for a room with a garden vs. a terrace as you will not be able to use it. However, outside the very warm season, request a roof terrace suite as it is a lot more private and great for sunbathing on the day bed. Our suite had no vis a vis at all, ask for the Asni Suite. You are in a 5 tridents which does not mean a 5*. So, even if our stay was great, the service was fairly slow but very nice, the rooms are tidy and clean but a little dated to our taste.
We had a short break so we wanted to have the spa, golf, pool, food & farniente at walking distance and that delivered all of these for us.
The spa was really clean and the staff very nice, I highly recommend the head & oriental massages. Have a great time if you go there.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

We spent 5 days here after 2 weeks touring Morocco. As Australian's we were certainly in the minority with about 95% of other guests French. I was very glad that we had read previous reviews and we were prepared for this. The staff in the main tried hard to communicate with us although around the pool and any activities were generally only conducted in French which made it hard for us to participate. The room in the riad was lovley, very spacious and private. We loved the private pool and bar and the ability to have breakfast in our rooms. This was our 7th visit to a Club Med and I am not sure that the staff still have the same level of enthusiasm that they once had...they do with each other but there are times as a guest that it feels like we are intruding.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

As grandparents happy to be with children and grandchildren, a Club Med holiday should and did fit the bill - more or less. Beautiful setting, wonderful weather and very good food. Unfortunately the mini club was run by tired, bored staff who did not engage with any of the children. Every morning it was tennis, circus activities ( in full sun and temperatures in high 30s) followed by swimming. We tried it for 3 mornings and gave up - a real disappointment. Management was well aware that guests were dissatisfied but nothing was done.
Our suite was very large and comfortable but service was hit and miss. Toiletries were not renewed, no conditioner - broken door handle, crushed lampshade, cockroaches ( huge) breakfast trays left lying in the corridors -really not 5 star as we understand it.
Service in the Riad restaurant was a source of amusement - we never quite knew what we would get after ordering - we were always short of something, butter or cereal which would then appear at the same time as cooked eggs - ice cream served in chipped glass dish and the flies were a constant irritation.
Instructions for use of TV, coffee machine, music player were non existent. There was confusion over the use of towels in the different pool areas. Children could only have ice cream in the restaurant between 12.30 and 2.30 - at other times you had to pay although adults could drink anything at any time! Clubs were provided for the pitch and put but we were told to return to reception to purchase balls! This is a very large site and rushing back and forth in 40C is not something I would recommend. As French speakers we were able to negotiate with what appeared to be very inflexible rules but it didn't make us feel like valued guests.
Apart from the pool attendant, Samir, who worked tirelessly moving sun beds and umbrellas, cleaning bed cushions, folding towels and anticipating guests' needs, the staff appeared to be poorly trained and lacked direction. There is a serious management problem in this Club Med.
Club Med is a good concept but it is not cheap and we we're let down but we were able to laugh at most of our adverse experiences and maybe we will go to another Club Med as a family but definitely NOT this one. As a couple, we have been in many better 4*/5* hotels and have paid much less.

Room Tip: If you have a mobility problem, do not select 2023 - it is a very long walk. Club Med appear not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

I went on a lovely girls holiday to Marrakech in April this year, with my sister, mum and her friend, we had two villas in the riad and we loved them, it was private, always a plus and the pool was empty for the most part, lunch was amazing because it made you feel like a princess and the way the manager came round and talked to every table individually was really sweet. The main hotel is a minute away with trapezing, sports activities another pool and terrific grounds, we also loved the entertainment at night, shows and outside live music, in the Riad live piano, it was fabulous and we would definitely stay here again, keep in mind french is a good tool to have, luckily we are all fluent but I saw many others struggling with the language barrier. Thanks to the team at the Riad for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was my first experience using Club Med and I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is set in fantastic grounds with a myriad of activities for children to do. That said probably not so good for older teenage children with not a lot of spoken French. I tried to encourage the children to use as much French as possible, but unfortunately they lacked the confidence to speak much. As this is very much a French speaking resort it was then difficult for the children and us at times to understand what the organises were communicating. Nevertheless, the setting was beautiful; tropical flowers in abundance sat against the neatly clipped grass. Water features everywhere which then lead to beautiful swimming pools. Although we visited in February half term it was still a wonderful temperature, perhaps a little cool for me to swim but the children were in the pool everyday.

Everyday there was so much food available laid out in beautiful displays, it made it impossible at times to decide which we would savour. We always felt full and even the children were happy with their choices and didn't want to snack in between meals.

We only took one trip into the souk but it was completely worth the experience. Although I would suggest not to take a guide who walks too fast, as my elderly mother could barely keep up and it simply felt too rushed. I didn't mind so much as it wasn't my first trip to Marrakech.

Altogether an enriching experience for the children and I. I would recommend this but just be aware that the rooms are not luxurious but still pleasantly designed in the local Moroccan style.

Room Tip: Perhaps spend a little more money and take. Room in the riad which is separate from the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Marrakech le Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Marrakech le Riad

Address: Sidi Yahya, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#109 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#168 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Hotel Class:5 star — Club Med Marrakech le Riad 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad, which is surrounded by private gardens, has sixty Suites which combine a Moroccan setting with every comfort imaginable. With its swimming pool and its rooms each with a fireplace, Le Riad is an intimate and princely place. You can sample a privileged lifestyle relaxing in the Bar-lounge, enjoying the cozy atmosphere in the piano bar or unwinding in the library. The more curious amongst you can treat yourselves to the exotic flavours and spicy dishes on offer at the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Marrakech le Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Marrakech Le Riad Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Marrakech le Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.