We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten tips to enjoying a Club Med holiday (for the British)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Marrakech le Riad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Med Marrakech le Riad
Save
You added Club Med Marrakech le Riad to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sidi Yahya, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ten tips to enjoying a Club Med holiday (for the British)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have now returned from our fourth Club Med holiday and as I have a friend going in a couple of weeks I thought that rather than writing the usual review I would write out the tips that I think have helped us get the most out of our stays.

1. Understand that this is a holiday for the kids so try to see things through their eyes

If I didn't have kids, there is no way that I would holiday in Club Med. But we have three and so needs must. This is their favourite holiday of the entire year and so, it has, against the odds, become ours too.

2. Persevere with kids club

The first time we came the kids didn't want to do Kids Club (a lot of French kids that they were a bit scared of) and certainly didn't want to do 'The Show'. Now they are used to the format (lots of activities), the French and The Show and there is no stopping them. Seeing each one of my kids actually wanting to perform on stage in front of 100 people has been one of the most wonderful moments of this trip. The team that run Kids Club are second to none - a huge congratulations to Houda and her team - Arnaud, Sergio and Marta were all stand outs.

3. Have a couple of glasses of wine and sit back and enjoy the evening performances

This week we had shows that included 'Mamma Mia, the Funhouse, Dream Girls and The 70's' Last year it was 'Grease and The Titanic. These shows are not West End productions. It would be easy to turn up and think they were slightly unpolished and sit and sneer all night. We've found that a couple of cocktails, a bottle of wine with dinner and another cocktail for the show is a jolly good way to get with the programme. As a result, we can officially report that the shows are brilliant fun, often hilariously silly and rather well performed. Certainly we cannot fault the work ethic of the GO's who put them on - work hours long into the night to rehearse around an already full work schedule. Our congratulations go this year to the Chef of Entertainment Dominic who had my kids enthralled with his magic tricks.

4. Speak French

Be prepared for the official language of Club Med to be French. I know this sounds stupid but we were quite shocked on our first trip about how little leeway was made for us English. When we have made the effort to speak French though we found that we were often rewarded with a response in English.

5. If holiday camps aren't your style avoid:

- The pool at midday (they do this weird dance thing around it in which guests stand up and join in - we have never got it and never will!!!!!). We just went to lunch early instead and avoided it all.

- The Rotunda when there is a quiz on (it will be in French and is loud and noisy)

- The bar when it rains - it just becomes a seething melee of noise and horrendousness. Go into Marrakech that day instead!!!

6. Make friends with an English family

We have met some fab people here each year and it really helped us not feel isolated. Nothing like having a laugh over different cultural reference points is there :). Besides you have to have someone to gossip to over some of the rather, er topless, looks by the pool......

7. If you can, stay in The Riad

Yes service was patchy (but I suspect they are on the case with this) and it is APPALLING that they still allow smoking inside, but.... the pool is heated, prettier and quieter than the main pool and you can enjoy a quieter lunch away from the hubbub - for us this was worth every penny. Be under no allusions though - it claims it is 5 star - but it is really a 4 star as we would understand it.

8. Start the day with the 'musculaire' wake-up or one of the other many activities

Starting the day every day with a couple of classes was the highlight of my trip. Fun, challenging in parts - it was a joyous start to the day. The rather hunky instructor may also have been an important factor.

9. If you want to complain go straight to the top

Club Med is run like an army. You need to speak to the top if you want to be heard or get anything changed

10. Book early

Club Med really does seem to be one of those places that genuinely rewards you for booking early - we have got all our trips at what we felt was an incredibly good value price for a family of five. Its amazing what you are prepared to forgive when you and your kids have had a cracking good time at half the price of any other holiday you have in the year.

