We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Marrakech le Riad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Marrakech le Riad to your Saves list
Club Med Marrakech le Riad
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sidi Yahya, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #196 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay at club med le raid. We had a rooftop terrace room which we spent a lot of time on.
A plunge pool on the rooftop is the only thing we can think of that would have enhanced the experience. Having said that, there is no shortage of pools either the pool in le raid, or we also enjoyed the ' tranquil piscine' which is a quiet adults only pool.
We enjoyed being able to choose from a range of dining locations and where pleased we chose the le riad option. We would venture out to the broader club med area, but where also able to retreat to our own private oasis.

The food was good and provided plenty of variety.
We had a few issues with wifi and it was not working in the room while we were there. The highlight for us was sleeping on the rooftop terrace on the king size sun bed under the Moroccan sky and full moon. We would like to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    65
    36
    20
    8
See reviews for
95
143
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have now returned from our fourth Club Med holiday and as I have a friend going in a couple of weeks I thought that rather than writing the usual review I would write out the tips that I think have helped us get the most out of our stays.

1. Understand that this is a holiday for the kids so try to see things through their eyes

If I didn't have kids, there is no way that I would holiday in Club Med. But we have three and so needs must. This is their favourite holiday of the entire year and so, it has, against the odds, become ours too.

2. Persevere with kids club

The first time we came the kids didn't want to do Kids Club (a lot of French kids that they were a bit scared of) and certainly didn't want to do 'The Show'. Now they are used to the format (lots of activities), the French and The Show and there is no stopping them. Seeing each one of my kids actually wanting to perform on stage in front of 100 people has been one of the most wonderful moments of this trip. The team that run Kids Club are second to none - a huge congratulations to Houda and her team - Arnaud, Sergio and Marta were all stand outs.

3. Have a couple of glasses of wine and sit back and enjoy the evening performances

This week we had shows that included 'Mamma Mia, the Funhouse, Dream Girls and The 70's' Last year it was 'Grease and The Titanic. These shows are not West End productions. It would be easy to turn up and think they were slightly unpolished and sit and sneer all night. We've found that a couple of cocktails, a bottle of wine with dinner and another cocktail for the show is a jolly good way to get with the programme. As a result, we can officially report that the shows are brilliant fun, often hilariously silly and rather well performed. Certainly we cannot fault the work ethic of the GO's who put them on - work hours long into the night to rehearse around an already full work schedule. Our congratulations go this year to the Chef of Entertainment Dominic who had my kids enthralled with his magic tricks.

4. Speak French

Be prepared for the official language of Club Med to be French. I know this sounds stupid but we were quite shocked on our first trip about how little leeway was made for us English. When we have made the effort to speak French though we found that we were often rewarded with a response in English.

5. If holiday camps aren't your style avoid:

- The pool at midday (they do this weird dance thing around it in which guests stand up and join in - we have never got it and never will!!!!!). We just went to lunch early instead and avoided it all.

- The Rotunda when there is a quiz on (it will be in French and is loud and noisy)

- The bar when it rains - it just becomes a seething melee of noise and horrendousness. Go into Marrakech that day instead!!!

6. Make friends with an English family

We have met some fab people here each year and it really helped us not feel isolated. Nothing like having a laugh over different cultural reference points is there :). Besides you have to have someone to gossip to over some of the rather, er topless, looks by the pool......

7. If you can, stay in The Riad

Yes service was patchy (but I suspect they are on the case with this) and it is APPALLING that they still allow smoking inside, but.... the pool is heated, prettier and quieter than the main pool and you can enjoy a quieter lunch away from the hubbub - for us this was worth every penny. Be under no allusions though - it claims it is 5 star - but it is really a 4 star as we would understand it.

8. Start the day with the 'musculaire' wake-up or one of the other many activities

Starting the day every day with a couple of classes was the highlight of my trip. Fun, challenging in parts - it was a joyous start to the day. The rather hunky instructor may also have been an important factor.

9. If you want to complain go straight to the top

Club Med is run like an army. You need to speak to the top if you want to be heard or get anything changed

10. Book early

Club Med really does seem to be one of those places that genuinely rewards you for booking early - we have got all our trips at what we felt was an incredibly good value price for a family of five. Its amazing what you are prepared to forgive when you and your kids have had a cracking good time at half the price of any other holiday you have in the year.