Go and get stuck in!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    78
    38
    21
    8
See reviews for
111
164
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were so disappointed in our stay this week at the Club Med riad. We wanted 5 stars and it was dirty, old, service appalling, very noisy. We had cockroaches every night in the bathroom up to 5, huge and truly disgusting. Every time we tried to mention anything to the staff we were clearly not taken seriously. We booked until Thursday and need to leave our room at 7 am so we also CANNOT have breakfast because the restaurant only opens at 7 am so actually they just kick you out just before breakfast to save money. Very sad and disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just returned from what has been an amazing week at Le Riad.
It was my second stay at Club Med Marrakech, having spent a week at la Palmeraie in March.
Le Riad is not a Club Med, it is a luxury hotel. The rooms are huge, the roof terrace is to die for (a super king-size bed as a lounger is a dream come true), the swimming pool is beautiful and peaceful, champagne is served from 6pm everyday with delicious canapés, breakfast can be delivered to your room (hence to your roof terrace..), a maid looks after your room twice a day, leaving it immaculate.
But the Riad has also something that other luxury hotels do not have: you feel at home. Chawki, the manager, and Saad, the man who will take over from him when he leaves in November, will do everything they can to make you love this place. And they are successful. I have to admire them because they have to deal with seriously nasty people. Yes, Le Riad, with all its beauty, unfortunately attract a lot of guests whose greatest pleasure is to moan, criticize and complain. Here are a couple of things I overheard: “the pool was supposed to be at 28C and it is actually only 26”, “the table clothes are not ironed properly”, “the mash potato shouldn’t be served with a spoon but with a pastry-cutter to have a nicer shape” etc… At 1500£/pers including flight, champagne, all you can drink and eat, you already get more than what you paid for. If you want 3* Michelin food presentation, go to Hotel de Paris in Monaco and eat at the Ducasse restaurant inside the hotel. The bill might hurt a bit more.
All the activities (except for the pool) are located on La Palmeraie’s grounds (3minutes walk). I have a passion for flying trapeze and got to spend a lot of time with the Circus team. Flora, who runs it, managed to create a fantastic atmosphere with the people she works with (Jules, Laura and Khalid). These 4 people are not only unbelievably talented (you should see them during their weekly shows), they make you feel like you can achieve anything, they make you believe that you can forget your troubles and fly as they do. And the best thing is: you actually do it. And after talking to other guests, it seems that you will get the same feeling if you join the tennis, golf, archery, fitness etc.. classes.

The only things I think Club Med could improve are:
-> the food in the main restaurant; the quality is very cafeteria-like and below the usual Club Med standards (Le Riad doesn’t serve food in the evening, which is a shame because lunch is absolutly divine)
->one barman at Le Riad who should remember that he is talking/serving clients, not animals. Very rude person, but the managers Chawki and Saad already apologies for this incident.
-> The snobish/nasty guests maybe :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Far from the Medina with it's souks and it's casaba lies the oasis which is Club Med le Riad.
This is my first experience of a 5 trident accommodation and I liked it.
The room was spacious, sophisticatedly dark and moody and complete with mod cons - even our own nespresso machine. The mini bar was welcome but sadly soft drinks only. All the frills - bathrobes, turn down service, little chocolate on the pillow and breakfast in bed if you want it.
We had a shaded terrace and our own private garden with orange trees and sun loungers.
The public areas are beautiful and reflect the best Morocco has to offer from original artworks to landscaped water gardens.
Breakfast and lunch around the pool were served together with cocktails or wine all very pleasant. Come 6pm out came the champagne which was then served through to bedtime if you wanted it.
Unfortunately le Riad did not serve an evening meal and so we had to venture across to the 4 trident Palmerarie. The restaurant here was unfortunately below par compared to Club Med's normal high standards. It did however reinforce that we made the right decision in booking le Riad.

Room Tip: Ground floor is probably best when it is hottest and the first floor when it is cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at le Riad for a week. The set-up, the garden, the pool, the food at le Riad in the morning and for lunch are exceptional. All the staff from the Riad manager to the reception manager, the waiters, the house keeping staff, they were all professional and had very good customers service skill. The Riad is connected to the main clubmed la palmeraire. The only negative point is that in the mina dinning room at la Palmeraie the outside chairs are not cleaned and full of bird drops. I don’t understand why they don’t clean them every day with pressure water. Aside from that the ranch (Pony’s, Camels) on site, the Trapeze, bicycle rides were perfect. We also went for day trips in the mountains with a guide, arranged through the club. Amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deurne, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Riad part of this club med is extremely exquisit.
Everything is super clean, service is beyond super.
For the children there is every sort of entertainment they can wish even in their own language.
Food in this resort is also superb. Occasionally there are even dressed parties between the olive tree's.
"Every day" food is a buffett of everything you could wish for and everything is made fresh on the spot.