Go and get stuck in!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were so disappointed in our stay this week at the Club Med riad. We wanted 5 stars and it was dirty, old, service appalling, very noisy. We had cockroaches every night in the bathroom up to 5, huge and truly disgusting. Every time we tried to mention anything to the staff we were clearly not taken seriously. We booked until Thursday and need to leave our room at 7 am so we also CANNOT have breakfast because the restaurant only opens at 7 am so actually they just kick you out just before breakfast to save money. Very sad and disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just returned from what has been an amazing week at Le Riad.
It was my second stay at Club Med Marrakech, having spent a week at la Palmeraie in March.
Le Riad is not a Club Med, it is a luxury hotel. The rooms are huge, the roof terrace is to die for (a super king-size bed as a lounger is a dream come true), the swimming pool is beautiful and peaceful, champagne is served from 6pm everyday with delicious canapés, breakfast can be delivered to your room (hence to your roof terrace..), a maid looks after your room twice a day, leaving it immaculate.
But the Riad has also something that other luxury hotels do not have: you feel at home. Chawki, the manager, and Saad, the man who will take over from him when he leaves in November, will do everything they can to make you love this place. And they are successful. I have to admire them because they have to deal with seriously nasty people. Yes, Le Riad, with all its beauty, unfortunately attract a lot of guests whose greatest pleasure is to moan, criticize and complain. Here are a couple of things I overheard: “the pool was supposed to be at 28C and it is actually only 26”, “the table clothes are not ironed properly”, “the mash potato shouldn’t be served with a spoon but with a pastry-cutter to have a nicer shape” etc… At 1500£/pers including flight, champagne, all you can drink and eat, you already get more than what you paid for. If you want 3* Michelin food presentation, go to Hotel de Paris in Monaco and eat at the Ducasse restaurant inside the hotel. The bill might hurt a bit more.
All the activities (except for the pool) are located on La Palmeraie’s grounds (3minutes walk). I have a passion for flying trapeze and got to spend a lot of time with the Circus team. Flora, who runs it, managed to create a fantastic atmosphere with the people she works with (Jules, Laura and Khalid). These 4 people are not only unbelievably talented (you should see them during their weekly shows), they make you feel like you can achieve anything, they make you believe that you can forget your troubles and fly as they do. And the best thing is: you actually do it. And after talking to other guests, it seems that you will get the same feeling if you join the tennis, golf, archery, fitness etc.. classes.

The only things I think Club Med could improve are:
-> the food in the main restaurant; the quality is very cafeteria-like and below the usual Club Med standards (Le Riad doesn’t serve food in the evening, which is a shame because lunch is absolutly divine)
->one barman at Le Riad who should remember that he is talking/serving clients, not animals. Very rude person, but the managers Chawki and Saad already apologies for this incident.
-> The snobish/nasty guests maybe :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Far from the Medina with it's souks and it's casaba lies the oasis which is Club Med le Riad.
This is my first experience of a 5 trident accommodation and I liked it.
The room was spacious, sophisticatedly dark and moody and complete with mod cons - even our own nespresso machine. The mini bar was welcome but sadly soft drinks only. All the frills - bathrobes, turn down service, little chocolate on the pillow and breakfast in bed if you want it.
We had a shaded terrace and our own private garden with orange trees and sun loungers.
The public areas are beautiful and reflect the best Morocco has to offer from original artworks to landscaped water gardens.
Breakfast and lunch around the pool were served together with cocktails or wine all very pleasant. Come 6pm out came the champagne which was then served through to bedtime if you wanted it.
Unfortunately le Riad did not serve an evening meal and so we had to venture across to the 4 trident Palmerarie. The restaurant here was unfortunately below par compared to Club Med's normal high standards. It did however reinforce that we made the right decision in booking le Riad.

Room Tip: Ground floor is probably best when it is hottest and the first floor when it is cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at le Riad for a week. The set-up, the garden, the pool, the food at le Riad in the morning and for lunch are exceptional. All the staff from the Riad manager to the reception manager, the waiters, the house keeping staff, they were all professional and had very good customers service skill. The Riad is connected to the main clubmed la palmeraire. The only negative point is that in the mina dinning room at la Palmeraie the outside chairs are not cleaned and full of bird drops. I don’t understand why they don’t clean them every day with pressure water. Aside from that the ranch (Pony’s, Camels) on site, the Trapeze, bicycle rides were perfect. We also went for day trips in the mountains with a guide, arranged through the club. Amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deurne, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Riad part of this club med is extremely exquisit.
Everything is super clean, service is beyond super.
For the children there is every sort of entertainment they can wish even in their own language.
Food in this resort is also superb. Occasionally there are even dressed parties between the olive tree's.
"Every day" food is a buffett of everything you could wish for and everything is made fresh on the spot.

Room Tip: If you have the money, go for the RIAD part of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Marrakech le Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Marrakech le Riad

Address: Sidi Yahya, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#109 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#168 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Hotel Class:5 star — Club Med Marrakech le Riad 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad, which is surrounded by private gardens, has sixty Suites which combine a Moroccan setting with every comfort imaginable. With its swimming pool and its rooms each with a fireplace, Le Riad is an intimate and princely place. You can sample a privileged lifestyle relaxing in the Bar-lounge, enjoying the cozy atmosphere in the piano bar or unwinding in the library. The more curious amongst you can treat yourselves to the exotic flavours and spicy dishes on offer at the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Marrakech le Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Marrakech Le Riad Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Marrakech le Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.