Room Tip: If you have the money, go for the RIAD part of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed in this supposed 5-forkthing Club Med and I must start by reminding you this is the highest rating a Club Med can get.
The Riad is actuially a part of another 4-forkthing Club Med, surrounded by walls to exclude the 4-forkthing people. The general concept seems nasty the way I put it, but it's actually quite nice.
We had a garden room on the ground floor, staying with my wife and young child (which is why we chose Club Med to start with). Starting with the good sides: the 4-forkthing Baby and Kids' Club is really satisfying. We felt very secure leaving our child there and she loved it. The babysitter suggested by the Club (who is an independant baby-sitter who comes to the Club to do her stuff) was great. Really great in fact. She was by far the best thing that happened to us during our stay.
Problem 1: hygiene, cleaning, room amenities: The room was not cleaned on the third day after our arrival. The complementary coffee bar stayed uncleaned and dirty from day 1 to our departure. The coffee was never replenished so I hope you're not a coffee fan. The kettle did not work and took 3 days to get replaced. They gave us a complementary cocktail upon arrival, The tray with all the trash, including leftovers from our first room-service breakfast was left in the room for an extra day, then spent 1 day IN FRONT of our door once someone had taken it out. 2.5 days to get rid of a food tray with everything nasty that goes with meal trash. The welcome cocktail itself spent 3 days in the room and was literally growing mold when they took it out.
Problem 2: Service: The staff lost some of our child's baby bottles and we were told in response that, "we should have picked them up faster." During one of our meals, the waiter spilled some grease on me. We therefore paid for dry-cleaning and the clothes came back dirty. There was, however, no explanation as to why we had to pay for this non-service. We were so fed up by then that we were simply happy to pay to leave.
Problem 3: infrastructure: impossible to use the bath. The hot water was a trickle and is therefore cold by the time you fill your bath (takes about an hour to do so). Took 3 days with "technicians" in and out of our room to replace a fixture (this was clearly not the cause) so we just gave up and boiled water in the kettle (once we had a working one) to fill the bath. Quite an uncanny thing in a supposed luxury hotel. The room itself needs some work: burnt-out lightbulbs, loose power switches, broken lighting fixtures, joinery and general millwork in relative bad shape, some closets do not close, all are shifty, broken window frame, etc...
The Riad's pool is not heated, so if you're not staying over the Summer and are a bit frisky, do not expect to dive in. Wifi only in entrance and around the pool, none in rooms.

Now, all of these things would not necessarily be a problem... if we had not paid €6'000.- (that's euros, not dollars) for a week's stay. We were told this was the top of the top. This is simply not so. As an architect, I actually build 5-star hotels, work on their amenities, look for the quality needed for the 5-star rating. The Riad is not a 5-star hotel. The director actually admits to it, hiding behind the 5-star / 5-forkthing excuse. My wife and I asked him what quality he was aiming for: 3, 4 or 5-star. We told him the question was a trap and he should not say 5-star as that would just be ridiculous. He answered "a good 4-star". Unfortunately the Riad is worth 3-star at the moment. Again, this is not a problem... if we are told so when we book and when we pay. Needless to say, nobody in their right mind would pay €6'000.-/week for a 3-star.
That's pretty much the bottom line: the hotel isn't bad, the Director is actually a nice guy who's trying his best, but the staff is simply poor, the head housekeeper (gouvernante) is a joke and the Club Med sales office are a bunch of liars. They will say anything to sell you the package, even lie to your face with a smile on theirs. We were told that someone could shop small things for our baby when needed but we had to take a taxi into town and shop on our own. Not a problem for us, but another lie from sales.
So, the Riad is a 5-forkthing Club Med with a 3-star hotel, a fibbing sales technique, an under-qualified (and probably under-paid) staff but with a whopping international luxury 5-star pricetag. Club Med totally unwilling to make the slightest commercial gesture, even if that means forever losing their target clientele (that's us).
Oh yeah, I forgot, the bartender and the chef are extremely pleasant guys to be with. Thought it would be nice to end on a good note but let's face it: never ever going back there and suggest you don't either unless you pay less than half what we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not close to the tennis courts or you will be hearing Wimbledon all through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
#74 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#65 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.9 mi away
Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#124 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Marrakech le Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Marrakech le Riad

Address: Sidi Yahya, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#138 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Hotel Class:5 star — Club Med Marrakech le Riad 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad, which is surrounded by private gardens, has sixty Suites which combine a Moroccan setting with every comfort imaginable. With its swimming pool and its rooms each with a fireplace, Le Riad is an intimate and princely place. You can sample a privileged lifestyle relaxing in the Bar-lounge, enjoying the cozy atmosphere in the piano bar or unwinding in the library. The more curious amongst you can treat yourselves to the exotic flavours and spicy dishes on offer at the restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med Marrakech Le Riad Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Marrakech le Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.